Omiyage

30 Dec

I think within about the first hour of arriving in New Zealand hub said he wanted to buy Kangaroo or Crocodile Jerky for everyone in his office. It is a (silly, sometimes nice, but mostly annoying) Japanese tradition to buy a small gift for every person you have ever met in your life when you go anywhere – overseas, the city, the next town over… I reminded him that I sent him that kangaroo jerky from that other country called AUSTRALIA and that probably very hard to find said jerky in NEW ZEALAND. Also told him that wanting to buy kangaroo jerky in NZ was like me going to Japan and wanting to bring home a giant panda.

However, I am a good Japanese wife – when I want to be. So I did an online check and told hub that we could get kangaroo jerky sent from Australia to Japan for the price of small caribbean nation. Perhaps if he hadn’t spent so much time at Pachinko this would have been a possibility…. I then told him I had come across a nice made-in-NZ jerky whilst on our travels in the South Island.

He asked if it was kangaroo… I reminded him for the 919th time that we don’t have kangaroos in NZ and perhaps he would like to travel up his own ass to Australia so he could find some. He said he ‘guessed’ kiwi jerky would be OK – as in the made-in-NZ kiwi kind and not the flightless nearly extinct bird kind. I knew I had seen it at a petrol station but I couldn’t remember which company.

So with hub we went to three – but I couldn’t find it. I have no idea why I have never seen it sold anywhere else. On our 4th attempt we hit gold and they had 17 packets left – the EXACT number hub said he needed.

The girl on the register asked if we had any petrol. I said no, just the jerky – and she laughed so hard Ryu nearly pissed his pants, and he was like 50 meters away. She admitted that 17 bags of beef jerky without petrol was her stupidest sale working at the petrol station so far.

Wahooo – we took that prize out.

But we have our bloody jerky so alls well that ends well…

Hub got a bit of a shock though when the one suitcase I thought the jerky was in got battered and bruised trying to make the short connection in Seoul and thus didn’t make it with the rest of us. Immigration asked if there happened to be any meat or honey in it. It had been a long day, the kids were trying to do 360s with the trolleys and Ryu sitting on top of the suitcases we did have, and all I’m thinking is you have to be kidding, all that one suitcase had in it was bloody 17 bags of beef jerky and 10 jars of honey – Β and some tupperware cause I went to a tupperware party at a pub and had too much wine and bought some things… too many things.

The suitcase arrived at our house about 30 hours later with no jerky, leaking honey and a broken tupperware tray.

We were convinced they had confiscated the jerky and were promptly having an all night jerky party with our 90 dollars worth of dried meat. Until I found all the packets wrapped neatly and tucked under some Colgate toothpaste, fruit of the forest chocolate and kids undies in another suitcase.

So we have the bloody omiyage for his office, who will no doubt wish they hadn’t said ‘anything is fine as long as it isn’t more bloody key-rings or coasters’….

Sweet Dreams you lot

7 Responses to “Omiyage”

  1. Susan December 31, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

    Happy New Year to you and yours! Looking forward to reading more of your adventures in 2105. (and what may seem mundane to you is anything but, the way you describe! love reading your everyday doings).

    • gaijinwife December 31, 2014 at 11:13 pm #

      Happy New Year Susan. May 2015 be a fabulous year for you and yours. I have high expectations for this year. xxx

  2. Meredith Pierce January 1, 2015 at 1:48 am #

    I work in a gas station. Don’t worry, that’s not the most ridiculous purchase. πŸ˜‰ In my opinion, that honor either goes to the folks that buy a whole roll of scratch lottery tickets, or those who put 25Β’ worth of gas in their car. The first is usually throwing $600 away, and the latter is barely enough gas to get out of the parking lot.

    • gaijinwife January 1, 2015 at 2:56 am #

      Thanks πŸ™‚ That makes me feel better for buying out the entire stock of jerky. 25c of gas 😦 Just enough to get them to the next gas station! Hope you had a fabulous New Years.

  3. Kathryn January 10, 2015 at 8:48 am #

    Okay, how does someone break a Tupperwear tray? Aren’t those things meant to survive a nuclear explosion?

    I never realised you could buy kangaroo jerky before. Maybe it’s just for Japanese tourists.

    • gaijinwife January 10, 2015 at 9:06 am #

      I was extremely traumatized that my tuppaware was broken. Especially because the cool three dips tray thing that fit perfectly in the big tray – made it!! So now I can offer my guests dip. and chips out of a bag. Awesome!! I am pretty sure I bought the kangaroo jerky at the airport so that would explain it πŸ™‚

      • Kathryn January 13, 2015 at 11:50 am #

        Tupperware comes with a lifetime guarantee so maybe you can get it replaced. I guess you’d have to find a Tupperware dealer in Japan though or the postage costs would make it not worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

