Really not much to report

12 Dec

Very normal in the gaijinwife house this week. Formatting, teaching English, trying to wrap and hide Christmas prezzies without kids finding out, stopping fights over who gets to open that days homemade advent calender slash envelope with awesome drawing of reindeer or similar – cause I’m such an artist, and of course trying to organize the chaos in preparation for the European Stylist’s visit.

Two more sleeps. She arrives on Saturday evening to much loud noise and fanfare at the airport. Then I imagine it will be a frantic 7 days of learning part B of the Arashi dance so we don’t let the side down in Fukuoka next weekend.

Have three English parties next week so if anyone has any Chrissy game ideas that I can use to decide the order of who picks first in the secret santa then please do comment. I stormed the 100 yen shop today to buy 24 prezzies, wrapped them up in newspaper cause wrapping paper is more expensive than the gift itself, and then promptly forgot what the fuck I wrapped up – and there are three groups ages ranging 5 to 10. Ah well. Should be interesting.

On the dance front I was at Marina’s usual Wednesday class last night when a mum asked me (we were in the loby of the city hall not in the actuall dance room) if I had the white outfit sorted for the hip hop Christmas song – for the December 21st recital. I said no, there was no need as Shou wasn’t dancing it. She looked a bit startled – for sure the lad was dancing it.

I told her I’d cleared it with the teacher when we first found out about the recital. Shou has only been to like five classes, the first three of which he apparantly pissed round doing faff all. He can now do a very retarded running man – well, if I’ve had enough wine and squint thats what it looks like. Bless him. I do have faith he’ll conquor though. He has quite the talent for shit so its just a matter of time.

Anyhoo, the other mums all piped and said they thought Shou was dancing too so I threw up my hands and said right then, I’ll go and check with the teacher. This is Marina’s dance teacher -the overall owner of the company and who is always at the hip hop classes too, collecting money in a tin.

  • Gaijinwife: Hi ya, we sorted that Shou wasn’t expected to appear in the recital on the 21st aye?
  • Sensei: um, no. He’s dancing.
  • Gaijinwife: no he’s not.
  • Sensei: yes he is
  • Gaijinwife: no he’s not.
  • Sensei: yes he is
  • Gaijinwife: well, he doesn’t think he is, and we both thought he was just practicing the running man cause we are paying for hip hop classes and that he can dance in front of people when he has a bit more confidenc.
  • Sensei: It will be good for him.
  • Gaijinwife: I’ll have to check with him. Otsukare sama deshita. Osaki ni shitsureishimasu.

I came out. Relayed conversation to eagerly waiting mothers – to round of laughter, cause I’m such an entertainer and all. Came home, confirmed with Shou that he didn’t want to dance and then emailed the teacher. She said she ‘understood’ and left it at that.

What I don’t get is that I clearly remember the exhcange of words I had with the teacher, that went something like ‘Shou’s just started and can bearly do the running man, let alone, do it whilst simultaneously turning 360 degrees and clapping above his head. The rest of the girls have been doing this for TWO years, surely he doesn’t need to be in the Christmas recital (in front of thirty hearing and sight impaired vestlings – so probably good chance for first recital but nevermind). She said OK, she wanted him to but she understood if he didn’t want to and that was fine.

I find myself second guessing and I shouldn’t cause I have lived here for nearly half my bloody life and I know what I heard.

Ahh, never the mind. Stay calm and drink more wine and all that.

SDGH&QL

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Really not much to report”

  1. Merry December 13, 2013 at 3:07 am #

    It’s a shame there’s no hearing aid for the selectively-hearing impaired. 🙂

  2. lilyyamashita December 13, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    hmmm, is your memory failing you. Oh shit are we on the periphery of vestlinghood? Joking, probably not and the teacher just decided to ignore you.

  3. matchaproblem December 13, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    As an aside, I’ve often wondered whether anyone finds American colloquialisms charming. Because I just adore the way you phrase things, and know that If I tried to appropriate them I’d just sound like a douchebag and quite possibly get my ass kicked. Even in Japan, the accent wouldn’t match the slang, so all the other ex-pats would push me off the Sky Tree.

  4. Brenda in Nagano December 13, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Ah, the power crazy dance teacher strikes again! I think from now on you have free reign to just assume it is HER and NOT you. I am totally into Scandal these days and when there’s a problem on that show, someone usually “gets fixed”. I think your little Kunimi dance teacher may need “fixing”. Wink wink. 😉

  5. Adam W December 14, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    You have scared me away from ever putting my future children in dance. Haha. There’s a show here in the U.S. called Dance Moms, and I think you’d find it quite amusing. They’re usually like your kids’ dance teacher.

  6. SD December 16, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    Strange strange teacher..

    Ohhh Arashi’s Funky dance!! Enjoy the concert!!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

