Trying to get regular again

6 Apr

I am hoping to get back into the blogging swing of things. It seems so many people have stopped entirely. Has blogging turned old school already? Should I be tweeting or twerking or something instead? OK, so I definitely should not be twerking. Quite possibly a health hazard for both self and onlookers if I started that kind of carry on. Although speaking of twirking, although really it has nothing to do with it, the European Stylist now has a pole dancing pole in her living room. I’m well impressed. I bet her boyfriend is too.

I unusually have the house to myself this afternoon – in the name of translation of course. Shou is up at HTB’s house, cause they obviously don’t get enough of each other every day at the Spring vacation holiday club. The other two are off with daddy getting DVD’s.

The Spring vacation has kind of kicked my ass. Shou hasn’t been here but the other two seem to only be able to play nicely together for approximately 17 minutes. I got a  big and rather urgent translation (due Tuesday) mid last week and not being able to sit down and play with the kids and/or bake muffins with them every day is making me grumpy mummy and them grumpy, annoying, bored, children.

I did however bake cookies with Marina on Thursday. She loved it. I thought it was altogether quite painful but I guess the fact she loved it and the end results were yummy should win over my grumpiness at having to send 45 minutes preparing them instead of 8. Such are the joys of cooking with children. If I didn’t have a head full of translations I am sure I would be more excited about spending so much time with them. Might even be able to work out some arts and crafts or something. Although my creative juices are few and far between at the moment, as quite clearly obvious by this robot Ryu asked me to make yesterday…

IMG_5070

We have had two weekends of soccer in the rain and howling wind. Not that enjoyable for the boys or the parents I don’t think but now that Shou has stopped hip hop he has to go to everything soccer that he can. He decided that hip hop was just all together too embarrassing because after two months he had yet to conquer the running man. Quite possibly due to fact he would just ass round at the back of the room and the teacher wasn’t overly interested in a) giving him more than a few words of encouragement at the start of the class and then leaving him be or b) getting cross that he was pissing around. I kind of hoped he’d get into it more, especially as he always said he had fun. I’m beginning to think he just wanted to go for the older girls.

The fact that his favorite TV program changed to Friday nights may or not have had something to do with his decision.

So he quit and Marina started. First class last Friday – she LOVED it, and just seeing her face the whole hour was pure joy. I am pretty sure she danced more in that one hour than Shou did in the entire 10 or so classes he went to. The teacher kept going on about how ‘sugoi’ she was and she fed off that and as a result got through the whole routine. We have an upcoming recital for dance and she has subsequently been put into the little people’s hip hop routine – wahoo. Minus the fact I will have to acquire a bright colored pair of overalls and sew sequins and ‘I love Hip Hop’ and random other shit onto it before the performance in four weeks.

She has also started back at the Wednesday dance and has two new dances (for her – she wasn’t in them last year but knows them from watching them so many times) she will be in for the Jazz and classical. Plan on jamming as much dance in as possible between now and going home as I really want her to be in dance mode so she’ll want to take it during our stay in NZ. Unless of course she crashes and burns and decides she’ll chuck it all in and start the ukulele or something.

Other than that she has her school entrance ceremony on Thursday, Ryu has his Kinder one the following Monday, I still can’t get into any sort of healthy eating and exercise regime, Hub unfortunately didn’t get transferred, Granny K keeps asking me if I want some of her big clothes she bought which are too big for her, I still have to name 347 pieces of random school equipment by Thursday and then Monday, nobody liked the sausage rolls I made the other day even thought they were very nom nom, I’ve bought a piano and I want to buy a dog.

Hope all is well.

SDGH&QL

18 Responses to “Trying to get regular again”

  1. Grace April 6, 2014 at 7:22 am #

    Keep blogging! as you rightly say, too many people have stopped recently.

    • gaijinwife April 8, 2014 at 6:03 am #

      I know! it sucks monkey nuts. I feel so left out of random peoples’ lives now!!

  2. Sophelia April 6, 2014 at 9:46 am #

    We’ve just been through a major ordeal trying to save a stray dog here~ ended up paying a fortune and flying her to Tokushima which was the closest non-kill shelter we could find. If you do get a dog, please check your local pound first! The Oita City one has a dozen gorgeous little puppies and lots of well trained older dogs pretty much all the time. You pay a token amount compared to hundreds at a pet store, and you’re saving a life instead of helping puppy mills profit.
    Ahem. Sorry for the rant. Been an emotional couple of weeks trying to figure out how to help this one dog because we found her and trying not to think about all the other dogs at the pound we weren’t able to help 😦

    • gaijinwife April 8, 2014 at 6:03 am #

      Thank you Sophelia. Thats a great idea which I hadn’t thought of. Will definitely check the local pound out after getting back from NZ. So glad you were able to help the stray dog.

  3. Brenda in Nagano April 6, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

    I blog in my head tons! Maybe now that I will have my days to myself I’ll get back into it. I definitely miss you when you don’t though! I doubt anyone actually reads mine anymore. Your robot is way more creative and fantastic than anything I could come up with! I am quite thankful our school holidays are all relatively short compared to other prefectures. Although until I get used to the routine, mornings scare the shit out of me. Good luck getting everything labeled!

    • gaijinwife April 8, 2014 at 6:02 am #

      its hard to get back into after a big break because you don’t know where to start! Good luck with the mornings. We had a half seven out the door start after 10 days of 8 thirty and it involved a bit of shouting 😦

  4. desikawa April 6, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    Keep blogging!

  5. Merry April 8, 2014 at 1:50 am #

    Well I thank you for blogging when you get around to it. I’m just a dork who likes to read this stuff. You have GOOD random stuff. 😀

    • gaijinwife April 8, 2014 at 6:01 am #

      haha, thanks Merry. Definitely a whole lot of random stuff. Glad other people can enjoy reading it!

  6. Debra April 8, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    I would love a sausage roll !

    • gaijinwife April 8, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

      I’d love a proper big one with watties tom sauce! nom nom. The fact they didn’t really like them was probably more a pain because I can’t buy sausage meat and actually gaffed round taking the skin off some sausages and blending them all together with stuff! PITA. AH well, will just resign self to fact that next time I make them I’ll be eating them all myself 🙂

  7. gina April 8, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

    Keep blogging! I’m gonna start again now I have an internet connection.

    • gaijinwife April 8, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

      OMG, hows it all going? Your randoseru makes its big debut next Monday 🙂 Please blog so I can keep up with your goings on. xx

      • chrysanthemummum April 9, 2014 at 8:34 am #

        Things are going well. The kids seem happy and we have a lovely home. Easter hols here so kids not in school yet… will blog soon. xx

  8. Susan April 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

    Feel like I shouldl thank you for blogging again, too. I really miss when you don’t post! Have toyed with the idea of blogging for a long time, but I couldn’t be half as entertaining as you. Besides, kids don’t provide as much good material when they are older – they’re not even home half the time. Just me sitting here watching the dog hair tumbleweeds float across the floor…

  9. mimi April 11, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

    Hope you keep blogging cause I really enjoy reading!

  10. doonza April 29, 2014 at 11:00 pm #

    Yes please keep blogging! Nearly all the other blogs I read have stopped or shut down, it’s like reading a fabulous book and then finding out the ending is missing – I find myself wondering about all these people who I never even met and wondering how they are doing… If you other gaijin wives with blogs are reading this please blog again – we miss you! (Or at least take your blogs off maintenance mode so we can re-find awesome recipes and kids games!! ).

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

