29 Nov

Another sunny, but windy, weekend here in the Bay. I have just made brunch for the kids and I – poached eggs and bacon on toast. I didn’t use to make this very often in Japan, with the kids favoring cereal or rice with raw egg and fermented shit beans, but I think weekend brunch might have to become a new family tradition. The kids are at the age now (fuck, I never thought I would actually survive motherhood to get to actually say this) where they get up on their own, come out and play somewhat companionably, somewhat quietly and somewhat cleanly, while I snore on in peaceful slumber after a night out drinking wine and eating braised pork with a selection of vegetables and herbs I can’t pronounce.

Of course when I come out of my pit at 9am I inevitably stand on ten pieces of lego and over three empty yoghurt pottles on the way to the kitchen. They are now watching Scooby Dooby Do and waiting another half hour till we can Skype daddy. Actually, Shou has just come over with the Monopoly New Zealand Edition so it looks like we’ll be doing that!

SDGH&QL

Later – so we played some Monopoly and then went swimming at my sister’s and generally harassing my nieces and their friends and boyfriends. My middle niece has a boyfriend called John (his real name) and my three would pretty much follow him over hot coals, nails, and possibly past the pit bull which may or may not eat their face off. He is the pied piper of some county he never knew he was the pied piper of. He even got Ryu in the pool today – the first time since he nearly drowned about two months ago. And when I got back from doing my sister’s shopping (we traded – my three kids for her shopping list), Ryu ran up to me and asked, in English, if he could show me his swimming. He did have every inflatable piece of pool equipment possible but still, he got in the pool all by himself and kicked to the end and back – proud as punch he was. Bless him.

After some lunch and a wee 3DS gaming interlude at home we headed out to the beach and some fresh air with friends and naked two year olds. Now we are home, there is some Ice Age on TV – but why the start the ‘Family Movie’ at 7pm I don’t know, cause my kids aren’t watching all of that. It’s bloody Sunday. I’m over them, they are over me and we all need an early night.

xxx

3 Responses to “”

  1. Susan November 30, 2014 at 1:05 am #

    I remember reaching that point, where the kids would get up and entertain themselves without trashing the house/making someone bleed. Bliss! Enjoy 🙂 See, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and it isn’t from a train headed your way!

  2. Mari November 30, 2014 at 5:48 am #

    Hi Kathy!
    I love reading your blog, and I am a gaijin wife in Japan too, so I nominated you for the Liebster Award on my blog (http://lifethejapaneseway.wordpress.com/). Hope you don’t mind and sorry for sounding like spam lol
    Cheers, Mari

  3. heather December 1, 2014 at 2:07 am #

    I loooooooooooove that my kids get up and do their own thing in the mornings. ❤ Wait for the next stage when they arrange playdates for 8am though. @_@

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

