Day 4: Difficult Wines & Semi-Roughing It

19 Feb

Hmmm, I knew I should have finished the NZ trip diaries sooner!!

Day 4 we woke up and had a slow morning. Fuck, actually no we didn’t. Well, I guess it was slow compared to being up with three kids at 6am but we were out for ‘brunch’ (brunch is like a taboo word when you’re a mum. Damn the bastards that get to eat brunch every weekend. My kids wake up EARLIER on the bloody weekends!) I had a smoothy and a Panini – which isn’t very brunchy I know but we had had a huge conversation about ‘snotty eggs’ – that bit they sometimes don’t fuckin cook right and you get clear snotty shit on your eggs Benedict. Bleh.

After breaky we had ourselves (us girls – while the bro stayed at home with the remote control and sky TV) booked into a spa and massage place.

I know, I know. I’m sorry.

But my elephantiasis airplane feet were horrendous and the sisters decided to get on the case. This place was not only the best place but also had a specific ‘jetlag for tired feet’ one hour special.

I got a lovely guy from Bali – who practiced some Japanese on me as soon as he knew I was ya know,  Japanese with my Japanese name. HE. WAS. GREAT. Had the magical hands of a god!

My feet were HALF the size when I left 🙂

So we went shoe shopping.

For my benefit apparently, although my sister bought 800 dollars worth of shoes and I bought some body gel… :p

Then off we set, to the inner countryside of Oturehua, where mum and dad are buried, where the wedding was to take place.

We had to go past a difficult mountain full of wines. MT. difficulty in fact.

I can’t adhere to the greatness of the wines as the wine tasting set was too much for the middle of the day and if it left the others unfit to drive then I’d have too, despite fact actually not allowed as have no current NZ license and/or international license.

Can I say here that the establishment makes their ‘wine taster’ so that the drinker will still be ‘under the limit’. (but, on an extra note, if any Japanese person drank that much they would be floored and actually it is NOT a safe limit to drink.( NZ  ‘wants’ to drop the drink driving acident level and yet has crazy limits.  It should be ZERO’)

Anyhoo, we made it to the middle of the earth, or the end of the world, or whatever it is best describes central Otago.

The accommodation..

was lovely

quite quaint in fact.

we didn’t have a toilet and three of us had to sleep in the same farty, too much wine drunk, too cold at night to leave the windows open, smelly room. I really need to get some photos up!

Had fabulous sleep. But having to trapse to the outside loo in the middle of the night… not too excited about that but what can ya do? Half the cousins were in tents in the paddock next door so I guess we had it good in comparison 🙂

xxx

zzzzzzzz

SDGH&QL

2 Responses to “Day 4: Difficult Wines & Semi-Roughing It”

  1. heather February 19, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    Does that freak you out after living here too? It’s 0.05 is Oz which they tell you is one drink an hour. I just get all weirded out drinking with someone who then jumps in their car to drive me home- sooo different from here, huh?

    • gaijinwife February 20, 2014 at 1:38 am #

      it really is so crazy. My sisters and brother each had the equivalent of half a bottle of wine in the middle of the day in the blazing bloody sun. to think that my brother would have still blown well under the limit (which is still 0.07 I think but going down in a few months to 0.05) is just fuckin cray cray.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

