Feeling Blessed

30 Jul

Feeling very blessed – and not because of health, children etc. (that’s a given)

No, Ryu’s teacher is just awesome.

A couple of days ago I went to see a woman about literacy and teaching the three kids phonics for a morning before school every week. She was lovely and everything but her homepage said she charged $35 per lesson. Yes, I was asking her to do my three kids for the 45 minute lesson – all at once, seeing as their literacy level is about the same. She said she would lower the price to $30 each and then wrote $90 on her pad. We were just nearing the end of  our meeting and I didn’t say anything but thought really? You usually get $35 for one on one and you are going to charge me $90?

I’m a teacher and there is no way I would charge that much? I’m cheap I know but come on, my kids aren’t being tutored in technical essay writing. Its flash cards and consonant sounds and singing for fucks sake.

Stuff I know I actually teach back in Japan but I was ‘hoping’ I could find someone to do it with the kids, not here at home, for a reasonable price.

This morning I was talking to Ryu’s teacher about it. As is, the ESOL teacher at the school takes all three kids out of regular classes several times a week. They go into a separate room and do English – not really phonics and basic reading and writing. More oral stuff by the sounds of it. Ryu’s teacher does a lot of phonics in class – just because it is the new entrants class and all the kids need it.

She showed me her phonics stuff and CD and it is really fabulous and she is going to get copies of all of it by Monday and I am going to try and do ten minutes at home every morning. Ten minutes I think I can manage. The mornings are pretty hectic – especially at the moment with the Japanese student here too and plumbers coming to fix leaking toilets and men coming to install broadband etc.

She then offered to give up an hour of her Saturdays to teach the kids phonics. She is just so invested in them reaching their full potential and its almost like they are becoming her personal little project. She has grand children the same age as Ryu and Marina.  She is the perfect mix of kind and firm and of course fabulous.

I have really been blessed in the teacher department. Shou’s teacher two years ago was pretty much the opposite. Just kind of put up with the kid who can’t speak English for a term. Ryu’s teacher wants to see how much they can achieve and was visibly upset when she found out today that they were only here for two terms.

Wahooo – just having a quiet celebration for one here, with my latte from down the road at the Ahuriri Cafe. And the internet man just rang and said he’ll be here in five.

Right, have an editing deadline today – and need to get out and pound some steps. The fortunate thing about living at the bottom of a hill is that I have a  workout right outside my front door.

SDGH&QL

8 Responses to “Feeling Blessed”

  1. Tash July 30, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    Fantastic! Great teachers rock!

  2. colorbynumbers July 31, 2014 at 9:04 am #

    ditto with fab teachers. Makes such a difference and your kids will have a fab and memorable experience because of it. Lordy they might not even want to go back to Japan (god forbid)..

    • gaijinwife July 31, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

      Shou’s forgetting kanji already! Despite doing a page of their summer homework every day! I’m not really looking forward to when they finish this and I have to start them on Japanese Term 2 kanji and math.

  3. Deb July 31, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

    Excellent! You sound so happy. Great to hear things are going well. $90 for 45 mins of work? Ummm that’s a bit steep, isn’t it?! I wonder if she’s amazing though? Might be worth making her a counter offer. $50-$60 would be fair I think. The older 2 will need it more than Ryu by the sound of it. Also … Wouldn’t you expect Shou and Marina to pick it up quicker? If you get targeted, accelerated tuition it’s probably a sound investment.

    • gaijinwife July 31, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

      It turns out my sister used her for her two girls and stopped after two lessons because she was so ‘mono’. She’s lovely and all but I don’t think the enthusiasm to get little kids really going is there enough for it to be worth my while. In the end Ryu’s teacher gave me the number of the ex-new entrants teacher. She has just retired. She MADE the phonics course at the school. Rang her up. She is super lovely and actually goes into the school twice a week to help the lower levels with reading – she knows Marina and Ryu already. The perfect choice. She is coming Monday’s and Wednesday’s after school from next week for half an hour. $35 a lesson. She sounds kind of like my mum and talking with her definitely made me feel like the kids would be getting a great teacher with her. Am very excited about them starting with her next week.

      That said – the $90 woman emailed back saying she had given me the price for an hour long lesson so it would be $60 instead. I had already spoken to Ryu’s teacher though and I think the right choice has been made 🙂 I don’t think I’v ever been this excited about after school activities before! Starting swimming the week after next too, and possible gym.

      • bri65 July 31, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

        Wow, you’re an inspiration. I live half way up (halfway down) a really steep long hill. I use that as my excuse to not walk. LOL

      • Deb August 1, 2014 at 2:01 am #

        Loving the sound of the retired new entrants teacher! She’ll know exactly what the kids need. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

