Girl’s Day

11 Dec

I met my sister at one o’clock and we set off for our girls day – or rather her fabulously organized schedule that would see me getting preened and pampered for my photos, followed by, as per my prediction, wine and butter chicken!

First stop was the bra shop – a place I haven’t been for a long long time. Living in Japan my only real options in the bra department are online and for the past few years I have been in this corset type thing. It has like ten hooks and because I have trouble doing even one hook up behind my back I have to pull it down over my head. It does absolutely nothing for my boobs but I like that tight, constricted feeling it gives to make you feel all pulled in down to the waist. I was quite possibly meant to be born in the era of corset dresses. I guess kimonos feel like that too but kimono’s aren’t that great for boobs and last time I wore one (on my wedding day), the lady wound my boobs flat.

But that was ten years ago, before three babies wrecked havoc on my boobs and I put on weight! I really needed a proper bra or two – which I found. The lady was lovely – guessed my size just by looking at me and putting her hands on my back. Magic powers of boob guessing. And guess what? A good bra devides and separates. Tis amazing. I now have two separate boobs with a proper cleavage and not a mono squash. Love it!

After the bra shop was the hairdressers, where I got a red copper rinse through my hair, a wee cut, and a style. Left with some voluminous, glossy, straight hair about an hour and a half later and walked round the corner to the chemists to get my makeup done. I felt a bit like a drag queen but the lady assured me that you had to go a bit overboard on things like blusher if the makeup was for photos. Considering I never wear foundation, blush, or bright lipstick, it was all a bit of a shock but nobody stared too much walking back to my sister’s work, where the photography lady was setting up.

I don’t particularly like my professional pics but understand that one of those is far more appropriate for my online resume than a selfie I’ve taken with a glass of wine! IMG_6320 You can’t really tell but my hair also nearly matches my lippy and glasses! I sent this to hub and he said ‘that’s nice, love you’ to which I replied ‘see you six sleeps. Bring condoms’. He hasn’t replied!

And now it is only 5 more sleeps. Huurah.

SDGH&QL

4 Responses to “Girl’s Day”

  1. Grace December 11, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

    Love that photo of you – go GW!!
    I’m sure hub will be pleased to see you, but perhaps you should shop for the condoms in case he forgets – the last thing you probably need or want is a permanent souvenir from NZ. 😉

    • gaijinwife December 11, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

      haha, yeah, no thanks.That’s how we got Marina – after me being here for 5 weeks and going back and I swear I got pregnant from a hug at the airport. That WILL NOT happen again. I’m too old to be doing that all over again 🙂

  2. Tash December 11, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

    LOL, might have to be straight home from the airport then after all, giggle blush 😉 Hehehe, next time you get Indian I challenge you to try a different curry!!!

    • gaijinwife December 11, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

      I had half a spoonful of Nor’s, does that count? I really do need to venture out though. So predictable 🙂 And yes, he gets in at 12:30 so we have a good two hours before have to pick the kids up – although from past experience one does not need two hours when one has not seen the person for such a long time… :p

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

