THANK YOU. That is all.

30 Oct

I must have said this a thousand times, and am of course breaking the record of mum’s across the planet when I say, I fuckin HATE the underappreciativenessness that comes with being a mum. Yeah, wahoooooo, love the smiles and of course parenting is the most rewarding job on the planet, but well, sometimes its just fuckin not ya know!

Translating is great – it brings in the moola, and of course I get thanks – you know, those words of appreciation that sometimes take the form of ‘thank you’, or ‘we really appreciate it (note use of actual word ‘appreciate’), and sometimes even, O.M.G that was so much faster than expected, you are officially a Rock. Star.

OK, so I’ve never actually got that last comment in that exact wording (cause that would just be unprofessional) but it feels like it sometimes.

Translation tends to be feast or famine round here. I don’t actively go out of my way very often to source it, because I’m too busy with voluntary drills, and reading classes, and English, and ballet bollocks, and soccer bollocks, and trying to source good wine bollocks. But when the university contacts me it’s usually for something big, that they know it would be cheaper to ask me to do than outsourcing to a translating company. Unfortunately they usually want it in the same amount of time.

If it’s a small project (anything less than ten pages) then I can expect a ‘thankyou’ and email of appreciation in about a week, but at the moment I have a ten chapter review document that has taken me a month. I still have until next Friday to complete it – thank fuckin god. And so, lets just say I have been working like a dog but not getting my translation love OR my family love for a while. And. I. Am. Over. It.

Today I went mental at the kids – Of course they don’t know my day went volunteer reading at the school, home, housework, three hours of translating, supermarket, dinner prep, English prep, back to back English, pick kids up, but in back of mind also know need to have Marina at dance by half six and two more pages of translation whacked out to still be on course to finish on time.

Thanks mum. This looks yummy mum.

I mean I would love them to say that and I do try to instill nice manners in my children. Heck, I even show them respect and good manners (most of the time) but in reality – I can get by just with them doing shit without complaining. Complaining, whingeing, bickering, aint no mother got time for that shit at dinner time.

Ah well, I feel a bit better just getting it out there. It seems a lot of people (self included) are having a bloggy world hiatus and its a shame cause I know I personally like to read all about other people’s lives 🙂

Figured I might start getting a bit more regular again. Translation deadline is next Friday so definitely after then I’ll be seeing you back here more often. OMG, remember when I used to blog everyday! And still do the SHRED and make my children dinner obento in the shape of their favorite anime AND still have time and want to shag my husband. Nice.

May those days not be too fareth away.

And please comment. I miss long threads of comments, almost as therapeutic as the post itself 🙂

SDGH&QL

17 Responses to “THANK YOU. That is all.”

  1. Tracy October 30, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Quick comment because I’m trying to get thekiddies off to school, but I’m not getting email notifications from this blog. I’m so behind!

  2. Tracy October 30, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Nevermind, I’m an idiot. I don’t think i ever confirmed the follow. Disregard! 🙂

    • gaijinwife October 30, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

      🙂 partly my fault for changing to here when really didn’t have to – but it was time for a change. Hope the emails are arriving in your inbox now.

  3. emilycsimpson October 30, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    Thank you Katy! Thank you for making me laugh, for making the time to blog, and for being you 🙂 As for dinner time, it’s really dispiriting when the response to a meal you’ve spent hours preparing is “I’ll eat this, but I won’t eat that or that or that” and the response to having tinned spaghetti on toast is “yay!”

    • gaijinwife October 30, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

      god what I would do for some tinned watties spag!! YUM. Heinz baked beans is all I can get and they are just not the same. Will have to eat lots of spag when home in Jan. Spag and kebabs. and perhaps a mince pie or three 🙂 Thanks Em.

  4. T in Tokyo October 30, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Long jobs wear you down as they are always looming in the background. Ganbatte, it will be done soon. I appreciate you posting in the middle of it. In fact, let me say that a different way – THANK YOU!!! Always so happy to see a new post from you.

    The underappreciation thing reminded me of my 11 yo daughter. I recently took her shopping for boots – not the functional kind but for fashion, because “all the other girls have them”. Paid more for them than I have ever paid for my own shoes, but I did it because she has just started middle school and there is enough pressure without feeling like the only one that looks crap, I remember that feeling. Asked her if she was double sure they were comfortable, got an eye-roll and a hissed yes! So the first time she wears them she gets a bleeding blister on her heel. I tell her she can’t wear them for Halloween, she flounces up the stairs telling me what a crap mom I am and she is wearing them anyways! In case I am scaring you I should say she got much better and was much better manner-wise until preteen hormones hit. Hopefully it won’t last long. God help me.

    • gaijinwife October 30, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

      I teach a couple of eleven year old girls and they seem sooo nice – although I imagine they aren’t like that at home 🙂 Just a nice change to my class of VERY LOUD seven year old boys who sometimes I just want to tranquilize. Thanks for your comment T. Re-reading the post this morning it it sounds like a big plea for comments of thank yous!! Gahhhh, now it just sounds silly.

  5. Oyomesan October 30, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    We appreciate you and you ARE a ROCK STAR!!!!!

    • gaijinwife October 30, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

      So are you. You’re about the only one that blogs regularly so keeping up with your batty mother in law is how I get a lot of my bloggy fix these days. Thank you!!

  6. Sarah October 31, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    THANK YOU for making me snort unattractively on the subway this morning and scaring the smelly salary man sitting next to me.

    • gaijinwife October 31, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      He probably deserved being snorted at 🙂

  7. Casey October 31, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    You’ll be alarmed to learn that the world is facing a global wine shortage, according to the BBC. But it’s good to see you back blogging. I was one of the many checking the comments section on your old blog in the hope of finding a clue as to where to find the new Gaijinwife blog. My normal blog is collecting dust, but I’m building a house and started a new blog about that if you need a blog-reading fix. Now that I think about it, I sort of ripped off your name old name (oops!): gaijinhouse.wordpress.com

    • gaijinwife October 31, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      Good luck with that housebuild – I can guranatee that in about five years you will regret every decision you made 🙂 Well, if you let MIL make any decisions you will. I need to get Japan housebuild post up – so many picutres and so many rants. Perhaps you have inspired me. Best wishes Casey – and remember, everything your wife says is right.

  8. Kelly Azuma October 31, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Glad to see you are back blogging again, I really must get back to blogging myself, as it’s been a while between posts! It’s hard to find the time with life and kids (and I only have 1!)… I think the appreciation for your parents is realised after you have grown up, when you have your own kids, and realise how much shit they probably did for us…I know I appreciated my mum before then but not in the way I did after I had my own child. 🙂
    Hope you have a more relaxing weekend! xx

    • gaijinwife October 31, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

      100% you are right on that Kelly – I DID NOT appreciate my parents enough before they died. Probably not every day now, but A LOT – I have times when I think – I bet mum did this or said that, or I remember this or that, and DAMN, I just said the exact same thing my mum said to me ….
      xxx

      • Sarah November 1, 2013 at 3:37 am #

        You know, I lost both my parents before I turned 13, but my grandparents are the ones who I learnt how to appreciate. They’re both gone now too, but you definitely reach an age – regardless of whether you have your own kids or not- when you sit back and think `god, I owe a shit load to the people who took care of me when I was growing up.` Your time will come, gaijinwifeちゃん。 And then you can claim a million times more from your kids, mwahah.

  9. xanaxjunkee November 4, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    I have been feeling the same way about the blogosphere as of late. Not much for people posting these days. I guess in a round about way it’s sort of good since I have been a bit busy and got behind on my reading when I was sick with the flu. Since the step-son now lives with us it feels like hubby/wifey time just no longer happens. I really hate it when the hubs is tired from housewifing and accidentally falls asleep on the couch watching tv instead of coming to bed to wake me up at ungodly hour for some ‘us’ time.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

