If it doesn’t rain…

8 Sep

it bloody pours doesn’t it!

7:03 am and I am in here on my second coffee doing some of a translation that I got at 7pm last night and which is due today. I knew it was coming and actually it isn’t so bad that I feel the need to devote a whole post to whining about it. I have done two out of the three files and will drop the kids at school, gym, and then go have nice Latte while I do the third file. Perhaps I’ll then do the supermarket shopping, fold some washing and clean up before doing a final read and sending it off. Another one waits in line but that isn’t due until Friday.

We had a full night sleep last night – everyone. That would be four out of four whole persons in the house. Quite the feat after the last week. Marina was awake at 5 wanting pain relief for her cystic something or rather swollen gum. I know some people who would classify 5am as the middle of the night but really tis start of new day. Isn’t it? Am pretty sure half of the vestlings in Japan are up planting daikon at that hour.

So, Marina’s tooth… started hurting the night before so she spent an hour sucking on ice cubes before falling asleep. I got her a lunch time appointment yesterday at the area school dental nurse. She took one look and referred us to the dentist in town. She has one small filling in a baby tooth that has become infected or the nerve has reacted or something. Her body was probably coping until she got sick and her immune system got a dealing to and now she has a puss-filled gum and bloody hell, when you know you can actually tell from just looking her. I feel terrible for not picking up on it. Poor thing. We got some antibiotics and child pain relief. It should go down a bit and then they will pull the tooth completely.

Really, its quite bloody traumatic – well, the thought is for me. Marina got half the day off school and some stickers and is non the wiser that next week her tooth is getting pulled.

To top it off they couldn’t find her national health insurance number – because I don’t think she has one. It will be interesting to see how that pans out. Dental care is free for kids here (although the word resident got thrown around a bit) but I’m not sure if it covers all of this. We have insurance and their Japanese insurance should cover it too but not immediately of course.

Anyhoo, keeping an eye on it for the next 48 hours because if it actually gets worse she will need a general anesthetic and have to get it drained before the weekend.

Right, time to feed and dress the kids.

SDGH&QL

 

9 Responses to “If it doesn’t rain…”

  1. Grace September 8, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    Ouch! Poor Marina 😦 hopefully the antibiotics will work and then the dentist can quickly flick out the offending tooth next week.
    Good to hear from you, hope you are enjoying your NZ times.

    • gaijinwife September 10, 2014 at 2:33 am #

      Thanks Grace. I think the drugs are working. Dentist again tomorrow.

  2. Jo September 8, 2014 at 10:13 pm #

    Sounds like you have been having more than your fair share of dramas lately. I guess if you want to look on the positive side of things at least it happened in a country where the dentists wear gloves! I hope it all pans out okay and you are back on your deckchair scoffing custard squares by the end of the week.

    • gaijinwife September 10, 2014 at 2:34 am #

      do you know I still haven’t actually had one of the most fabulous custard squares ever – from the cafe down the road. They are so big I feel too stink to buy one and the one time I did brave up and went there specifically they were all gone!

  3. Ang September 9, 2014 at 9:33 am #

    Hey, Blake had exactly the same thing – ulcerated gum under a big filling and tooth was pulled. Wasn’t overly traumatic for him aged 8. So don’t worry too much!

    • gaijinwife September 9, 2014 at 10:36 am #

      good to hear – although am sure technical name had cyst in it – one of which she fricken ‘pulled off’ herself this evening. Cue tears and ‘OMG, I’m going to die’… … Maybe its less overly traumatic for boys who can game and take their mind off it – in all seriousness. Shou just forgets shit when he is on his DS. Marina gets dramatic and refuses to do anything, let alone eat, cause that might make that cyst explode!! I haven’t told her the tooth is getting pulled yet…. 😦

  4. Tracy September 10, 2014 at 1:37 am #

    Blimey, it certainly has been full on for you. I hope she isn’t in too much pain, pro wee thing. I suspect that it isn’t free if the kids are not NZ residents, not really sure how it works, it should be considered an emergency so covered by travel insurance. Hopefully no more dram shall occur. You should be damn proud of yourself having to deal with this without hubby there to help.

    • gaijinwife September 10, 2014 at 2:35 am #

      Thanks Tracy. I am ‘hoping’ that if they say anything else about it tomorrow then I can just go and register as a resident. Can’t be hard. Only took my one piece of paper and two minutes to de-register myself years ago. Fingers crossed.

      • takajolily September 10, 2014 at 7:47 am #

        Good luck! You are technically a resident right now, so it should be okay. Never got over my silly sister slipping that I actually lived in Japan, as I had to start paying after that! Hope they’ve forgotten that little bit by the time I go back next!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

