It’s hard having a gaijin mum

2 Jun

I think out of my three children Marina gets the ‘where are you from?’, ‘half’ and ‘gaijin’ lines the most. Her hair is the fairest – that is it. I don’t think her face looks that ‘foreign’, compared to say Ryu, who has quite a cosmopolitan face. This is of course in my opinion ๐Ÿ™‚ And I mean when they are out with their father. When I’m there everything goes out the window and of course the kids all look biracial. People see me at soccer and THEN look for Shou, and sometimes its only the slight brownness of his hair that ‘gives it away’.

Marina had a ‘gaijin’ moment a few months back when some little kids (5 years old-ish) at Shou’s soccer asked her to speak English, and was she American? and then they came and asked me to speak English. I was ‘this close’ to saying ‘hey you little fuckers, I’m from NZ, Marina is Japanese AND Kiwi and if you want me to speak more English then go and ask your mum for some money…’

Marina did come and ask me if she was a ‘gaijin’ and I said NO, tell those kids you are Japanese. As soon as she did, and as soon as I spoke some English to them they had satisfied their curiosity and they all started playing hide and seek ๐Ÿ™‚ But, for a whole hour I saw not one parent supervising at all. Tis so not how I roll.

Two weeks ago Shou started going to a running workshop in the next town over. He is the only kid from our town going – seriously. Tis ridiculous. They offer an awesome workshop and nobody goes!! apart from 90 kids from the other towns that is! EXCEPT for the first week – when our ‘kid’s club’ took two other kids just for the day as a one off.

So last week he is the only kid from Kunimi. As much as I wanted to go on both the first and second weeks, I had Ryu’s kinder excursion one week and teaching at the primary school last week. Hub and Shou get home and Hub tells me that Shou had a ‘bad experience’ and to ask him about it. So I do.

He said a group of 4 kids from the other town over, older kids, called him ‘American’, and ‘half’ and ‘gaijin’ and THEN…..

”kimochi-warui’

supposedly because he was a ‘half’ (biracial – kimochi-warui means gross or yucky)

My kids get ‘half’ and I get ‘gaijin’ all the frickin time and I know my kids need to be ‘immune’ to these kinds of comments. It is what it is. Japan isn’t quite ready to host the Tokyo Olympics ya know!!

BUT telling my kid that ‘he is gross slash funny looking because his mum is a gaijin’ FUCK THAT SHIT.

I will hunt you down and ย boil your bunnies.

Shou was crying as he told me.

I was crying and I was SAYING SORRY to my son, sorry you have to endure this shit because of me. We talked about the bitches that said it to him (although at the time I called them his ‘friends’) and I said they were just jealous he’s so fuckin handsome and fast at running. He didn’t seem too impressed. So I told him I would cancel everything next Saturday and take him myself. I wasn’t sure how he’d take it.

He was stoked.

I will be there my son. And IF they start that shit again I will be there to field the questions and educate them on what the fuck is OK to say and what is not, because obviously they haven’t had that education before.

So stay tuned for that – this Saturday.

SDGH&QL

PS – Shou got pissed off enough by them running around being mean to him that he told them all to ‘piss of you dicks and die’…. ….

‘Baka-kuso-shine’

 

… …

 

 

 

 

14 Responses to “It’s hard having a gaijin mum”

  1. T in Tokyo June 2, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

    Holy cow that was fast work! You made my morning ๐Ÿ™‚

    Little turds! How old is older? Kids at my daughter’s elementary school used to follow her around going “haro, haro”, she hated it of course. Those little jerks are sorely in need of some education, so glad you will be there to provide it. Love that Shou’s reaction was to be stoked.

    • gaijinwife June 2, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

      hub reckons they were about 10 or 11, so, IMO, old enough to know. That said however, I think Shou is old enough to know that telling someone to ‘die’ is also unacceptable!!

  2. japanmama June 2, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

    Ha ha ha ha, go Shou!!

    • japanmama June 2, 2015 at 9:35 pm #

      the last comment, I mean..sorry that the other kids were such bastards.

      • gaijinwife June 3, 2015 at 12:34 am #

        I knew ๐Ÿ™‚ Hub informs me that perhaps just maybe Shou said something else as well but fuck them, they instigated it and he felt upset enough to cry to me about it.

  3. Nikki June 2, 2015 at 9:38 pm #

    Sorry this happened
    Children can be very cruel sometomes

    • gaijinwife June 3, 2015 at 12:36 am #

      They can can’t they. Hopefully they will see me there on Saturday and come and ask me where I’m from and the like and they the kids can just get on with bloody running!

  4. Tracy Robinson June 3, 2015 at 12:51 am #

    Poor Shou, still I am glad he told them off as well (may not be the most inappropriate thing to say but so what they were being nasty to him).

  5. Mr sekimachihato June 4, 2015 at 3:51 am #

    We have yet to experience this shit but we do get the “half kids are so cute” thing from other parents. I always say my kids are not “half” (they are “whole” FFS) but “mixed”.
    Sorry to hear that Shou had to go through that but I love his reply!! 3 handy little words.
    Big K got told “bukkorosu zo!” the other day and his reply was “sore wa sonna ni itakunai yo-“. Might need to teach him a better comeback!

    • gaijinwife June 4, 2015 at 3:58 am #

      ‘Bukkorosu zo!’ is another one that gets thrown around A LOT by kids. I mean really, WTF? HT boy told Marina ‘FUCK YOU’ – yesterday, while I was there, in front of him, doing my volunteer drill thing I help with three days a week. What a twat. He said it in English before and that got him in a heap of trouble so he knows its not OK. kuso-baka-shine on the other hand – like ya know, totally fine ๐Ÿ™‚

      • bri65 June 4, 2015 at 4:05 am #

        According to google translate, “Bukkorosu zo!” = ใถใฃๆฎบใ™ ใž which is the equivalent of “beat to death” in English. Is that more or less correct?

      • gaijinwife June 4, 2015 at 5:46 am #

        I guess so, and if a scary yakuza type yelled it at you you’d shit yourself. I have never heard a child use it when they were angry – more when they are chasing it each other and it gets ‘tossed’ around as if it were a ‘I’m gunna get you’ type thing!

      • bri65 June 6, 2015 at 6:01 pm #

        Thanks for your answer to my google translation question. I asked because kids playing outside here in my neighborhood use awfully violent language at each other all the time. “I’m going to gouge out your eyes,” “I’m going to stab you in the heart,” etc. I think it comes from watching these ultra-violent super-hero cartoon movies (Avengers, etc.) that all the kids seem to know everything about. It’s really appalling to me. (Replied here because I couldn’t figure out how to reply directly to your answer to me.)

  6. Lauren June 4, 2015 at 8:57 am #

    Good on Shou for sticking up for himself. I still can’t quite get my head around the racism in Japan from all ages. Funnily enough I preferred having ‘Gaijin!’ yelled at me than ‘Amerikajin!’ Travelling through China and the backwaters of Vietnam, I never had anyone point and yell anything at me (unless they were trying to sell me something). Curiosity, yes, but I never got that ‘You’re different, an outsider, don’t belong’ vibe you get EVERYWHERE in Japan. That is one thing I don’t miss about the place. I’m guessing that with you as their mum, your kids will grow up strong and secure in themselves and won’t take any crap. Your kids are gorgeous so the little shits hassling them are probably just jealous as well.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

