Award Questions from Mari

3 Dec

Mari from over at An Australian Wife in Japanย has nominated me for one of these. Thank you Mari ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t been nominated for anything for a very very long time and in fact I would like to just believe that these aren’t hurling round the internet at great speeds like they used to. My blogging mojo currently sways between ‘really need to get back into it’ and ‘everyone else is stopping so…’ and perhaps even ‘well I’ve had some wine now and either I’ll completely nail it with fabulousness or I’ll have to wake up and delete it’ …. … deaf5-liebster2bawardI’m meant to answer the following questions penned by Mari and then nominate more blogs for the award. A lot of my usual blog reading fodder has stopped because it seems life continues on while blogs are forgotten. I would like Jo to give this a go though – just because I know you have a bit of time at the moment and your current situation might lead to interesting answers ๐Ÿ™‚ You can keep Mari’s questions to me cause I can’t be assed thinking up new ones ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Are you a morning person or a night owl?

Both. I like my own time at night but having small kids in the house still has me up early to help them get their shit ready for school. At least in NZ we don’t need to be out of the door until 8:30 – a whole hour after we need to be out in Japan.

2. What is your favorite season and why?

Spring in either country and New Zealand summer. Japanese summer sucks monkey nuts. I don’t do oversized spiders and my oversized boobs and other bodily bits means I have to swear a lot to get on my shape minimizer underwear in the goddamn humidity.

3. If you can chose between time and money, which would you chose?

This is hard. At the moment I probably have a bit of both and all I want is my husband. I’m sure when I’m back in Japan and into my hectic schedule there with hub doing overtime I’ll be gagging for some me time, a kebab, and possibly ten bottles of wine while in the fetal position under the stairs.

4. What do you think is the greatest thing about yourself?

At the moment, not much. Being a single parent is hard and it is easy to compare yourself and find fault. The work is also only trickling in which is just fuckin depressing. I mean, I know I’m fabulous, especially after a few glasses of wine, but it would be nice to have the people you do the most stuff for, actually acknowledge it every now and again.

5. What is your favorite country and where would you like to go to next?

Obviously I am torn between New Zealand, my then home and Japan, my now home – although this is confusing in itself because I am actually right now living in NZ. Meh, you all understand. Next I will be going to Japan via 45 minutes in Korea carrying the kids rugby ball style as we make a mad dash down the 2km of the Seoul airport to our transfer gate – does that count? On my wish list of countries to go to however is Italy. Or Ireland. I wouldn’t mind going to Ireland for a wedding….. (hint hint European Stylist)

6. Cat person or dog person?

Dog. We only have a cat but I want a dog and have kind of almost semi promised the kids one when we get back ๐Ÿ™‚ That said, I think I dislike little yapper dogs worse than cats – which I don’t actually dislike. Confusing. OK. I am a dog person minus the fuckin annoying little yapper dogs.

7. What makes you most happy in life?

Seeing my kids speak English, my fabulous network of friends and, at times, my dysfunctional family :p

8. If you could change your past, what would you like to change?

That is kind of like saying what do you dislike about your present. After you’ve had kids it is hard to say you would change the path of anything that happened in the past. ย Ummmmm. Not sure really. I wish I’d had more time with mum before she went dongy and was able to go on her last girls weekend she went on with my sisters -where they maxed out the eftpos card and dad got declined buying a newspaper and pie in Auckland.

9. What is your favorite color and why?

I would have usually said blue – just because it has always been my favorite color but now I would probably say black or tangerine, but that’s probably because I’m pushed for a good answer and my toes are painted tangerine.

10. Would you want to be famous?

Not in the flesh. I wouldn’t mind being an author but I think I’m too lazy to get round to writing anything worth publishing.

11. The last compliment you got?

Friends were here over the weekend and I got compliments on the tops I had on on both occasions. Nice. Actually come to think of it – I was borrowing the receptionists computer at my sister’s work – to submit my passport renewal application form (because stupid fuckin site doesn’t like safari and I had to use a pleb microsoft computer) and a couple of agents came in and commented on how I definitely wasn’t the usual receptionist. I think they were probably just looking at my tits so not sure if this constitutes a compliment.

Anyhoo, another beautiful day in the Bay today. 2 weeks to the day until hub gets here. I rang him this morning and he said it was bloody well snowing in Oita ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Gaaaaaah. I spent the day dosing round, exercising, enjoying the ocean air, buying shoes (and contemplating buying those sneakers with the rollers on them for the kids for christmas – anybody bought any? thoughts?), supervising swimming – Ryu dog paddling with three inflatable devices and Marina trying to learn how to ‘bomb’ properly. The kids have just had sushi and I have had a chicken salad and now, a glass of cold sav.

SDGH&QL

9 Responses to “Award Questions from Mari”

  1. Debra December 3, 2014 at 5:55 pm #

    Do keep blogging! Checking out your blog is an important part of my morning internet snacking routine. I love hearing about your life in NZ/Japan. What are people doing now instead of blogging? Tweeting? Instagraming?

    • gaijinwife December 4, 2014 at 8:16 am #

      haha, will try and keep it somewhat frequent ๐Ÿ™‚ But what are people doing? About five years ago I got nothing done cause I had all this blog fodder to read and now I have to actually do shit and its annoying :0)

  2. heather December 4, 2014 at 12:46 am #

    roller shoes? Multiple pairs??? You live in a modern house so maybe it’s not such an issue but I got them for the girls for winter exercise that doesn’t require multiple waterproof layers.

    Anyway, the kids get really good at starting and accelerating really really quickly. Stopping withjout the aid of walls to crash into takes more time. Wayyy more time. For this reason roller shoes whizz whizz crash is like chalk on a blackboard sounds to me.

    • gaijinwife December 4, 2014 at 8:17 am #

      Hmmmm, OK. I hadn’t thought about breaking. They are all very capable at scattering – would this be a benefit in roller shoeing do you think? And what exactly do you mean about the modern house and why does it make it different? they don’t wear shoes inside, here in NZ either.

  3. Mari December 4, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    Ohhh thanks so much for participating!! I am super happy and excited, I love your blog!!
    Yes, you ARE fabulous ๐Ÿ˜€

    • gaijinwife December 4, 2014 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks for tagging me ๐Ÿ™‚ And opening me up to your blog and another blogger who actually blogs. Huurah.

  4. amelia32a December 4, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    Try downloading Chrome for your Mac ๐Ÿ™‚

    • gaijinwife December 4, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks Amelia. I have Chrome already and it was a no go as well. I tried resetting everything on everything – which really just fucked me over when I went to go back and do things that required passwords which I had forgotten. All sorted now though. New passport with world’s ugliest mug shot in my hot little hand ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Susie December 12, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

    I have used Heely’s and they are FUN! I actually picked up a pair for the step-kiddo last weekend. I have a sinking suspicion he won’t “like” it because it’s something new. Just as luck would have it the little booger and I are wearing the same size shoe right now. Hell I will use them. Fair warning though, resist the urge of letting the kids wear theirs to the store. Things WILL break and you will NOT be happy. Great to play with and run around to burn off sugar energy though. Go for it~!

    It’s been a while but I have been lurking and hope you have a great Christmas. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

