Well, at least they bought me bloody lunch.

15 Nov

So it would appear that the nice drive along the coast and coffee with the HR guy from the univeristy I have my standing freelance translating contract with, was, well just that. A nice drive and oh, I got lunch AND a coffee.

FUCKIN FOOLISH FUCKIN IDIOT.

That is what I’m feeling right now. After I got over man I’m just a fat stay at home mum who nobody appreciates and everybody takes for granted cry in the car on the way home. I mean I was so upset that when I went into the supermarket to get something easy to whip up for dinner I just walked hazely past all the wine. Well, actually I had a short look but mmmm, non plussed, keep on walking. That is how much the meeting mind fucked me.

Now I’m just feeling foolish. What a waste of three hours. What a waste of cancelling my English class. What a waste of the little bit of mascarra and lippy I put on. What a waste for spending twenty minutes trying on ten outfits to see which made me look the least fat. And what a fuckin waste for shaving my legs. Bloody Jeeze.

I worked at the university for four years and since then I have had this ongoing translation contract which is, as all translators can understand, very feast or famine. At the moment I’m feasting so much I’m in danger of having to start the biggest loser for translators BUT there are alwas quite a few months of the year were it is famine, and I am left twiddling my thumbs and wondering how they can so superbly concentrate all the work into just a few months at the end of the year.

Basically the meeting consisted of them telling me that instead of getting emails from 6 offices depending on who had a translation they needed doing, I would be getting them just from this one new centralised office. Wahooo. Job well done boys.

I seriously had my hopes up that they might offer me a more permanent position, what as seeing as I’m so fabulous and all. After it was clear they came all this way to buy me lunch and just ‘onegaishimasu’ for the next contract that would be through this one office, I actually straight out asked them if they had any plans to have any more full time translator jobs like my friend in Fukuoka is on. Nope. Nada. But this way this one centralized office could do things like tell the other offices if I was too busy with home or kid stuff.

Fuckin yay. Wont that be neat.

I shouldn’t be so upset because its not like it was a negative meeting, but I had stupidly thought it would be a bit more productive. I even confirmed with hub what I needed to ask about contract stuff. And I had my inkan in my bag – just in case…

AND I shaved my fuckin legs. Did I mention that already?

I am now feeling a lot better for ranting about it and do believe I am in a better head space to go buy lots of wine. I have also just finished a translation for another company about stone art sculptures, in which some of the artists write bloody poems about their concept and floating sands of time and such bollocks. Now I just need to get through hip hop tonight and I can squiff beverages and rant to hub about it all.

SDGH&QL

20 Responses to “Well, at least they bought me bloody lunch.”

  1. inesusan November 15, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    big hugs

    • gaijinwife November 15, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 Feeling a lot less pissed about it today!

  2. Tash November 15, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    😦 How disappointing. I’m glad they at least appreciate you enough to take you out to lunch to say thanks. xxx

    • gaijinwife November 15, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

      well, when you put it that way 🙂 It was a lovely lunch!

  3. Oyomesan November 15, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    Hub will show appreciation for the shaved legs!!!! I hope 🙂

    • gaijinwife November 15, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

      doubt he’d even notice. He spends very little time rubiing his hands up and down my legs. Have a great weekend – hope you catch the cats OK.

      • Tash November 22, 2013 at 12:01 am #

        LOL! 😀

  4. Brit November 16, 2013 at 1:22 am #

    Idiots. Hugs x

  5. Anonymous November 16, 2013 at 5:40 am #

    Stink buggers!

    • Anonymous November 16, 2013 at 5:41 am #

      That’s Ang by the way 🙂

      • gaijinwife November 16, 2013 at 9:31 am #

        haha – I thought so just from the stink buggers 🙂

  6. SomedaysSarah November 16, 2013 at 6:03 am #

    Getting your hopes up like that and being let down really sucks, been there crashed like that. Sigh. Hope Hub was a good rant-listener!

    • gaijinwife November 16, 2013 at 9:32 am #

      He was a very good listern. He had his hopes up too – was kinda hoping we could trade up the family waggon in a few months!

  7. Brenda in Nagano November 16, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    I nearly started crying reading that! i was so hoping for something more. What translator doesn’t want a deal like that? you are totally fabulous though and I’m sure one of your clients will wake up to that, hopefully sooner rather than later.

    • gaijinwife November 16, 2013 at 9:34 am #

      Thanks Brenda. My friend has it sooo good. x amount of characters per month for a proper wage contract with all the benefits. And I had spoken to him, worked out how many pages that his x amount would be and realised I could workd 3, 4 hours max a day for that. And I know its a sweet deal and all but damn – its still cheaper for them than paying a bloody transaltion company something ridiculaous like 12 yen a character!!

  8. Anonymous November 17, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    STINK! I see nothing has changed since when we all worked there and bitched and moaned over chuhais and chips about how shit the management is! SO TYPICAL that they can’t understand that they should be snapping you up. After nearly 8 years I still get all caps locky about how shit they are! (kirsten).

    • gaijinwife November 17, 2013 at 10:20 am #

      LOL – yes, very caps locky indeed 🙂 Oh the moaning over the chuhais and chips. How natsukashii!

      • Tash November 22, 2013 at 12:02 am #

        I really want to “like” caps locky. Hi Kirsten 🙂

  9. Mr sekimachihato November 20, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    This kinda treatment seems common practice here in japan, I’ve experienced it a few times in the past too.
    Try to not let it get to you, easier said than done, I know…

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

