Translation tunnel for which there is no immediate light

8 Oct

In the thick of translation hell. Its one of those ones where if, for some reason or other, you can’t get your quota done for just one day, it has a slow but formidable  domino effect on the next 27 days and dat deadline starts looking scary.

I was meant to be translating business case studies – with a deadline of the end of February – huurrah. That’s a sipping pina coladas and painting my toenails kinda deadline. But the day after I started they halted it with intentions of getting a bigger budget and more case studies, supposedly resulting in more money for more pina coladas and nail polish.

The same day I got a call from a different office with a random 90 page power point presentation that they needed done in ten days.  That kinda shit just has me swigging wine straight from the bottle.

But I like power points.

Call me old-fashioned.

So I took the job on, and subsequently finished the job.

The next day I get another email from the same office. I think I’ve fucked something up but no, they have another favor.

120 pages for a big university review being held in a month. I laughed down the phoneline. I mean who expects that shit? I have three children, I teach English, I make cupcakes and spend three hours making lasagna four times a week. I aint got the time for that shit.

And besides, it was full on pages. Not lovely power point.

So it got knocked back to 80 pages and I am full steam ahead.

On the same day I got a call from MY old office. They had 13 pages for me… could I do it pretty please. So I said yes to that too and smashed that out the first day cause it was all shit I knew, kanji I knew, phrases I’d coined myself 8 years ago when I worked there. Easy peasy pina colada japanesey.

But now I am in university policy hell so don’t expect any more frequency in updates than you’ve been getting for the last month anyway 🙂

Hope you are all well. Feel free to pass this address on to any other gaijin who you think might get a laugh or two, or learn something about translating, or ballet bollocks, or soccer bollocks, or hip hip (no bollocks after that), or PTA, or being married to a Japanese man, or living in the middle of fuckin nowhere rah rah…

Right, I best have a chuhai and prepare myself for having to close the typhoon shutters. It has been a while so I’m pretty sure it will be arachnophobia part whatever the minute I pull them out of their storage slot. Gahhhhhhhhhhhhh. I want to be a silly girl and wait for hub to get home but the wind has started picking up.

I think I can, i think I can…

SDGH&QL

15 Responses to “Translation tunnel for which there is no immediate light”

  1. Claire in Cambridge October 8, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Having too much work is a much better problem to have than the other way around. As long as there’s still time for the occasional chuhai too 🙂

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      This is true. And really its all about time management. It means the housework has gone to shit but thats a whole post in itself – which perhaps I’ll write after finished this chapter and had a chuhai.

  2. Oyomesan October 8, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Oh!!! I’m BACK in the circle of lurve and bollocks!! Best thing to happen to me in weeeks!!! Thankyou oh wonderous Gaijin Wife. Oh Thankyou!!!

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      haha – you’re too kind oyomesan. Must say loads of people are slacking the blog thing lately. Thankfully I can count on you for regular updates of okaasan driving you nuts. When I get round to putting a blogroll on the side there I’ll put you up finally! Why I didn’t have you up on the last one I don’t know. Hope you had a fabulous trip to Kyoto. Want to see pics of you dressed as a geisha please. xxx

  3. heather October 10, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    For the abundance of the work of the University for the purpose of the translation by the translator of the document it is necessary.

    You must be tired.

    It is eventually the saying to be said ‘Fight!’

    I wrote that in my best translated from the language of the Japanese for you, see you at the other end! 🙂

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      LOL – indeed. My thoughts exactly 🙂

  4. T in Tokyo October 12, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Yay! So happy you left a clue to follow. Thanks, and good luck with the translations and other bollocks.

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you! Getting through it. Slowly. Had both ballet and soccer bollocks this weekend and tomorrow it looks like we have local kids association omikoshi carrying bollocks. Huuurah.

  5. Merry October 13, 2013 at 4:59 am #

    I’m so glad I checked the comments on your old blog. Thank you!

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      You’re welcome Merry. Sorry it took so long.

  6. Lisa October 13, 2013 at 6:54 am #

    YAY!!! You left a clue so that we can find you! Thank you! I have been lurking for months now, and although I have never commented till now, I wanted to say welcome back! I think I was seriously starting to have Gaijinwife withdrawals! I LOVE reading your blog, even though I’m not a transplant or anything like that…but the details and emotions that you put into your blog is just amazing! You have made me realize that moms all over the world are the same..struggling with husbands, kids, jobs and in-laws! I love reading the little insight that you give us into your world! although this is my first comment, I promise that you will be hearing from me often from here on! again, welcome back!

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Thank you Lisa 🙂 Very glad to hear you aren’t a transplant. I hope you never have to have one :p I am still in translation hell and about to finish a chapter on faculty structures and development. Highly exciting stuff. Not. Perhaps I’ll just have a glass of wine first. Translating skills increase tenfold after a glass of wine – but decrease a hundred fold after three.

  7. Elly October 13, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Thankyouthankyou GW! I’m so glad I found you again. I can stop teetering on the edge of the Tokyo Sky Tree now 🙂 (was getting a bit hungry up there)

  8. Elly October 13, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Arse, I meant to say: hope the translation all goes well and you are on the other side sipping pina coladas before you know it. xx

    • gaijinwife October 13, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

      LOL – its not pina coladas unfortunately but I’m sipping beverages the whole way through. Academic policy just kinda seems easier to translate ya know. I kinda feel sorry for the majority parts I translate before 6pm. Glad you aren’t falling off towers – especially the Sky Tree, cause fuck thats a bastard expensive thing to go up.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

