Tranlsation Bollocks

28 Feb

Really not that much to report. I am in translation-hell at the moment.

Although, I guess it’s not hell because I do enjoy it and just have to keep thinking about the ching da ching at the end of the tunnel. I can’t and shouldn’t really complain that the university is taking the piss but, hey, I’m going to anyway…

I got 3 business case studies at the end of last year. average 28 A4 pages (full writing) each. We organized a price before hand per case. All good. Except as per usual I don’t squash it in because I usually go weeks or months without other translation work.

Had kind of forgotten we’d organized that they would give me enough work this year for me to be taken off hub’s list of ‘dependants’. Need lots more for that to be viable because I now have to pay pension, social security, insurance rah rah.  So, when they asked me last week if I could handle another 70 page file…..

I looked at the file. It wasn’t a brain tax but it was very time-consuming.

So I said yes. Cause I fly like that. Am also perhaps half a bit crazy. So crazy in fact that the university expressed its concern at me being so busy but IF I HAPPENED TO HAVE ANY EXTRA TIME how much could I take on in addition to all the other shite…

So I said a page a day. If its easy then it will only take me maybe 40 minutes and be a nice break away from Seminar surveys and roast Chinese pork, and if it looks like it will take too long (is too technical or hard) then I’ll just turn it down. So they started sending easy shit like articles for the webpage and shit. And I did them really fast – cause it was a nice break. So I’d send them off and then half an hour later I’d get another mail and FUCK ME SIDEWAYS, All I can wonder is WHAT did they do before they started sending shit to me?

When I actually worked there I had lots of translations to do but now their policy is to hire more English speaking Japanese staff to handle the students directly and hire us off siters to translate.

Has been a juggling match I tell ya – mainly because I get so many emails and don’t write shit down as soon as I should – like, please change who this invoice is sent to rah rah. It’s painful. The other place I translate for is so much easier! EVERYTHING is online and they work out the invoices and I just go online when I like and tick the boxes of the invoices I want paid – which means I can regulate when they go into my bank account, AND which bank account they go into!!

Off shore Caribean or otherwise.

So, end of March is my big deadline for 160 pages. Have no idea how many posts you’ll get between now and then.

In other quick news I had Ryu’s pre-school meeting today. He moves up from kinder to pre-school in April and we had to spend an hour listening to the exact size of the hand towels and length of loops we had to sew on them. Turns out the teacher would like us to hand write all the name tags (that go on everything – each individual pencil and crayon) and NOT buy them already printed with child’s name.

Well that can fuck off cause I already got Ryu’s for pre-school and Marina’s for primary school off the internet like four months ago in a Rakuten sale.

Sigh, Sigh, Sigh.

One year its this and the next its that.

Am flying the white flag of gaijin ignorance and ‘I’ll just do what I want’ness.

SDGH&QL

8 Responses to “Tranlsation Bollocks”

  1. Debra February 28, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

    Good luck with the translation – that sounds like a lot !! And hello? on the name tags? Why in the world would the teacher care ? And whassup with hand towels too?

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks Debra. Having to name everything is a pain in the ass. I guess parents name shit back in NZ too but I don’t think the kids need as many of their own sets of crayons, markers, pastels, paints, playdoh utensils….. Guess I can use naming shit as procrastinating from translating 🙂

  2. becca February 28, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    Gaijinwife, That sounds like crazy amounts of translation! Ganbatte! On the subject of translation, if you have a minute when you’re done with the reams of it I wonder if you would be so kind as to give me some tips as to how to get into the translation business? I would be most grateful! Ta.

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

      Hi Becca. My situation is a bit different in that I have just had a continuing contract with the university I worked at after JET. The other place I occassionaly do work for has a good system but I don’t get that much from them, but if you email me I can send you a few links if you like. gaijinwife at gmail dot com

  3. Persnickety March 1, 2014 at 2:48 am #

    Ha, I can relate on the translation. I do doc review on financial disclosure documents ( one of my least favorite things). We had a client who said they could manage it themselves two years ago come back and willing to pay hourly for review. I made the mistake of getting a couple of reviews back quickly and it has been f@&king flood ever since. Complete wast e of their money and my time for a lot of it ( no added value from me)

  4. Jenni March 2, 2014 at 5:12 am #

    Why on earth does it matter if the names on the pencils are printed or written by hand??? I live in Japan and would like to have children here someday, but this nonsense really gives me pause ;(

    • gaijinwife March 2, 2014 at 1:08 pm #

      supposedly the printed ones you can order are too small for the kids to read. Of course if you were printing them yourself it wouldn’t matter but still. Have already ordered all ours so fuck it, they will go on small and the other kids can remember Ryu’s as being the ones we can’t read!! At least at our primary school we don’t have to label the math set 🙂

      • Sophelia March 4, 2014 at 1:39 am #

        We had our printed in English. Doesn’t matter if they can’t be read, they’re the foreign lookin’ ones!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

