De. Ja. Vu.

11 Apr

Yesterday I finished English at 5:30 and went to pick Shou and Marina up from the after school care. Marina didn’t officially start school until today but you pay for the after school care by the month so they all started this week. Thursday is a soccer day so I’m pumped to the wire to get shit organized and Shou at soccer at a time that isn’t too much past the 6pm start.

I drive down the driveway bit to school and see HTB crouched in the hedges. The rest of the kids are all down the other end of the field playing dodge ball with the teacher supervisor ladies. It’s too far for me to shout so instead I wind down the window and say hello to HTB boy and ask if he’d be so kind as to run down and tell Shou and Marina to get their shit together. He says hello, and yes. He is not crying or anything. He is fine. Minus the crouching in the middle of the hedge like a private detective bit.

I park the car, go around the school building to the after school care room entrance and get Shou and Marina. HTB isn’t there but the whole pick up is very uneventful. Nobody said boo about anything.

We get back to the car – at the same time as HTB’s mum drives in. I see her get out and start up a small jog back down the drive. The kids get in the car, make it click, we put on Buffalo Soldier, and are driving down the drive back to the road when we see HTB in the middle of an oscar winning performance.

I didn’t know this at the time but I do now. He was quite upset. The supervisor lady was crouched down talking to him, another two kids were there, one of whom is a PITA shit. Not usually mind you, but he has a thing about dictating his control over the younger kids and I have seen him stand behind HTB and Shou after a fight and both of whom were crying, and slamming their heads down screaming, ayamare, ayamare (apologize). Yesterday he poked his arm in the window, pointed at Shou and yelled in very loud yakuza style, the equivalent of ‘you’ll be in bloody trouble tomorrow boy.’

I ask whats happened as by now its evident Shou was involved. The supervisor lady tells me she’ll talk to me tomorrow and it might just be best for me to keep on driving. So I do.

I turn Bob Marley off, much to Marina’s disappointment as she was just about to get her groove on to the ‘wayaya waya ya ya bit. Β I ask Shou to tell me what happened. He spins his own oscar attempt with some elaborate story that he repeated three times before I said, sensei will tell me exactly what happened tomorrow and mummy will be very upset if what she says is different to what you just said.

‘Sorry Mum. I spat water in HTB’s face, Marina told me to’

For. the. love. of. bloody. god.

I am very glad they both ended up telling me the truth. I’m not entirely sure what happened to prompt this, if anything. Β I email the supervisor lady, tell her that Shou has told me what happened but if anything else happened can she let me know.

We get home and Shou is sent up to his room and made to do his homework on his own and eat dinner up there. Hub comes home amidst all this and ends up taking Shou to HTB’s house to apologize. He asked why I wasn’t coming and I said I didn’t think a bit of water in the face warranted both parents. Besides, I went last time. We also didn’t know what happened beforehand and I didn’t think going that far was fair tn Shou if HTB did something shitty to prompt it.

They weren’t home yet.

Supervisor rings me and says she spent half an hour talking to HTB’s mum. She said that if Shou had owned up to it then that was the main thing and that surely an apology over the phone would suffice. She said that while it appears that Shou is always the baddy in these situations he isn’t and that HTB can be a right pain in the ass but Shou doesn’t take it on board. Unlike when Shou does something and the whole fuckin world ends. She also said he was absolutely fine until he saw his mum’s car and then he burst into tears and the theatrics started.

Five minutes later I see their car coming down the road so take Shou out to apologize as they go past. Shou’s apology was very good and he gave some of his favorite stickers to HTB – who didn’t utter a word, gave him the ‘eye’ and then threw the stickers into his little sister in the back seat.

His mum said he was playing quite happily while she was talking to the supervisor lady and that it was fine and not to worry.

Still, yet another, what I consider quite a small thing, turning into something huge.

In other news,

10259826_10151969874076805_838135093664349704_n

 

I have a first grader. In an AKB inspired outfit passed down to us from a friend whose daughter wore it 7 years ago. It has now officially been worn twice πŸ™‚ Glad to see Japan’s love for girls in school uniforms with short skirts and ribbons remains intact. To celebrate her entrance into primary school we defrosted a pizza for lunch and then I took her back to the after school care program so I can translated and then teach English. Joy Joy.

SGDH&QL

 

15 Responses to “De. Ja. Vu.”

  1. Malin Myklebust April 11, 2014 at 10:43 am #

    OMG, the outfit! So cute πŸ™‚

    • gaijinwife April 11, 2014 at 12:57 pm #

      She was a bit miffed the bow was so small but other than that…. ….. she loved it all. Even wore the red shoes to hip hop tonight.

  2. Debra April 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm #

    That’s it? All the hullaballoo for a little water in the face? That seems excessive especially given that you are talking about little boys! Though I know there is some history there which is amping things up. Good luck.

    The outfit is adorable. She will be able to spit water at whoever she wants…

    • gaijinwife April 11, 2014 at 12:56 pm #

      haha, right! If it had been any other kid it would have turned into a water fight and I would have been told ‘sorry Shou is all wet but they had an awesome fun water fight’ when I picked him up instead 😦 Bugger fuck it. I am hanging out for July when we can go to NZ πŸ™‚ not that this is a Japanese thing, its an HTB thing but still, will be nice for a change.

  3. mimi April 11, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    Kid drama its the worst…Marina looks adorable!

    • gaijinwife April 11, 2014 at 10:34 pm #

      Kid drama is so bloody theatrical isn’t it! HTB is quite happy to be involved with what ever goes on, with no regard for how anybody feels about what he does but as soon as something happens to him he doesn’t like its all tears and Shou this and Shou that. Sure, if there were more than two kids in the class… !! And thank you, she looked cute with a her big front tooth gap grin πŸ™‚

  4. Merry April 11, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

    I got a call today from the boys’ assistant principal. Yesterday he was throwing shit around the class and lying to the principal about it. Fantastic! Love my boys but I kinda envy you the water-spitting. πŸ™‚

    • gaijinwife April 11, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

      God I hate the lying, but I guess its just a phase… ? I hope. Shou is pretty good at it. Not even hub can tell but mum can – cause its the exact same face hub uses when he’s been at pachinko and comes home saying what a hard day at the office its been… which I guess answers my questions that it would appear not to just be 7 year old boy phase. Damn.

  5. Susie April 11, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

    Oh lord, kids and their dramatics. I swear sometimes I wonder!
    We have a drama queen of our own who dishes it but can’t take it. We end up making him apologize for initiating any ill thing that happens to him because 99 percent of the time, he really has it coming.

    • gaijinwife April 11, 2014 at 11:51 pm #

      do you think his parents realize Susie? I’m pretty sure HTB’s mum realizes but his dad is deluded I think :p

      • Susie April 12, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

        We are the parents 😦 we have our very own HTB. What irks me is getting the stink eye when it wasn’t us who raised him. He just came to live with us in July. Breaking bad habits is tough business.

      • gaijinwife April 12, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

        ahhh, I read ‘as our own’ as in a class one of your kids is in!. It must be hard getting the back lash for his behavior in that kind of situation. Good luck breaking the bad habits. Luckier now that he has you working on his side helping him. xxx

  6. Adam W April 12, 2014 at 8:35 am #

    Is he the oldest? Or only boy? All of the above? Might explain his theatrics.

    • gaijinwife April 12, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

      yes and yes Adam. There is a three year gap and then its his sister. I think here, having Marina in the middle has helped with that kind of thing.

  7. Heda504 April 16, 2014 at 8:33 am #

    I can’t believe how much Marina has grown and how gorgeous she is in that brilliant Japanese school uniform. She looks like she has stepped out of one of those anime kids movies.
    HTB is a woos. He needs to get over himself.
    I bet your translation is spot on. You are very clever, very creative and very intuitive and it comes across in your blogging.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

