Fidgety Fidgety

22 Nov

The benefits of me deactivating my Face Book account – hub gets more sex and you guys get more posts. I can also feel better about not wasting hours worrying about other people’s lives! As much fun as that is though 🙂 Last time I went cold turkey on FB I only lasted 3 days. I think I might be up to a week now.

I am all fidgety and need to TALK, so here I am.

This morning I emailed the University to say I am close to going over my income limit for this year and next year too – therefore I regret to inform you that unless you hire me properly, or can at least guarantee me twice as much work, I will be unable to take on anymore translations until 2015. And its such a shame because I love you guys and have been part of the ‘family’ for over ten years and am so knowledgeable in the ways of the university and really, hiring me makes more sense than bringing someone else in. I’m also quite funny, and I have big boobs.

I sent two emails – one to the lady in charge of the big project I finished and for which I need to get paid in January not now – and one to the HR guy who bought me lunch last week.

The lovely lady in charge of my last project just phoned. She’s in a bit of a panic because they have a lot of work coming in and had me in their sights for a big portion of it. I have explained all the  tax, pension and rah rah side of it and we talked about options. She is promptly off to see the HR guy to try and work something out. I told her to tell him to hire me. She laughed – in that I’m just a poor office worker too far down the food chain to wield any real power – kind of way.

I’m on my third cup of coffee and just can’t keep still – which I know, could be caffeine related but more probably is because I’ve written an email that is more ballsy than my usual style.

I’m also wondering what is up with the dance sensei. We got an email late last night saying that EVERYONE had to be at the hip hop venue tonight – including the mothers of those kids who dont even fuckin take hip hop. M-chan’s mum got a phone call directly from the sensei at 10 pm telling her she needed to come. She’s 8 months pregnant, M-chan doesn’t do hip hop so driving 40 minutes for an hour long talk to drive back again is a pain in the ass – especially when EVERYONE Does have ballet the following day.

What is so important that it can’t wait 24 hours? My guess is someone is sick or she’s finally handing over the reins entirely to her daughter and the hip hop teacher. But even then, whats in 24 hours? Just to inconvenience people. I doey not get it captain.

Odd.

Right, off to do some more of the translations I already have.

SDGH&QL

 

17 Responses to “Fidgety Fidgety”

  1. Sarah November 22, 2013 at 4:21 am #

    Oh man, I can’t wait for the next ballet post. I hope it’s something amazingly ridiculous. Your blog is like watching a TV show full of cliffhangers, alcohol and potential violence.

    • gaijinwife November 22, 2013 at 4:57 am #

      LOL, thanks Sarah. That made me snort coffee back up my nostrils.

  2. Jen in Chch November 22, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    It’ll be something ridiculously unimportant, hence in her mind needing an hour-long meeting with everyone there. Any truly vital piece of information will be imparted by osmosis to one other person who then is expected to be psychic and pass it on to everyone else. I work with someone like that… sigh.

    Tokoro de, I am very ureshii to be able to read your blog again. Cant believe I had to ask for the name of it – when I reread your sign-off entry on the previous site I went “D’oh!!!”

    Keep up the great work!

  3. SomedaysSarah November 22, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Oooooh. Cliffhanger indeed! Sadly the real reason is probably something much less amusing, but it is fun contemplating the crazy possibilities!

  4. Brenda in Nagano November 22, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    I’m a terrible friend. I didn’t even notice you weren’t on FB anymore until you left that comment on my blog. Sorry! 1. How freaking full of herself is the grand mistress of ballet that the world must stop at her bidding?! Jeezus! 2. Really hoping the university NOW wakes up to what they should have waaaay earlier and you get your contract!

    • gaijinwife November 22, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

      🙂 If you are chatting with Bryn tell her I miss her and I hope all is going well 🙂 Life without FB is hard – embarrassingly so. But I’m sticking to this, for the time being. The University is about to not be on my greeting card list anymore – in fact they might be on my ‘set-fire’ to list.
      Them and the fuckin bank. Wankers. I now have to take my gaijincard in on Monday – to prove my me-ness for this incoming money from a legitamite translation company….
      squeeze those boys 🙂

  5. Denise November 22, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Good luck with the uni job Katy….they really would be idiots to let you go. The dance teacher is a law unto herself isn’t she…..let’s hope she finally has a place in Takarazuka and gets the hell out of dodge.
    Nearly cried for you getting conned into the committee job…..no duty in Japan….not PTA, not Residents Assoc, definitely not sports classes….none of them are ever without strings. They are always forced onto you with smiles and assurances of it being easy peasy ,nothing to it really….and by the time you figure out what is really entailed you are already down the creek and not a paddle in sight. If it’s any consolation we have all been had…..I’m on some City Youth Leader Program for 2 years….and trust me I didn’t volunteer!

    • gaijinwife November 22, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      THANK YOU Denise 🙂 They are idiots.
      I guess I am at least fortunate in that there are very outspoken men on both sides of the table, therefore meaning quite entertaining meetings me thinks. The head of the kinder skives off at 5:01pm so I have yet to see her since our first meeting, but by god, I will be telling her ALL that it involves. Fortunately the PTA head for next year has to do nada – cause I’m still fuckin doing it. Gaaaahhhhhhhhh. Nice to know others understand 🙂

  6. Kathryn OHalloran November 23, 2013 at 6:18 am #

    I need to know what the dance teacher meeting is about now! Hurry up and update us 🙂

    Glad I found your new blog and can get caught up on things.

    Can I ask you a huge favour — if it’s possible, can you get me the Arashi ribbon bracelet from Fukuoka? I’ll work out some way to get the $$$ to you – maybe via Paypal or something.

    • gaijinwife November 25, 2013 at 12:13 am #

      Hi Kathryn. I’ll try and remember 🙂

      • Kathryn November 25, 2013 at 12:21 am #

        I’ll be your best friend forever and ever and share my playlunch with you 🙂 Btw have you learnt the FUNKY dance yet?

      • gaijinwife November 25, 2013 at 12:26 am #

        No…… which I suppose means my ARASHI experience will be lessened:( Gah, it took me a few songs just to get the hand waves right last time!! Is there a link to FUNKY dance? The European Stylist and self will have a week to practice 🙂 God I hope it doesn’t bloody snow like it did last time.

      • Kathryn OHalloran November 25, 2013 at 6:46 am #

        this is the funky dance link — http://www.johnnys-net.jp/page?id=arashi2013&lang=en_us — it’s a lot more complicated than the usual furi and if you don’t know it, there is a good chance of being brained by a penlight! also Japanese ppl totally suck at doing waves!

      • gaijinwife November 26, 2013 at 1:21 am #

        Oh my fuckin god!! Guess there’s no point even trying to do it until we have our bloody tickets and know which way to turn and wave our obligatory pen light that I guess will have to purchase after standing in freezing cold for four hours. I imagine it looks fabulous if everyone does it though!! Especially if you are sitting right up the back.

      • Kathryn OHalloran November 26, 2013 at 6:56 am #

        I didn’t even know what block i was in until I go there because we got scalped tickets and the bloody scalpers didn’t include that but I went for 3 nights so figured I’d need to know both. It does look pretty amazing although I was too busy trying to figure out what to do to see much. I was so scared if I didn’t do it right though I’d be on the DVD as the gaijin who didn’t know the dance moves!

  7. illahee November 24, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    i miss you on facebook, not gonna lie. WTF, woman, leaving facebook and not telling me!!!!!

    • gaijinwife November 24, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      I know, sorry 😦 I had a status up for about five minutes but didn’t want people emailing going ‘whats wrong, what happened’. It was nothing. I’m a LOT MORE productive now and miss it less than I did last week 🙂

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

