On the Work Thing

8 Dec

Remember the University replied to my email a while back by saying ‘oh, that’s a shame we can’t use you for translations all of next year’ – when I was hoping for them to kind of stop functioning at the news ya know, and offer me something really sweet that would mean I could sit in my trackies all day, translating in between having coffee mum groups, doing minimal housework, teaching English and attending the needs of my three children, husband and Japanese MIL. Perhaps a few bon bons and daily episodes of Grey’s and the Mentalist and shite.

Actually I think I might have mentioned it in reply to a comment but anyhoo, after feeling very dejected I decided I would pull some of my trump cards in perhaps February. Call on the people I used to work with who are a decent way up the food chain now. My plan had been to push them to employ me in aforementioned bon bon scoffing dream position from April. But then hub reminded me that the dependant stuff goes from January through to December and if I was to be removed as his dependant I should do it from then.

So I wrote them another email to ask if the previous ‘we’ll try but not sure’ reply actually meant a shit show of anything. A SEVEN agonizing hours later I got an email saying they were working out budgets and would get back to me on Friday – THREE fuckin days away. But still, it was better than a flat out no. They are after all centralizing all translations from April and using an outsourced company – that is on campus but a separate business unit if that makes sense.

So I wake up on Friday – the day after Thursday, the day we got our ARASHI boy band tickets. I can’t work out exactly where we are sitting but it definitely isn’t one metre away from the stage like last time. But its the atmosphere that counts right!

Just before lunch on Friday I get THE email. The university will MEET my minimum requirement. The dependent’s limit is 103 man. To make it worthwhile to go over this, and thus have to pay social security, national pension, local taxes etc, you need to earn 200 man at least. The university did their homework too. And in the email listed all the expenses I would need to pay when going over 103 man in income per year. Totals about 80 man or 9000 NZ dollars.

SO, they couldn’t put it in writing BUT they could definitely SAY they could give me 200 man plus worth of translations per year.

I currently do about a third that for them but with my English classes it takes it up to my limit. SO, if the university can guarantee me 200 man, plus my English and other stuff – we are singing happy songs.

Not happy enough to scoff bon bons but still happy. So hey, persistence works. Now I just need to replace my Mac, cause this piece of shit is well, a piece of shit.

And in other quick news we had the PTA end of year party on Friday night. Hub had a drinking thing on Saturday so I went on my own. All the teachers went and I would say about 8 of the 20 households that make up the Primary school were represented. Got quite pissed, along with Coffee Chiemi and her husband, the PTA head, and a couple of other parents and the Vice Principal – who fortunately, or unfortunately, I’m not quite sure which, did not end up belting out AKB48 songs, complete with moves, at the Kareoke in the hills.

I was feeling a bit delicate for the kindergarten end of year performance show on the Saturday – but got through my kinder PTA head speech OK. Looks like the dance Marina and M-chan do is paying off. Clearly screeds ahead of the others which of course, as a mum, I am allowed to say. Ryu was also very good. He is so serious though. Bows right till the curtains are complete closed. The other kids were poking their head through and shit so I yelled out ‘Ryu, Kakkoii’ about three times and on the last time he shyly lifted his eyes up and smiled. It was super cute and quite entertaining.

They got a huge bag of chips and lollies at the end. Marina ate all hers and half of Ryu’s and then promptly declared she had a sore stomach (no shit sherlock), and vomited all over the kitchen floor. Needless to say she did not go to dancing that night!

Right, really want to get this 40 page chapter of editing and formating off today.

SDGH&QL

18 Responses to “On the Work Thing”

  1. Debra December 9, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    No idea what the whole work/dependent thing means, but it sounds like it is in your favor so cheers for you! Hope your benefits include a bon bon allotment.

    • gaijinwife December 9, 2013 at 1:29 am #

      haha, wouldn’t that be nice. Along with a gym membership and annual wine subscription.

  2. Jenni December 9, 2013 at 2:47 am #

    Hurray! Glad they pulled through for you 🙂

  3. Brenda in Nagano December 9, 2013 at 4:33 am #

    Yeah! Glad they removed their heads from their asses to figure it all out! Now I need to find me one of those sweet deals!

    • gaijinwife December 9, 2013 at 5:41 am #

      I thought about you. Wouldn’t it be great 🙂 Good luck at your end with things. Getting the extra moola would be fabulous.

  4. lily December 9, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    Good for you for being persistent. Congrats dahling, at least you can scoff bonbons to celebrate and down it in a little wine.

    • gaijinwife December 10, 2013 at 12:17 am #

      Thanks Lily 🙂 Didn’t need more excuses to drink wine over the silly season but hey, all turning out very well.

  5. katinkyoto December 9, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    Go you GW!!

    And how about a spunky trainer to go along with the gym membership?

    • gaijinwife December 10, 2013 at 12:18 am #

      That would be very nice thankyou 🙂

  6. aurora94 December 9, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Congrats!!! That’s excellent news. 🙂

  7. matchaproblem December 10, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Awesome! Glad somewhere in the world, things work out right and bullshit doesn’t win the day 🙂 Wait… I just re-read that and laughed at that place being in Japan, but well, it’s nice that the stopped-clock of bureaucracy got this one right.

    • gaijinwife December 12, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      haha, only very rarely does this happen. And remember it happened in the least best way for the outcome I wanted. God, that doesn’t make sense. Its a bloody wonder they hire me to translate at all!

  8. PJ December 11, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    wahooo glad it worked out! not long til NZ now eh!! i myself am off back to the UK for three weeks (!) and im gonna eat allllll the food.

    • Deb December 12, 2013 at 3:48 am #

      Congrats! Great news. The main reason why I am commenting is to tell you a wee story …

      The other day I was teaching Grade 2 at JHS – the ever exciting “My dream” topic. Jobs and giving reasons etc. A student asked me to check her work. I want to be a pilot because I want to have international relations meetings. I so wanted to take a photo and post it but didn’t want to draw unnecessary attention to her. Made me smile though and think of you! 😀

      • gaijinwife December 12, 2013 at 6:18 am #

        haha – thats awesome 🙂

    • gaijinwife December 12, 2013 at 6:20 am #

      Thanks 🙂 I know – only a little over a month. EXCITING indeed. Have a great time back in the UK. I also plan on eating everything in NZ. Kebabs, mmmmmm, fish and chips, mmmmmmm, cheese, mmmmmmm, pies, mmmmmmm nom nom nom.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

