That Busy Time of Year

25 Feb

Right, I have about ten minutes before I get behind on today’s list of shit that needs to be done. I am in the midst of that big case study translation I got at the end of last year – due mid-March. I’m doing good. Right on schedule (pats self on back). But then on Friday I did something  a bit silly. I said yes to another 60 page translation. Due the same day. Faaaaaaaaaaaaark. It isn’t overly taxing on my brain per se but the time is a different story.

Mothers around the country are about to embark on the busiest time of year – especially if they have a child in a club sports team or finishing one school and starting another. I really need to try and keep everything together over the next three weeks. If I stop and think about it too long then I’m afraid it will all just get a bit overwhelming and I’ll have to crawl into a fetal position and start sucking my thumb, in between skulling back wine and forgetting everything on aforementioned list.

Explanation Sessions – one for Marina which was last week and involved 3 hours of listening to the current first graders (Shou and HTB) play the pianica, do a pictorial outline of the school year, sing four songs and teach the to-be first graders (Marina plus seven others) how to make a jumpy frog thing out of cardboard and rubber bands. Followed by the teacher reading directly from a piece of paper we had all been given about prep for starting school and exactly how big the book bag needs to be. Followed by the principal doing his speel on home environments, playing too many games, watching too much tv, and stranger danger. They then left the parents to decide who would be first grade class rep parent and who would do the speech at the entrance ceremony in April.

I’m still getting over the trauma of being kinder PTA head the last year – the year the teachers decided to make us in charge of half the summer festival and me subsequently getting all anal and spending the equivalent of an entire working week making crocodiles out of milk cartons and PVC pipes.

So naturally, when everyone started inspecting the carpet and counting the dots on the ceiling at the meeting, I took it upon myself to nominate someone for the entrance ceremony speech. All in favor? Right, motion approved or whatever. Done. Let’s go home so I can translate more on the enrollment ratio of seminar classes in the undergraduate college of international studies, and make more headway into the other translation on the BBQ Chinese Pork company.

Ryu’s meeting for him starting the two-year pre-school is this Friday and should not be confused with the end of year PTA kinder meeting next week which is all morning, followed in the afternoon by the end of year PTA meeting for the school. I am part way through trying to convince hub to take the day off so he can go and I can stay home and work.

Last night was a soccer meeting where I nearly had to scratch my eyeballs out with a very blunt object it was that fuckin boring. I have obviously not assimilated myself enough into the WA of Japanese culture to be able to partake in pissy indecisive bollocksy meetings when I have 90 pages of translation waiting, kids to put in the bath and homework to check.

All the kids have ‘owakare ensoku’ next week, to farewell the kids leaving from the kinder and school, there’s 3 different end of academic year drinky things in March, there’s all the naming of school shit I need to do for Marina, there’s all the end of year shit hub has on and… and…. and….

FUUUUUUUUUUCK, and then I have to apply for two new NZ passports, three new Japanese ones, send off three NZ school enrollment forms along with copies of citizenship and vaccination records – which I in turn can’t do until Ryu and Marina have the vaccinations they are due in the next two weeks.

BUT, the good news is I booked the tickets home yesterday!

We. Are. Going.

It. Is. All. Booked.

Tickets, check. Relevant people told. Accommodation down payment, check. Schools informed.

Now I just have to work to pay for it all.

SDGH&QL

12 Responses to “That Busy Time of Year”

  1. Ang February 25, 2014 at 8:13 am #

    Yay!

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 3:55 am #

      I know!! exciting!! Lots of catch ups with you I hope. Don’t supose your nan wants to sell her car if its still collecting dust in the garage?

  2. Sarah February 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    Good luck, and hang in there!

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 3:54 am #

      Thanks Sarah. So far I seem to be surviving, just 🙂

  3. aronkowski February 27, 2014 at 12:32 am #

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to drop us a post! 🙂 And yay for standing your ground on the NZ trip!

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 3:54 am #

      Very good ground in deed 🙂 Have since also booked hub’s ticket for ten days over Chrissy and a mini break for me and the boys to OZ during the NZ school holidays!! Huuurah.

  4. heather February 27, 2014 at 12:52 am #

    Stay strong!

    I am in the same meeting hell and started working out just how many ‘volunteer’ positions I will hold next year.

    Then I started getting that glazed eye pre-foetal position feeling and decided best to just ignore April and all that comes after it and focus on all the drinking opportunities in March instead.

    🙂

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 3:53 am #

      March is a bitch of a month but 90 percent of that is 150 pages of translation due. Thankfully the first drinky thing is after my deadline!! Hurrah, will probabaly have ten more deadlines pending by then but nevermind. No point worrying about that on a Friday 🙂 Good luck with all your shite.

  5. Amanda February 28, 2014 at 1:04 am #

    Glad you’ve got your tickets!! 😀
    Now to just get through next few months.

    Inspirational cat poster maybe? :p

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 3:52 am #

      haha, yeah right. ‘Hang in there’ cute little cat hanging off branch. Not quite the inspiration I need :p It could be worse though. A cat hanging on with a golden light or something saying ‘god will be your savior’.
      Wine. I think I just need wine.

      • Amanda March 9, 2014 at 7:01 am #

        I was thinking more along the lines of the cat holding a glass of sav 😉

      • gaijinwife March 9, 2014 at 8:14 am #

        LOL, Love. I’ll definitely take that cute cat poster.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

