19 Aug

Have just come back from a coffee date with my sister-in-law down town. There  are always new coffee places when I come back and this one was great. Kinda retro with a great kids play area and yummy lattes. I very nearly ordered myself a full on breakfast to go with it but stayed good and just picked up sushi on the way home – from a place called TUMEKE-DON.  In Kiwi speak Tumeke means ‘Awesome’ and from what I can tell the menu here looks pretty awesome and authentic and will no doubt almost become a staple go-to place for us in the future.

I really do need to take some photos of shite aye.

Today otherwise is extremely quiet. The kids have phonics after school but thats about it. The translation break continues but hopefully not for much longer cause I wouldn’t mind the work and having something to actually do! There is only so much cleaning of a house you are only renting for 6 months that you get the urge to do ya know!

Yesterday I went in to Ryu’s class to show the kids how to write their names in Japanese and it turns out the teacher is doing a whole super cool section on Japan and next could we please do some origami.

So I hunted down origami paper at the $2 store. I should have brought a whole lot over with me because the stuff here is boooooring. Now I just need to remember how to fold a few before pick up time this arvo.

Boring post I know. Apologies. There’s only so many things one can say about fabulous lattes, coffee shops, sunny beaches, cool parks and being a semi lady of leisure at the moment!

SDGH&QL

8 Responses to “”

  1. Anonymous August 21, 2014 at 6:40 am #

    Aozora in Ahuriri is the real deal Japanese sushi place – perhaps the ONLY real deal in HB. You can do orders/requests also – they sell out quite early. I found Tumeke-don too……westernised….. (Kirsten)

    • gaijinwife August 21, 2014 at 7:22 am #

      Went to Aozora today and they are ordering me in some natto 🙂 Shou will be a happy boy. Also got their work and home phone numbers. Have bought sushi there before and was ma ma, tumeke-don does good daily special obentos which look nom nom.

  2. Brenda in Nagano August 22, 2014 at 1:48 am #

    I hope you’re feeling better. Let me know if you want me to send over origami paper or anything else that’s cheaper and easier to source over here.

    • gaijinwife August 26, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

      Thanks Brenda 🙂 It would seem that Japanese week is over and now they are on to Samoa and then India 🙂 There is a good little cultural mix in Ryu’s class and the motto for the entire school for the next few weeks is ‘accepting and understanding cultural differences’ which is cool.

  3. Susan August 22, 2014 at 4:40 am #

    No, not boring. It’s wonderful that you sound sooooo relaxed. Glad you are enjoying your time back home in NZ.

    • gaijinwife August 26, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

      Thanks Susan. To be honest I’m getting took relaxed. I want some work to come in! xx

  4. Deb August 25, 2014 at 7:41 am #

    Boring in the best possible way! You sound happy and relaxed. Are you missing your husband at all? 😉

    • gaijinwife August 26, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

      Yes 🙂 But it took a good three weeks :p

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

