Just shit in general

23 Apr

Have suddenly been swamped (in a good way, keep your hands off) by translation work and have a very busy schedule of soccer duties, teacher visits (all three teachers coming one after the other tomorrow between 3 and 4 thirty), English, ‘compulsory’ voluntary trip to see CATS musical, piano buying, usual house shite yaddah yaddah.

The musical is this weekend and Marina and I are making a girls weekend of it and staying in a plush hotel and apparently buying ‘battle spirit’ game cards – the highlight for her. I’m kind of looking more forward to the nice hotel and catch up with girlfriends but still, if spending 100 yen on some cards appeases the girl I’m all for it! We were ‘strongly urged’ slash shamed into buying musical tickets. I ‘could’ have booked train tickets to leave after Saturday dance practice but then we wouldn’t arrive at the hotel until 8pm! which is a fuckin waste of a 2pm checkin now isn’t it!

The hotel has been booked since before we found out about the in-two-weeks recital anyway so sensei will just have to ‘handle the jandal’ – deal with it. A great kiwi saying….. or do you wombats say it too? I should probably tell her though. Like soon. Perhaps just as soon as I’ve stopped fuming over that expensive pair of ‘dance’ overalls I have to buy despite fact that ‘that’ dance teacher only just got out of hospital today and really even if ‘she’ can choreograph the rest of the dance in two weeks, I doubt the little girls can pick it up in time for it to be recital polished ready. It’s not the fuckin Abby Lee Dance Company after all.

Speaking of dance… tonight’s class – which I took Marina to but which a friend’s mum was bringing her home from because I had to rush back to the soccer meeting about blue and gold t-shirts and buying a team ‘tent’ and shite – a girl threw up twice, conveniently all over Marina’s tights and leotard. Fortunately Marina had her hip hop trousers in her bag and didn’t have to come home in the purple tutu. The room was evacuated, the girls made to wait outside wearing masks while the teachers scrubbed the place down, dance was cancelled and Marina was sent home with  her ‘infected’ (a chunder and shits bug is doing the rounds) clothes wrapped in newspaper, in a plastic bag, in a paper bag.  I think. I haven’t actually investigated as need to wash separately and surely it makes more sense for infectious stuffs to spend a night outside thinking about whether they want to mess with me or not.  They are on the back step.

In other news HTB boy had a meltdown at after school care yesterday and told one of the helper ladies to ‘die’ – which promptly caused an hour long discussion waiting for him to apologize, with his mum getting more and more cross and in the end it all coming to a stand still when they asked him why and he said that he gets told to ‘die’ – by whom?

My son.

FFS. Shou gets in a lot of trouble for saying it at home and he knows why its bad etc. But I do sometimes let it slip when he is playing the DS and is directing a ‘die sucker’ comment at ghost dressed like a half zebra cat with purple hooves and a horn, and whose main power is to keep his ‘keeper’ sleeping in and late for school. Or similar. I can’t ‘quite’ remember the ins and outs. HTB has just this past two weeks been bought a game with the same game. They talk about which ‘spirits’ they have taken down etc and, as 7 year old boys do, I expect there is a bit of hey die man, no you die, no you die ya turd kind of light banter back and forth between them. Lord knows the next year level still say shit like that.

Its just that HTB can give the shit but he can’t take it. He also hasn’t figured out that that kind of banter amongst friends does not mean its ok to direct it at an adult. and for the love of god son. I know apologizing is hard for a lot of kids but an hour???

I found out about this on the way back from school walking with HTB’s mum back to the cars. HTB asked her to tell Shou’s mum that Shou had to stop saying that to him. So she was just informing me…

In my head I was screaming FUUUUUUUCK WOMAN, I like you but for fucks sake your son is not without blame.

six hours later at English (Marina was home getting ready for dance and came outside for a minute while we were in the middle of backyard ‘snap’ kind of card game) HTB says to Marina, who said the name of a card in Japanese to help them, ‘korrrrrraaaaa, omae, shine’ – which is basically the same as saying ‘fuck off and die’.

And it wasn’t said in a funny haha kidding voice and he looked at me straight after saying it – knowing quite well that he’d get a bollocking from ‘sensei’.

OMG, and my bad mouthed potty son who ‘makes’ you do everything wasn’t even there.

Fuck I just want to tell his mum that really he should just go to the school in town….

Bring on New Zealand!!!

3 months and counting. Am also now taking home Junior High School student I teach English to – for a month.

 

SDGH&QL

8 Responses to “Just shit in general”

  1. Elly April 23, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

    Christ. He’s really taking the piss now with the blame-everything-on-Shou shit. 😦 Must be incredibly frustrating. Do the teachers realise what’s going on or are they taking HTB’s word as gospel too?

    Wow, you are the best teacher ever, taking one of your students back with you for a whole month!! I hope the parents are giving you a whole pile of cash, wine and chocolates for that, you thoroughly deserve it!

    Poor Marina, getting barfed on. xx

    • gaijinwife April 24, 2014 at 12:10 am #

      Very frustrating indeed – especially walking back with his mum this morning after her half blaming Shou yesterday and me getting defensive and telling her about an incident that happened as we were walking (his mum was about 30m back with his little sister). I should have just shut up. HTB slowed his walk significantly. The 4th grader behind him instinctively put up his hand as he ‘bumped’ into him. HTB half falls sideways, turns round and says ‘you pushed me, you pushed me’. I saw it all happen and said ‘no he didn’t, he bumped into you because you practically stopped and YOU tripped. That is not pushing.’ HTB then gets the devil eyes on and looks at the boy and says ‘so its started again then has it? all this bullying on the way to school’ …. I mean WT fuckin F? The older boy looks at me with a ‘WTF??’ look. HTB gets right up into his face and I have to break them apart, or rather physically remove HTB, turn him around and tell him to walk in a straight bloody line like he’s supposed to. Later, when I mentioned it to his mum she said ‘yeah, he told me the boy pushed him’ … …. I straightened her out on the facts. She got into her car and drove off and so did I… awkward!!

      Sorry, perhaps needed another post for that :p

      • Elly April 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm #

        Gahhh. Sounds like he’s developing quite the passive-agressive victim complex. One that needs to be nipped in the bud before he turns into an insufferable adult that can’t handle any kind of criticism or self-responsibility… hopefully Mr. and Mrs. HTB will start to see that.
        I think it’s a really good thing that his mum is at least getting the other side of the story from you, even if she may not want to believe it…! But what a hassle for you and Shou, and all the other kids 😦

  2. Mr sekimachihato April 23, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

    HTP sounds like such a headache and just causing extra shit that you obviously don’t need in your busy day. Sounds like the break back home will be be “the” best break away from all of this. BTW, I’m so envious of you going home especially that I’m going through a “need some Vogals toast” stage.

    Love your FFS. Can see the look on your face with these 3 letters!

    • gaijinwife April 24, 2014 at 12:11 am #

      wahoooooo, vocals with vegemite. mmmmmmm. Don’t worry, I’ll eat some for you 🙂

  3. Susan April 26, 2014 at 11:56 pm #

    OK, I had no idea what Vogels was, so I found this: http://www.kiwianarama.co.nz/vogels-bread/ Love the idea of toast as excuse for lateness!

    • judybk May 7, 2014 at 12:42 am #

      Susan, after I followed your link, I was so keen to try Vogel’s that I looked for a recipe and found this: http://kitchen-maid.blogspot.jp/2012/11/kitchen-diy-vogels-bread.html I made it last night and just had a slice for breakfast. It’s mighty good, although I can’t vouch for it’s authenticity, what with being American and never having had the real thing. It was also super easy to make. No kneading. Just throw everything into a bowl, mix, pour into a baking tin, and bake. The only different thing I did was substitute for the sunflower seeds because I couldn’t find any. Instead, I used about 1/4 cup of Kashi 7 Grain Pilaf (given a quick whir in the food processor to break it down a bit) plus 1/4 cup of chopped pumpkin seeds.

      • gaijinwife May 7, 2014 at 12:48 am #

        Thanks for that judy! I’d love to give baking it a try too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

