q

21 Nov

OK, this is completely not related to any previous posts but…

Tonight, as I went to pick Ryu and Marina up from kinder another mum stopped me (she is wife of Shou’s soccer coach and someone I used to work with and would probably put in the ‘friend box’ – she also works at the local bank).

Bank mum: ummmm, soooo, who is INKU?

gaijinwife: INKU?

Bank Mum: ERA something INKU…?

gaijinwife: ahhhhhm, Era****** INKU kana?

Bank mum: yes, yes, yes. 38,000 yen. Deposited into your bank account yesterday.

gaijinwife: and why do you need to know this?

Bank mum: the bank is getting stricter on overseas transactions.

gaijinwife: OK, it was for work.

Bank mum: were they paying you for INK?

gaijinwife: NO! why the fuck do I want 500 dollars worth of fuckin INK. INKU stands for Inc. like Ltd. or whatever. It’s just part of the company name. I AM NOT an illicit INK importer for FUCKS FUCKIN SAKE.

I didn’t say this of course but damn. The first thing I thought was hey, do you ask Japanese clients with overseas transactions the same question?

All this lead to a conversation between hub and I – about how much I was earning. In Japan, as a dependant you have to earn LESS than 103 man. You earn more than that and you get stuck with reitrement fund paymenets, social insurance and the loss from hub ‘losing’ a ‘dependant’. All in all you either have to earn 103  man or 200. inbetween is cat piss shithouse.

So we realised that the current invoice to the univeristy CAN NOT be paid this month – or I will go over quota. So I sent an email to the university – asking them to PLEASE process the invoice in January instead. Also told them that due to the other projects they have me doing – that finish between Jan and March next year I am NO LONGER ABLE TO TAKE ON ANYTHING from them FOR ALL OF 2014.

I am ‘hoping’ they pull through with goodness. BUT I thought that last week and got nada. If they completely ignore me and offer me jack shit and say, hey, thats OK, we’ll just use you again from 2015′ I may well blow up someones fuckin car.

Don’t worry, I’ll post footage.

SDGH&QL

7 Responses to “q”

  1. Jo November 21, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    If it makes you feel any better they do the same checks for Japanese people if money is coming in from overseas too… it used to be only for big amounts, but now it seems like it is for even tiny amounts….
    Less work means more time for coffee! Looking forward to a quieter year next year…..

    • gaijinwife November 21, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

      OK, that does make me feel better. I remember getting a call from the head bank in the city years back, but that was for a much larger sum of money. I mean, did they think the INK bit was ayashii? If my sister decides to send through $100 will I have to explain that too? It seems a bit OTT, especially when they could have just looked the company up and seen it was a legit translation business. Faaaark. But yes, do love the coffee at your house. Might see you again next week then 🙂

  2. SomedaysSarah November 22, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    I don’t live in a small town, so I may be getting all uptight for nothing, but that would piss me right off – if the bank is worried about my transactions then they can call me during business hours to inquire about it. I would have immediately assumed she was simply being nosy. Grrrrrrrr.

  3. inesusan November 22, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    How rude and indiscreet. Doesn’t she has a private live?

  4. Kelly Azuma November 22, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I’m really surprised she could mention it to you since it was outside of the bank…even if she is your friend.

  5. Deb December 8, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Why don’t you set up a paypal account? Bypass the inefficient J banking altogether!

    • gaijinwife December 8, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      paypal has gotten very strict and I already have an account and used to get paid there but now the Japanese one wont let me get any more payments unless I fill in more forms, fax more copies of shit through etc. Which I could do of course but damn!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

