The Dangling Carrot

7 Jan

Am here – translating. Not squiffing back vodka shots or anything. Must get one of these case studies home and hosed by the time I go back so work I must. Gahhh. Although is actually fairly interesting so not too taxing other than that whole getting back into work after ten days off thing.

Tomorrow marks a week sans grog. I do feel this is an attainable goal – this first small one, which actually in the grand scheme of things is quite major I guess. Why could I never last a week before?

I honestly think the lure of starting things at the start of the NY is huge. If you are anything like me then if you fuck up said diet or said healthy regime slash turning over of  new leaf plan, if you cave and binge or even just have one drink or one bit of cheese on toast its like, fuck it. May as well just go hell for leather now seeing as ruined it anyway. Will start afresh tomorrow, or Monday cause then its the start of the new week, or fuck it, it’s already the 20th of the month, I’ll just start at the start of next month. Fuck it, actually birthday is in two months so will just start the day after that… …. repeat, repeat, repeat.

But the NY is a biggie. If I fuck this up then I’ve really only got the start of a new decade and by then I’ll be older and saggier and thus less of a favorable statistic to achieve wanted results.

Now I just have to remind self that if I do fuck it up then just need to get back on and start again right away. None of this waiting round for a new this or a new that.

And of course trip home is not being considered a fuck up. Is being considered as mini trip to Vegas along the rules of ‘what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas’. And really it is reason am currently having any success. Is the carrot dangling at the end of the three-week sans wine rope.

And I’m a third of the way there.

Go me.

SDGH&QL

14 Responses to “The Dangling Carrot”

  1. Grace January 7, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

    indeed, Go you!!
    I’m loving the daily blogging, hope you will manage to blog a bit when you are in NZ.

    • gaijinwife January 7, 2014 at 11:25 pm #

      Thanks Grace! Go me indeed. Ya know, I actually got silly with the kids this morning – the first day proper back at school and stuff. Early start with everyone out the door by 7:25. I’m usually a mean mummy trying to organize everything. But this morning three of us were dancing round with undies on our head so there, proof that no wine makes me a more fun mummy the next morning 🙂

      • Grace January 9, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

        That’s even more inceptive then – fun mummy, ankle sightings and 2.5 kg off! Well done!

  2. Sarah January 7, 2014 at 2:54 pm #

    Agree with above, love the Mainichi Gaijinwife. I gave up drinking two years ago, haven’t had a single drop since and the kilos just vanished. You can do it!! I’m behind you. (Also, your writing is very Bridget Jones right now. Love).

    • gaijinwife January 7, 2014 at 11:26 pm #

      Thanks Sarah. vanishing kg sounds fabulous. So far, without changing diet or exercise – just the no grog and subsequently no eating after grog – have lost 2.5 kg in 7 days. but then can see ankles again so am presuming a kg of fluid came off each of those 🙂

      • katinkyoto January 8, 2014 at 3:27 am #

        Wahoo! We have ankle sightings! Like those numbers too. Later down the track-probably tomorrow for me-when you’re feeling the temptations or just need a kick in the proverbial bringing up the numbers always helps.

  3. japanmama January 8, 2014 at 7:02 am #

    Completely agree with the lure of the New Year resolution and rebelling against them when you fall off the wagon. Come to think of it, I lived a lot of my life like that. I’m surprised I’m still here. But 2.5kilos in a week, bloody fantastic! Don’t give up!

  4. Heda504 January 8, 2014 at 9:13 am #

    Well done you!

  5. Michelle January 8, 2014 at 4:13 pm #

    Hmmm… It’s fine to plan a lot of fun on your trip to NZ. But isn’t it sad that you can’t plan fun for yourself without alcohol?
    Sorry for heavy thoughts… :-/

    • gaijinwife January 9, 2014 at 1:01 am #

      heavy thoughts indeed Michelle!! Damn, I’m doing so well. Trip home will be loads of fun. Don’t imagine will be drinking for enitrety of fun times but yes, a do foresee several kampais of wine with old friends in my future. Sorry its a sad thought.

  6. Susie January 8, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

    Reading this is helping me get my butt back in gear. I haven’t gone running since I came back from Hawaii and that was at the end of November! Shame on me. I gotta get back on the horse, I missed the NY week but I can start. First step, get my gym bag prepped and start waking up early enough to make it to the gym nice and early.
    Stay strong!

    • gaijinwife January 8, 2014 at 11:55 pm #

      Good Luck Susie! Getting up and out the door is the hardest bit about running in the morning. But once you’re up you just force yourself to do it. I love how I feel AFTER I’ve been for a run so I need to get back into this too 🙂

  7. Eloise Roberts January 9, 2014 at 12:57 am #

    2.5kg is fantastic. I don’t drink really at all so what can I give up???? don’t say bread or coffee!

    • gaijinwife January 9, 2014 at 1:00 am #

      Nope. I tried that once. Last two hours. The no alcohol thing is proving to be a lot more successful 🙂 Last few days the weight hasn’t changed though so I imagine the excess fluid has gone and now I need to start exercising and chaning diet 🙂 Sent box off yesterday. Should arrive sometime today. xxx

Comments are closed.

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

