Flu ‘probably’ hath arriveth

29 Jan

HA, and there you have it. I got called to the kinder at 11am to go and pick up a crying feverish child. Poor boy, he was beside himself. They had just come back from a 2km walk to pick leeks – as you do – and so I bundled him and a few leeks up into the car and took everyone home.

Influenza doesn’t show up until about 12 hours or whatever after the fever has started so I decided against taking him to the doctors this afternoon and instead got him to have some lunch, some meddy, lots of water, and a two hour nap with mummy rubbing his back. He’ll stay home tomorrow and if he wakes up with a fever we will be off to the clinic to get something stronger than pamol.

Then, at 3:30 I got a call from the school – Marina had a temperature. I asked how high. 37.1.

And no I don’t think that is a temperature. You’re temp would probably notch up a few points of a degree after a big bloody sneeze – or after eating too much lunch and then having to get down and clean the corridors – Marina’s cleaning job this week at school. They run the length of the corridors with a cloth. It is hard out and I’m pretty sure that doing that a few times would be the equivalent of twenty minutes of Jillian telling me ‘fear is just pain leaving your body’.

But because the flu is going round and the chances are her temp will go up I had to go and get her – so I told the school that I would like to pick up Shou at the same time. School had officially finished but they still tried to convince me to come back again in an hour to get him.

After reading to the first graders this morning I had to go to the principal’s office to fill in form saying I had read ‘Stop That Heist’ a LEGO book by Scholastic, that it was me reading it and that the kids enjoyed it. The principal was going on about how it is hard these days with the kids who get the flu vaccination because a lot of them still get the flu – but less severely and some don’t even know they have it and keep coming to school and spread it to everyone, including those who didn’t get the jab.

Man, you can’t win with the flu jab. Damned if you do and damned if you don’t.

Anyhoo, I was going to stay up and watch the news to see if its Professor InSane in the library with the journalist or in the study with the pilot, but I’m just too tired and I think its time to snuggle in with the sick boy.

SDGH&QL

9 Responses to “Flu ‘probably’ hath arriveth”

  1. Susan January 29, 2015 at 10:48 pm #

    Hope everyone recovers quickly and that you & your husband stay flu-free.

    • gaijinwife January 29, 2015 at 11:09 pm #

      Thanks Susan. We both got the jab – the kids only got one of the two they needed, and were due for their second one today which won’t happen now! Ryu woke up to 39.6 degree temp this morning, had some meddy and we are just waiting for another twenty minutes to head to the doctors – or rather the doctor’s carpark, where a nurse will come and stick a swab up his nose and we’ll be on our way.

  2. Mrs. N January 31, 2015 at 8:14 am #

    Gah! I hate flu. Hoping you don’t get it!

    • gaijinwife January 31, 2015 at 11:03 pm #

      So far so good 🙂 (crosses fingers)

      • wildeman February 1, 2015 at 7:45 pm #

        Also crossed fingers. I still am denying myself the spurious luxury! David

  3. Anonymous February 3, 2015 at 2:13 am #

    How’s it going? When we had the flu last, it was brutal, and didn’t take long to incubate. Hope you and hub are healthy and the kids are getting better …

  4. T in Tokyo February 3, 2015 at 2:15 am #

    Sorry, above is from T in Tokyo, not anon …

    • gaijinwife February 3, 2015 at 4:40 am #

      Ryu was back at kinder today – just in time for setsubun and the oni! So far the rest of us seem OK, although I do feel like I’ve been hit by a bus today – OK, maybe not a bus, maybe more of a K-truck. Hopefully it is the just the result of a week of non-routine and not being able to get out and about much! I still managed the SHRED though so hopefully Jillian scared and flu drops out of me.

  5. Anonymous February 3, 2015 at 3:50 pm #

    Get well soon, OK?

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

