Kiwiana Exchange

31 Jul

So we have my Japanese English student her for just over two weeks. She arrived last Sunday and the first thing she did when we got home was flood the toilet. Poor thing. It really brought memories back because the first thing I did when I got to my host family’s house for my year of high school exchange in Shikoku was…. flood their toilet.

Well, not exactly flood. I wasn’t used to hi -tech Japanese toilets and faced with too many buttons to press I completely missed the flush placed in a normal flush position and pushed the water jet bum washing button instead. Had to sneakily run to the bathroom for towels.

Our toilet was fine all last week but on Sunday the kids all went in quick succession, al pressed the half flush not quite properly and then it started leaking up through the floor at the back – plain water mind you. Thank god. I cleaned it up, went myself and it was fine so just presumed would be fine when student went.

Apart from that she has settled in really well. She went straight into school the next day. Was super nervous in her blue school uniform and tie, which I miraculously remembered how to tie.

Today is half way through her school experience. She talks about girls who she has become friends with, was super excited when one of them started showing an interest in learning lots of Japanese words, and when she first came out with a mixture of Japanese and English. She picked up a hot cup of tea and said owchi – mixed from Ow! and Acchi!. Fortunately owchy is a completely acceptable word here πŸ™‚

I am trying to keep food new and kiwi-ish. We’ve had meat pies, sausage casserole, chicken roast, hokey pokey ice cream, she gets a small pack of cheezels or rashuns or twisties in her lunch, have also had burritos, lots of garlic aoli, honey and super multi grain bird seed bread πŸ™‚

We are off to Rotorua tonight for two nights to get away, see some of NZ (as much as possible with three small children), see a sheep show, ride some tractors, experience some Maori culture, maybe Luge and maybe jet boat. The weather isn’t looking to flash hot but.

Then next week I need to try and get my nieces to come babysit for a few afternoons after school so I can take her shopping and for a pedicure! I mentioned it and she was super excited. Can’t pedicure in Kunimi thats for sure πŸ™‚ She has finally told her friends in Japan where she is and is feverishly LINE-ing them in the evenings – apparently photo bombing her whole class with pics of seagulls and ice-cream.

Good times.

SDGH&QL

3 Responses to “Kiwiana Exchange”

  1. Polly Garter August 1, 2014 at 1:05 am #

    Hiya,
    We not only alcohol free but also have a Japanese student in common. Love your stories.You tell them so well and I can relate so much. How is the alcohol free life going???
    Love
    PG

    • gaijinwife August 1, 2014 at 2:24 am #

      Hi there πŸ™‚
      It is going very well. Am surprised at how easy it has been to just avoid it here. I have been asked to pop in for wine after Dry July but I just said I was extending to Dry August as well πŸ™‚ Hope you are doing well. Sorry I haven’t been reading your posts. We had shite internet and I have been flat tac. Will get back to it though. Good luck & have a nice weekend.

  2. Susan August 2, 2014 at 12:50 am #

    Your posts are fun AND educational! Had to google hokey pokey ice cream as I’d never heard of it. The ice cream thing made me think of a popular flavor here, Moose Tracks. Have you heard of it? I always like getting little tidbits from different countries. Hope you had lots of fun on your mini getaway. Sounds like everyone is settling in very nicely. WTG on dry July πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

