Horrible, horrible

9 Oct

Had an experience today that was horrible. Just horrible. One of those, blink of an eye, life is precious, must slow down and smell the roses, must be nicer to kids, must drink ten bottles of tequila in quick succession to recover, kind of experiences.

Tis the second week of the school holidays and we are in Taupo – lovely city a couple of hours north of where we are living. Have been catching up with best friends from high school and today my sister, who is also here after spending the week looking after Marina last week, and tomorrow – quite randomly, with uni friends who we just happened to pass as I dropped my sister off and said uni friend was taking her son to the toilet. Was bizzare. They live like 3 hours away and neither of us knew the other would be here!

Anyhoo, sister is staying at a Time Share – which I’m not sure if is NZ thing. 51 people went in on purchasing something like 14 units slash apartments and then have turn on turn off holidays there. Right on the lake front and great if you have family and all meet there every year kind of thing. Has a communal games room and lounge and pool too.

So the kids all went in the big pool. My kids have never been in a pool they can’t touch the bottom of. Shou and Marina are getting a lot more capable and can swim the length of the pool now but are used to being able to stand up mid way.

 

Shou jumped straight in and got a fright that it was so deep and then started swimming survivor style to the other side. I was so busy watching him and wondering if I was going to have to jump in to rescue him that I didn’t realize Marina and Ryu had done exactly the same thing about two seconds later – very quietly at the other end of the pool.

When I turned to them Marina was flailing arms above the water and Ryu, my little baby, was fully submerged and wriggling with no chance of getting above water.

God it was horrific – like what you see on TV when they ‘re-enact’ someone drowning. How the fuck do they do that anyway?

I ran over and was about to jump in when the husband of the couple also there watching their children (who had also been voicing their concern over whether Shou would actually make it to the other side), ran past me and said I’ll go in.

So in he went.

And pulled my little white, blue lipped (perhaps slight exaggeration by panicky mum as son obviously not been under water long enough to turn blue) baby out of the pool.

And Marina – who was OK but still in shock at not being in a pool she could stand in and panicking rather than using her swimming arms. Her and Shou were both swimming back and forth seconds later.

But I had to hold Ryu and try not to cry and thank the man who jumped in and, and….

After ten minutes of consoling and the boy wanted to go back in – so I let him. On the shallow ramp bit. And I didn’t take an eye off him as he laughed and played for 15 minutes, until I could convince him the hot tub in the room was really niiiiice.

When I went to purchase those ten bottles of tequila (slash one bottle of Mt Difficulty (seemed appropriate) wine) the poor lady on the register asked me how my day had been.

And I told her.

She must be a mother. I thought she looked compassionate anyway, because I left that bottle store and we both had tears in our eyes.

I now understand when people say they just ‘looked away for a second’ and a drowning happened. I will never ever say under my breath as I watch the news ‘bet the stupid mother was on her phone or texting or not paying attention enough’……

Sweet dreams you lot.

Stay safe, and above water

 

xxx

11 Responses to “Horrible, horrible”

  1. Tash October 9, 2014 at 8:08 am #

    Oh how awful! But yet also lucky that you were there and watching, and that they all had that experience to remind them they aren’t bulletproof and that’s why they go to swimming lessons. It’s amazing how quickly they think they can swim… until they’re in a situation where they can’t touch the bottom and realise actually they can’t. Lucy still tries to tell me she can swim, so she can get out of swimming lessons. But it’s a non-negotiable in my mind and that’s exactly why. Good outcome, scary experience 😦 ((((Fellow-mum hugs)))) xxxx

  2. Oyomesan October 9, 2014 at 8:37 am #

    Oh god – awful!!!!! With 3 kids all copying eachother and outdoing eachother in daredevilry – horrible. You are a great mum and it is just one of those things that can happen so easily – imagine how terrible it must be for teachers or baby sitters if something starts going scarily wrong. Wow. So glad he was none the worse for it. Time share sounds wonderful….

  3. japanmama October 9, 2014 at 11:12 am #

    Eek, you poor thing! Must have been really horrible. Glad everyone was ok. How was the wine…?

  4. Tracy October 9, 2014 at 11:24 pm #

    Thank God they are all OK. I cannot imagine how sick you must have felt, no matter how vigilant we are the slitter darlings can be pretty damn quick. Ryu obviously was not traumatised by the whole thing (unlike his poor Mother) since he was happy to stay in the water. Apart from that, I hope you are having an awesome time.

  5. Jen in Chch October 10, 2014 at 4:43 am #

    Terrifying. Glad Ryu was ok (eventually). I remember doing school swimming sports (Gonville Pool in Wanganui) many years ago – a girl started floundering during her race and it took some time to realise she was in serious trouble. Our principal kicked off his shoes and dove in fully-clothed to rescue her. I dont think I’ve ever heard a crowd go from dead silence to deafening cheering so quickly. I picture the man in your story doing the same thing – hope you could share the wine!

  6. hamakkomommy October 10, 2014 at 6:06 am #

    Glad he is okay, and that you didn’t have a heart attack. Something very similar happened to Y at a pool last year, and I still haven’t gotten over it!

  7. Susan October 12, 2014 at 3:01 am #

    Just read this, oh my, I am so sorry that you had such a terrible scare and so glad that things turned out OK. When my daughter was 3 I lost her on the beach. Just looked away for a second – she was sitting there digging in the sand with her brother and cousins, and the next instant she was nowhere in sight. She is now 30 and I still vividly remember how awful it was and my fear & panic until she was found (thankfully OK). This is why mothers go grey!

  8. Susan October 12, 2014 at 3:02 am #

    Meant to say that l
    etting Ryu go right back in the water was exactly the right move!

  9. Merry October 13, 2014 at 5:50 am #

    Oh my gosh! Scary. I’m so glad your babies are okay! Loads of extra hugs for mine tonight!

  10. Ruth October 13, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Oh my God I felt panicked just reading that. That’s horrendous! Glad everyone was safe and you were the only one mentally scarred!

  11. Nay October 15, 2014 at 11:16 am #

    Omg that must have been horrifying for you!!! I am so sorry you had to deal with that… As you know I also had a terrifying moment last week and it is still playing around with my head. I hope you are being kinder to yourself than I am to me…

    BIg big hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

