Catching Up

10 Nov

Would you believe it is only something like 37 sleeps till daddy gets here and another 10 after that till we go home to coldness and soggy shiitake mushrooms, bow tied kombu and other Japanese New Year’s delicacies.

I thought I was ready to leave but then we started getting better weather and I had a butter chicken last night, and the left overs just now for breakfast along with a proper coffee and dang, I need the clock to stop for a minute.

The kids are enjoying school and bringing home some English gems…

  • In the space of about three days Shou has told me to both ‘just calm down’ and ‘get a life mum’.
  • Yesterday Marina complained because ‘I’m cold and hungry mum’ – which out of context might seem like a good enough reason to ring social services but the girl had just gotten out of the pool and refused to get change, thus meaning we had to drive home in her wet togs, where I then ran a bath and got the rice on for sushi. I think there was a window there of about 38 seconds where neither the bath or dinner were ready according to her majesty’s desired schedule.
  • Ryu dreams in English pretty much every night. I know because he keeps yelling shit out at 2am, like ‘No, this way’ and ‘I can do it’ etc etc. I have yet to figure out what the dreams are about but he has started adding random crocodiles to his pictures…

Random crocodile

On the work front I am having a bit of a lull but as I am still on track for the month I am enjoying the sunny weather instead of begging for more work. It will come. I have had a good few months and the fact I’m not seeing any of the hard earned yen until I get back to Japan is a bonus. Should provide some New Year goings on padding to the bank account – unless of course hub has my card and has guessed the pin – in which case it might all be hanging out having a party at pachinko.

I have had a couple of genuine texts from Japanese friends wondering if I really am ever coming back. It makes me think that despite being fluent, perhaps I didn’t quite get across the ‘See you at the end of the year and yes, English starts again in January’ bit… ? I do miss the goings on of rural Japan life which is strange as I think it is probably getting into daikon season – and that means trying to think of new and creative ways to work with daikon cause Granny K grows about ten fields of them.

Talking of vegetables – Ryu and Marina are entering a vegetable animal competition this Friday as part of the school’s annual food and wine festival being held that evening – yes, the primary school they attend has a food and WINE festival, including double decker bus rides, mammoth bouncy castles and bouncy slides, food stalls, an auction, a cake stall and a hangi. If ya’all don’t know what a hangi is then go look it up. Tis delicious stone cooked goodness traditional to our Maori culture and heritage.

I have to bake a slice – or rather, I have put my hand up to bake a slice and to help out on the Friday during the day. I need to put in a practice run of said slice today, although am pretty sure have fool proof recipe of yumminess.

Right, best get to it.

Hope all is well in the land of the rising sun or wherever you may be.

SDGH&QL

9 Responses to “Catching Up”

  1. heather November 11, 2014 at 12:36 am #

    what’s your Kiwi addy? I got 7 daikon in my genkan, three by the back door and I haven’t even started digging up my own yet. >_<

    Love following your adventures. 🙂

    • gaijinwife November 11, 2014 at 1:50 am #

      haha, no thanks. What are you going to do with them all? Perhaps you could try and peel them into various awesome shapes and try and start a new trend. Who needs pumpkins when you can have daikon carving :p

  2. Kym November 11, 2014 at 2:20 am #

    I think you did get your message across to your J friends, but they’re just wondering if you’ve changed your mind 😉 It’s starting to get a bit cold and miserable here, and they probably want to flee the country themselves! Enjoy the last few weeks of your trip. 🙂

    • gaijinwife November 11, 2014 at 2:28 am #

      yeah, true. Need to stop sending them pics of my tanned toes and yummy lattes 🙂

  3. Jo November 11, 2014 at 4:57 am #

    Good to hear the kiwi side of things is being experienced to the full! Things have got a lot more upmarket than when I was at school though… we had vegetable animals and sand-saucer gardens… but no bouncy castles or bus rides!
    You may be wanting to stop the clock, but I’m counting down the days till you get back!

    • gaijinwife November 11, 2014 at 6:15 am #

      I do wish I was there to visit you and walk those 88 stairs a few times 🙂 Hopefully (everything crossed), I’ll be visiting you at home sometime around the 29th!!

  4. Heda November 11, 2014 at 9:14 am #

    That’s a pretty damn good picture that Ryu drew.

    • gaijinwife November 11, 2014 at 5:53 pm #

      Thank you Heda. He’s my little lefty artist. Loves coloring and drawing, tracing.

  5. amelia32a November 16, 2014 at 12:40 pm #

    Recipe? 😀

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

