Long Weekend

13 Jan

Long weekend here. Today is coming of age day which used to involve at least 18 minutes of prime news time showing pissed out of control 20-year-old yankee (the Japanese kind not the American kind)  types. Things must have calmed down a bit. That or it’s just the fact the TV was on kids morning TV. That must be it.

Hub had wannabe fire brigade stuff for Saturday and Sunday. Once a year they have to prance round a field in their uniforms – with different branches on prancing around, working the hose, and driving noddy fire trucks. I used to take the kids cause there’s like cool trucks and hoses and water and horns and shit. Was kinda hoping someone would start selling takoyaki octopus balls, the Japanese equivalent of hotdogs, so I could turn it into a really cool outing. I stopped taking them the third year. Too cold and just too conspicuous.

This was followed last night by their shinnenkai start the year off party in Beppu. He arrived home today to a house full of kids. Invited kids playing inside while I had coffee with said kids mum and little sister and non-invited neighbor kid and his cousins playing outside. Marina and Ryu joined them playing outside and I later found out that Ryu had decided to squat and take a big dump in the neighbors drain. Quite shocked I was. This is my beautiful little four year old. Who goes for a shit outside when there is a perfectly fine nice toilet, with a heated toilet seat, inside! Jeeze.

7 more sleeps till home time. A lot to try and get through this week, which needs to start now by folding two hug loads of washing. How truly exciting.

SDGH&QL

 

 

13 Responses to “Long Weekend”

  1. Tash kun January 13, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

    Well done, Ryu! Priceless.

    • gaijinwife January 13, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

      I couldn’t bloody believe it. I marched him right back out there with a plastic bag and a poopy scooper but the ditch was quite deep. I’m kinda impressed he squatted over that!

      • Tash Kun January 14, 2014 at 1:54 am #

        I’m still laughing at the thought of him squatting over a drain! Looking forward to seeing you next week 😀

  2. Oyomesan January 13, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

    Count ’em down!!! Does that 7 more sleeps include the plane? Will you sleep sans kids? Hope so 🙂

    • gaijinwife January 13, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

      Nope – counts the nights till I leave the house and start getting all excited and sht 🙂 I don’t particularly like flying and the only good sleep I ever had on a plane was after my dad gave me half a sleeping pill, that I think might have been horse tranquilizer, cause I woke up half an hour from landing with dribble all down my chin and the man next to me kinda grinning.

  3. Kathryn OHalloran January 14, 2014 at 12:09 am #

    The Japanese love a uniform don’t they. Like you could get people to do anything you want if you gave them a uniform to wear.

    • gaijinwife January 14, 2014 at 3:08 am #

      haha – exactly. Must say the uniforms do make for better spectating (is that what spectators do?).

  4. Adam W January 15, 2014 at 4:54 am #

    You’re not a kid until you’ve shat in public. Haha.

    • gaijinwife January 16, 2014 at 1:14 am #

      haha – the other two obviously have a way to go then. Perhaps I should just take them camping and get it over with! Might be easier for Japanese kids -with their highly developed toilet squat muscles 🙂

  5. Susan January 15, 2014 at 10:53 pm #

    Hi GW – have not been around much lately but just wanted to add my kudos to all the others you got on your abstaining from chuhais and sav blanc & such – I know it’s hard but I also you feel much better both physically and mentally (due to pride in self). Kind of like I feel when I actually stick to my diet (ummmm…not lately, but always trying. Like you said, one day at a time). I hope you have a FABULOUS time back home. I’ve been fortunate enough, thanks to my husband being willing to take over everything at home, to have taken vacations alone overseas to visit friends. It’s soooooooooo much fun to relax & enjoy, no cleaning, no planning meals, no worrying about anyone but yourself. Hope you enjoy every single minute.

    • gaijinwife January 16, 2014 at 1:13 am #

      Thank you Susan 🙂 5 more sleeps till I fly out and even the trip to the airport will be relaxing. Wahooooo. Very exciting indeed.

  6. Liz Creasy January 22, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

    WOW !!!!! Two days later and I think I’m caught up. So so so proud of you for the NY resolution. and you really are doing great. My current man (well of 18 month or so) has the same problem. Once he gets started he just can’t stop. He was planning to go back to school in Sept, and amazingly quit cold turkey, and came away with all A’s and a 4.0 GPA Deans List certificate.
    Let his hair down a little for the holidays. and has just got back on the wagon for this semester with 5 classes until May. AND got a job as Caddy for the Augusta National Golf Course (Masters !!!) truly his dream come true !!! So you can teach an old dog (58 Years) new tricks.

    I’m the exact opposite (unless out clubbing or something) enjoy sipping one or two in the evening to relax and then off to bed. Although the newly acquired (thanks to you 🙂 ) SavBlc taste is a little harder to put down…………..Damn, that shit’s GOOD !!!!
    Anyway, Soooooo glad to be back in he fold, I seriously missed the daily shenanigans of GW and Co, Ink hahaha
    I guess you are in NZ by now. Hoping for the best trip EVAH for you, and looking forward to lots of fun blogs (and maybe pics ??) when you get back.
    Live, Laugh and Love plenty while you’re there, and always !!!

  7. littlebelgianwriter January 29, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

    Hello Gajinwife,

    I have not been around much lately, and I just found out that your blog has moved here. I hope you are having a great time in New Zealand.

    I have missed reading your blog. At least, now I have some time to catch up!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

