3 May

Sorry, I’ve been trying to find that perfect balance between translating, wine, children, ballet bollocks, house shit and our ten year anniversary, for which hub bought me some lovely flowers which promoted this conversation:

  • Marina: why did you buy mummy flowers daddy?
  • Daddy: because its..
  • Marina: I know, I know, because she’s got big boobs.

Shit we laughed and hub got some boob action so I guess the fact we made it ten years wasn’t just because I put up with more because Japanese has shit divorce laws and I’d probably lose my children if we split up. My boobs are partly responsible. Oh, and we do get on most of the time.  But a couple of the bigger blowouts might have ended less favorably had I been in NZ married to a kiwi bloke.

I have just come back from FOUR hours of dance. Tis recital day tomorrow and we can’t have a proper practice there. Despite this we do have to appear, in full hair and makeup with false eyelashes included, at the designated car park at 8:15am. The girls go on at 12. We live an hour and a half away from said location. Hair and makeup will take at least half an hour. If x equals the total sum of bitch nazi dance teacher voltage, y is the distance between home and recital, what is the value of ‘a’ squared to the number of bottles of wine it till take to recover from tomorrow?

I have no idea either, but if I have any ounce of anythingness left after tomorrow I will quite happily report it to you.

It is the middle of Golden Week here – quite often referred to as GW and not to therefore be confused with Gaijin Wife. The whole nation is not taking holidays in the name of gaijin wives, although I do think this would be just a good of an excuse for a public holiday as ‘sea day’ and ‘children’s day’. Due to the fabulous timing of recital smack bang in the middle of the four days off (Week of Golden Week obviously very loose use of word) we can only get away for one night. We are going to cross Japan’s longest pedestrian (?) swinging (?) bridge, family hot spring, see some bears, ya know, normal GW shenanigans, which may or may not involve eggplant flavored ice-cream or similar. Ya never know. Weirder things have happened.

Right, off to get kids in bath and Marina down for an early night so can cope with 5am start tomorrow!

SGDH&QL

One Response to “”

  1. Debra May 3, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    HA! That is funniest thing I’ve read all week. Congrats on the 10 years!! To many more decades of happiness for you, your hubs and the BBs.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

