It was ‘not’ my fault, at all. Swear.

9 Mar

Today hub took all 3 offspring to the movies. Which, as I think I’ve mentioned, is quite a mission because the closest theater is a two-hour drive away. I didn’t join them in favor of smacking out one of these huge translations due Monday week.

And smacked it I did. Well, actually I’m leaving it for a couple of hours and then I’ll give it a final proof read and send it off first thing tomorrow morning. I’ve had this particular project since the end of last year and when they drag on that long you get both completely frustrated with translating the same shit, but also extremely gratified when it is actually finished and you can read back on stuff you translated a month ago and think, wow, who translated that. That’s really quite fabulous :p

Anyhoo, in preparation for today’s outing I booked the tickets online yesterday morning.

Well, I booked some tickets anyway.

Hub rings up from the theater where he is standing in front of the machine and punching in the booking confirmation number and getting rejected.

So I had a look at the email again. The number was correct but hold on, the date said yesterday. But that is IMPOSSIBLE because you can only book up to 24 hours before the movie and surely the site wouldn’t have let me make the booking yesterday for a movie showing yesterday.

I was adamant.

So hub rang up the online company, also thinking I was right and they were wrong.

My phone was spazzing out so, after realizing it was in fact my fault, I kept trying to ring hub to tell him not to ring the company to bitch and that I would just book them more tickets now. When I finally got him he said they had agreed to change the tickets at no cost – but that it was the only time they would do it so could his dumb gaijin wife please read the small print next time. Well, they didn’t actually say that and it wasn’t small print. The schedule times were in huge red print and I just pushed the one for Saturday and not Sunday.

Ah well, alls well that ends well aye?

They had a good movie. I don’t think he lost a child – although I wont be able to verify that until they get home in an hour or so – and I got my work done. Win win.

Although I reckon he still thinks his wife is a bit of a retard.

Nevermind.

SDGH&QL

 

6 Responses to “It was ‘not’ my fault, at all. Swear.”

  1. littlebelgianwriter March 9, 2014 at 9:23 am #

    These things happen. We are all human. The only way to avoid mistakes is doing nothing, then there would have been no tickets at all.

    • gaijinwife March 9, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

      this is true. fortunately it all worked out in the end and they had a great time and I’m the only one feeling silly šŸ™‚

  2. chrysanthemummum March 10, 2014 at 3:44 am #

    Easy mistake to make especially when you are juggling so many other things at the same time. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You are amazing and don’t let anyone try to convince you otherwise.

  3. japanmama March 10, 2014 at 7:13 am #

    I know that the family were all out of the way so that you could get your work done, but I can’t help but fantasise about my husband going out on his own with all three children…although I know in reality I would be so bloody worried that I wouldn’t be able to relax at all!

  4. Debra March 12, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

    Good plan to save your mistakes for movie tickets. Then you won’t make them on plane tickets!

  5. Anna March 13, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

    Hope the earthquake didn’t do you any harm?
    Anna

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

