Sick, but still here

14 Aug

The last few days have been translation work free, praise the bloody lord as have felt like utter shit. Not one to take pills for things I had to cave this morning and ask my sister what a good cold and brain-hurting cough meddy was.  Seriously, every time I cough it feels like my brain will start leaking out my ears or something. Dropped the kids off at school this morning and went and picked said recommended pills up and took with scalding coffee – which I know, could quite possibly mean don’t work with caffeine but damn, who knew that  hot drinks going down the throat could be so soothing!! Is probably scalding trachea on way down and thus just numbing original pain but who cares. Think today will be a day of soup. And maybe a custard square. Have found a coffee shop with the best looking ones but haven’t bought one yet, which is silly as am pretty sure custard is age-old African cough remedy…

I very rarely get so sick I feel the need to complain but this has been a doozy. I had all the kids (and self) in bed at 6pm last night. I just wasn’t coping.  I woke up with it on Wednesday morning, half an hour before the rental cross-trainer dude dropped off the cross trainer am renting for four months. I had ‘gone out of my way’ to pick the one of the two local rental companies I thought I didn’t use last time – as quite obviously fact rented cross trainer for two months two years ago was meaningless as still weighed exactly the same. Turns out got the same company and the same guy – WHO REMEMBERED ME. Faaark.

Might be the motivation I need to show him I don’t plan on wasting the $$ this time.

Unfortunately haven’t been on it yet as too sick but have feeling am loosing weight through osmosis by just looking at it, as have lost 2kg in two days.

Despite feeling like shite I DID go to my personal trainer appointment yesterday. I am meant to go on Monday’s and Tuesday’s too but Monday was Japanese girl’s last day and we were doing last day stuff and then had to take her up to Auckland that night to get her on plane first thing Tuesday morning, so missed that gym session Tuesday too.

So yesterday I decided to go even if it meant could only do weights and no cardio, as quite possibly would have passed out and crapped off the gym’s cross trainer in really unflattering manner or something.

Tisn’t really gym – tis mum’s best friend who has fully set up home gym as is licensed personal trainer. She doesn’t do it much now but offered to help me which is awesome.

Was walking up to her place yesterday though when saw a man, back to me, at the end of her street. His back profile looked exactly like Dad, and what with being down on my whatsit hormones and things from this cold, and the puff puff walk up the hill I just lost it. Exactly same body shape, same clothes, same whiteness of hair, head shape, bloody walk. If he had been facing me I probably would have been fine but damn, that wasn’t what I was expecting. I don’t think it has happened before. I will see people around mum and dad’s ages or older and think, how nice for you all so healthy and like, not dead, but seeing a look a like is a first.

Got to gym appointment and lost it again!! Gaaahhhhh. Did get through weights though and then walked back home and snuggled into bed, to cough and splutter and swear until had to go pick up kids.

Will try and post more often. The blog world seems to have come pretty much to a stand still lately 😦

SDGH&QL

19 Responses to “Sick, but still here”

  1. colorbynumbers August 14, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    Must be going round, I seem to have the same lurgy too. Horrible horrible.
    Snuggle in bed, loads of tea, soup, and chocolate 🙂

    • gaijinwife August 14, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

      thank you 🙂 apparently there are 3 similar ones going round so is quite possible could catch them all back to back and feel like shit for weeks. Awesome. lying down seems to make the cough worse, I wish I could snuggle up sitting up! Hope you feel better soon. xxx

      • colorbynumbers August 15, 2014 at 10:08 am #

        oh and custard squares are called snot blocks (slang) here- enough to put you off?

  2. Jo August 15, 2014 at 1:17 am #

    I hope you feel better soon. Custard squares really are the solution to everything. Go and eat one for me too!

    • gaijinwife August 15, 2014 at 2:35 am #

      Thanks – the ‘gruntiest codral pills of all time’ helped a bit today but trying to hold back the coughing during the half hour assembly at the school just now just about bloody killed me. Tears streaming down one side of my face only during the Kapa Haka maori performance was, I’m not sure…. it was a moving performance but still!!

  3. Tracy August 15, 2014 at 2:31 am #

    I know exactly how you feel, I had something similar a few weeks back and it was extremely unpleasant. I am lucky in that a) my kids are older and can pretty much look after themselves and b) husband helped out and fed me, took the kids to whatever they needed to go to etc. Best think for a cough is Gees Linctus and Mucinex gets you through the day as well.

    I hope you feel heaps better soon.

    • gaijinwife August 15, 2014 at 2:38 am #

      Thanks Tracy. Felt bad for the kids. I left them on their games while I had a hot bath and none of them complained when it was lights out at 6 – and for ten minutes there I had Shou massaging my head, Marina my back and Ryu my legs…. and then I started having trouble breathing cause I was lying on my stomach so had to send them all to bed 🙂 Was a lovely thought though. Got some of that Mucinex stuff yesterday and it did a great job at un-mucasing me but nothing for the cough!

  4. Deb August 15, 2014 at 5:33 am #

    I know you’re in “the land where nobody goes to the doctor for a cold” but it sounds like you need some prescription level pharmaceuticals! One of the worst things about being in a “new” country is being so susceptible to all the bugs! I hope you’re feeling 100% better soon.

    • gaijinwife August 15, 2014 at 5:41 am #

      Meh, having a doctor for a father we never ever went to the doctor for a cold. suck that shit up! we had to be really sick (or have really won over mum) to get a day off school 🙂 For the most part I think not having the meddy is better but today’s codral was GOOOOOD. If it takes a few days and doesn’t get better better though then yes, I will go to see doctor, as last time I waited out a bad cough in Japan (like three weeks I waited) I got told I had walking pneumonia. Thank you though. Fingers crossed to 100% soon and no kids getting it 🙂

  5. Merry August 15, 2014 at 6:40 am #

    Hey girl! I really hope this blows over soon. Being sick is the worst! 😦 I have an ovarian cyst so I think I’ll get my hot pack and lie on the couch. We’ll be ill together

    • gaijinwife August 15, 2014 at 7:07 am #

      Well, on that note, I think I’ll shut the fuck up and wish you a pain free night with your hottie!!. Hope you have future remedies in place to remove said cyst. xxx

  6. Jen in Chch August 15, 2014 at 6:52 am #

    So sorry to hear you are unwell GW. Was missing you! Everyone has their favourite remedy I know, and you may not want to hear them all, but my 2 cents is Lemsip hot lemon drinks. So much cheaper than Benadryl etc – you can get them at the supermarket.
    CHUUI ichiban: there are several varieties, the one you want has Guaiphanesin in it (even if it says they’re for night take them anyway) – that’s the cough expectorant – not a cough suppressant – you want to get the crap OUT.
    CHUUI niban: they have paracetemol in them so be careful not to take any extra – dont want to OD on panadol.
    They are yummy and awesome and are my go-to for a cold with a cough. Best of luck.

    • gaijinwife August 15, 2014 at 7:05 am #

      Thanks Jen 🙂 If it persists I have a lot of remedies to try 🙂 Am surprised I didn’t go for the lemsips straight up now that you mention it!. xx

  7. littlebelgianwriter August 15, 2014 at 8:03 am #

    Nice read one of your blogs again! Get well soon though 🙂 Colds are bloody annoying, and I remember when my mum just died (over 13 years ago now) I frequently met a lady who happened to be wearing the same kind of coat. Which was weird, because my mum made her own coats. Same fabric, same cut and all … Really freaky.

    • gaijinwife August 15, 2014 at 8:05 am #

      Thank you. xxx. Yeah, seeing ‘dad’ really threw me. Amazing that another woman made the same coat as your mum! Freaky indeed. xx

  8. mimi August 17, 2014 at 12:40 am #

    Hope you are feeling much better today Katy.

    • gaijinwife August 17, 2014 at 4:18 am #

      Feeling a lot better today thanks mimi. Possibly not quite well enough to get on the cross trainer but :p

  9. Polly August 18, 2014 at 3:59 am #

    Oooh how’s that personal trainer working out? Are you losing loads of weight and looking fabulous? 🙂 hope you’re feeling better by now!
    I’d love to know how the kids are getting on in school. Do they like it more or less than Japanese school? Have they made friends? I feel like marina is probably a social butterfly with a whole group of friends, haha. Are you going to carry on the crazy soccer / dance evenings by enrol long them in NZ too?
    I hope you’re having a great time being back!

    • gaijinwife August 18, 2014 at 5:57 am #

      Personal trainer is going well – although mainly weights the last week as to cough to do loads of cardio. still many more months to fabulous. actually haven’t lost any more weight yet but tis not discouraging as am enjoying the training.
      The school is so different but all the kids are loving it. marina is not the social butterfly (yet) that you would expect. I think Ryu is probably heading that way the fastest!! All three wanted to start soccer but its the end of the season and apparently not that much training happens off season so once a week for gymnastics and once a week for swimming – and I foresee no similarities to dance mom bollocks happening 🙂 praise the bloody lord.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

