End of Year Concert

10 Dec

The kids really have had a great experience at this school. The teachers are great, the kids are great, the activities are great – so great in fact that Shou said it would suck going back to the regimented Japanese school schedule after five months of holiday!

Tonight they had the end of year Christmas concert, for which about 400 parents, grandparents, siblings, and crying babies packed into a hall to watch 250 kids sing renditions of Frosty the Snowman and We Are The World. It was fabulous, it really was, and I even found myself wiping a tear away when the kids handed flowers to the teachers leaving at the end of the year – possibly because one of them was Marina’s teacher and possibly because I’m a complete sook when it comes to that kind of thing. I’m going to be a dribbling mess on the kids last day of school next Thursday!  Gaaaahhhhh (watch this dribbling space).

Also today the kids came home with their school pics which were pretty fabulous. They don’t do individual school pics in Japan – I don’t think…. ? They also got a sibling pic taken and class photos so great memories all round I think.

I ALSO got told that at tomorrow’s final awards assembly all three kids are getting a shining star award. Kids can earn shining stars and when you get three you get a special award at assembly and bloody praise the lord I have all three getting one on the same day. Huurah. Shou and Ryu haven’t had one yet but the one time Marina got one the other two were pissed. It could be a well orchestrated thing on the part of the teachers – it wouldn’t surprise me – they are that cool.  Either way proud mama bear watching that tomorrow 🙂

Right before I meet my sister to go bra shopping, followed closely by getting my make up done, my hair done, and professional photos taken so I can upload them onto translation websites 🙂

Followed by wine.

And possibly a butter chicken, and a naan.

And possibly more wine.

SDGH&QL

 

12 Responses to “End of Year Concert”

  1. Ruth December 10, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    Even if they did have class pics in Japan you’d probably end up with one of those robotic, “nobody show any emotion” ones!

    • gaijinwife December 10, 2014 at 7:13 pm #

      And I think I’ve realized what else it is – apart from the fact the teachers and most of the kids are smiling – color! The only thing I can compare it to in Japan is the photo that got taken of children and parents after the school entrance ceremony. The boys in their little suits and the girls in their white or pink or red. All very serious and sombre. In the pic of the three kids the cameraman has told Marina and Ryu to put a hand on their hip (Shou is in the middle) – haha, it’s quite awesome.

  2. Jo December 10, 2014 at 10:47 am #

    I love the school photos the kids had taken when they were there. The only Japanese ones they ever have are the group photos on the first and last day of their school lives…
    So glad that all the kids have had such a great experience. It will be interesting to see how they settle back into the Japanese routine.

    • gaijinwife December 10, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

      It will be interesting to see how we all settle back in to the cold and flu season in our house with low ceilings and small rooms! Always feels a bit like entering noddy land going back 🙂 And yay for you on the computer at HOME!! Nice. See you soon.

  3. Tracy December 10, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

    I am glad I am not the only one who gets all soppy at school concerts and assemblies. My kids are teenagers & I still do.

    • gaijinwife December 11, 2014 at 8:36 am #

      so you mean I will remain this soppy for years to come!! gaaaah. tis so emotional. Next Thursday will be crazy emotional shit 😦

      • Tracy December 11, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

        I am afraid so. I still get all teary when I see my son perform which when he is in a bar at open mic night can get a bit embarrassing – for both of us:-). I even get teary when my friends kids perform, luckily I am usually backstage in the dark so no one can actually see me – the Little Mermaid is not supposed to make me cry!!!

  4. SD December 11, 2014 at 2:05 am #

    It is so nice to read all your recent posts. You sound so happy and relaxed! Great choice to take a break and have the children experience life outside Japan 😀 May the positive feelings flow back to Japan!!

    • gaijinwife December 11, 2014 at 8:36 am #

      I hope so. Only time will tell I guess but fingers crossed 🙂

  5. Mrs. N December 11, 2014 at 12:10 pm #

    Howdy! Just catching up! I’ve been lurking for a bit though…You seem so happy there. I’m hoping that you can carry that back here. The kids seem to really love school there-I’m also hoping they will adjust well coming back. All the best to you guys ! xxoo

    • gaijinwife December 11, 2014 at 6:28 pm #

      Ohisashiburi! It has been both a great and tiring 5 months! But only 5 more sleeps till hub arrives. Not really looking forward to going back to the snow and flu jabs but am excited about seeing everyone again and getting back into our routine.

  6. Susie December 12, 2014 at 7:24 pm #

    I do hope you share your picture when the photo shoot is done. My sis and I did sibling shots on our cruise, I will upload them hopefully in the next week. It was fun aside from what looks like greasy hair cause I had a scalp massage a bit before the pics. But who cares, we had fun and so what if I look greasy? ;0)

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

