4 Sep

Gaaah, posting every singly day is going to be hard!

The other day, as the kids were bickering full force in the car, I reversed into a concrete pillar and ripped half the back bumper off the car – as in, there is a rip line in the middle of the bumper and it is a shear miracle the whole thing didn’t just pull straight off.

After yelling at the kids, cause clearly it was their fault, I did my best to McGyver the bumper back into place. This involved a lot of swearing and no duct tape, dive rolls or singlets.

I somehow managed to get it to a state where, if you were driving 10km behind me, in thick fog, in the middle of the night, you wouldn’t know my bumper was completely  fucked up.

Today I drove up to my sister’s place to pick up some mail and get a new book. My brother in law, slash real McGyver, was home and told me to make myself a cuppa while he just ‘took a look’ at my bumper.

Well, fuck. You’d never know I ripped the thing off in the first place.

I actually think THIS is one of the things I miss the most about NZ. Kiwi blokes who can actually do shit. DIY, fix a car, paint a deck… they just seem to be able to do more shit. AND THEN my brother in law carried all my shit out to the car for me.. before I even had a chance to do it myself.

Which I don’t mind – cause it was a big box and it was just a given kind of thing. As opposed to a ‘hey, weak woman, let me show that I am he-man by taking this box for you huuuuha’….

NICE

KIWI blokes Winning.

On that note though, my particular Japanese bloke is also winning as he sent a huge box of home goodies for us. It is all hidden away as the kids DS games are still ‘up at Aunty Nor’s’ and a lot of the stuff is related to the games. We are waiting for good behavior first – and then I will start drip feeding them the ramen and sweets from Japan… 🙂

SDGH&QL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “”

  1. Debra September 4, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

    As I always say, “bumpers are for bumping”! (my husband just LOVES that….)

    • gaijinwife September 6, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

      haha – true. Save you shitting up the main bit of the car!

  2. Mr sekimachihato September 4, 2014 at 11:13 pm #

    Shit I think I’m turning Japanese…
    A while back I was reversed into a coin-parking barrier thing. I have a reversing camera thingy in my car so lord knows how I didn’t see it on the navi-screen.
    Being the “kiwi bloke” I am I should have some a McGyver move but instead the first thing I did was to search on my phone where I could get it fixed and how much it would cost!

    • gaijinwife September 6, 2014 at 6:39 pm #

      Just the fact that you reversed in means you are turning Japanese :p and I swear those reversing cameras can shit you over. I still can’t use ours properly and really only use it to make sure I aren’t about to run over a two year old in the kinder car park. Fortunately in Japan, married to a Japanese wife, you aren’t expected to get your DIY on that much, but remember when you come home you’ll just look like a pussy….. (feel like can take piss out of you more whilst technically living in NZ) xx

  3. hamakkomommy September 5, 2014 at 4:30 am #

    Japanese men in general just don’t seem to have the handyman gene, nor do they assume the responsibility to kill any random wildlife that gets into the house. My dad could fix/ kill just about anything. Or at least he would try. I’m torn between being thankful my husband is willing to call the pros and not make it worse, and cursing him for leaving me at home after seeing a cockroach.

  4. Anonymous September 5, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

    Okay, for once I have to brag about my hub a bit. He is extremely handy. Which can come in, well, handy, because he is also very ketchi. He fixed the huge scrape and dent in the back side of my car when I backed into the electric pole next to our driveway as the kids were bickering a few years ago. The dent is still visible if you look and the automatic door is a bit wonky, but it’s been good enough for 3 years. He also built our chicken house, installs sinks, fixes electric wiring, kills mice living in our walls and nutria eating our veg, etc etc.

    • deleted September 5, 2014 at 12:52 pm #

      Oops, that was me, Xana in Gifu

    • gaijinwife September 6, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

      Xana, you are a lucky lady! Well, not on the ketchi front but as long as the money gets used when it has to be and he can compensate by DIY-ing the rest then hey, at least you’ll be saving 🙂 Now, ask him if he can do a dive roll and make an explosive out of duct tape and then call him McGyver 🙂

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

