Birthdays and would you fuckin believe its…

26 Jun

It is so bloody hot today. I don’t mind the 27 degree heat, I mind the 80% humidity. There is no wind and it feels like I should be melting into myself or something – surely it takes a few more calories just to ‘be’ on days like this. I did the SHRED yesterday. Today I vacuumed. I think they were about the same workout, well they involved the same amount of swearing and pain – which as we know is just ‘fear leaving your body’ (said in Jillian voice of course)

We’ve had a few birthdays over the last two weeks. Three to be precise. Ryu turned 6 and almost overnight turned into aย hormonal tween. Well, not in comparison to the others at his age but still, where has my beautiful little prince boy who does everything I say and is my 24/7 cuddle monster gone? Now he bloody goes round ‘sulking’ of all things. Aint no one got time for that shit. It could well be related to boy hormones or perhaps he’s finally fed up of playing the cutest younger child card and wants to get in on the sulky attitude action. Just as Shou was growing out of it too. I fear Marina may stay in a state of perpetual bitchy, sulky, moaning tween FOR EVER & EVER.

Last week was Shou’s 9th birthday and thus, because I spent my 30th birthday pushing his big head out the saloon doors, my 39th. I had a big translation due and English to teach so the day was a normal day. We had cake for dinner for the kids, put them to bed, and then hub put on his figurative chef’s whites and made the two of us a nice dinner, running out half way through to pay the florist for a delivery – a nice ensemble with baby green apples and baby bamboo (the floral arrangement not the dinner – that was steak). I feel like I would sound ungrateful if I told hub that I’d really just prefer a bright big cheerful bunch of flowers over the baby bamboo coming out of an elaborate ikebana display.

photo

The pineapple is because Shou kept trying to guess what he was getting for his birthday. I told him it started with ‘P’ and that it wasn’t a play station, purse full of money, or a pig…

On Saturday we took Shou and some friends bowling and out for lunch. An altogether fun day but fuck me sideways, 5 nine year olds, a 7 year old, a 6 year old and a husband who was acting all strange cause he kept getting strikes and all in all I was bloody knackered and need several wines and some cheese to recover.

Now to the ‘would you fuckin believe it’ part….

If you’ve been reading for a while you will recall a conversation or two that HTB’s father had with hub about me perhaps taking the kids back to NZ for an entire year. This was before we left last year for our 5 month stint on English immersion. The father was a complete prick and said, in black and white, that if we took the kids out of this school then they would transfer their son to the school in town – it was complete fuckwitty cunty blackmail and I was furious and it basically ruined any kind of friendship hub had with him too. The main reason they would do this is because it is only Shou and their son in that year grade so us being away would mean their son would be on his own for a year – which technically isn’t true because the school only has 30 kids so they have two classes in one room – well 1st and 6th grades are separate and then 2nd and 3rd grades are together and 4th and 5th grades. They do some things together and for other things another teacher comes in. For example Marina and Shou are 2nd and 3rd grade so have desks in the same classroom. Marina’s grade has music and PE with the 1st graders and Shou has it with the 4th graders. Japanese and music are separated and Shou and HTB go into the adjoining classroom and get taught by another teacher.

yaddah yaddah, anyhoo…

a couple of days ago HTB’s mother sides up to me as we are picking the kids up from school and says in a very meek voice that there is a possibility her husband is getting transferred to the plant in the big city and if it did eventuate she was going to go with him and take the kids – as opposed to a very common Japanese tradition of weekend dads – where he would come back every weekend. Its only 2 hours away so this is very possible but it seems they might uproot and leave completely.

This will mean Shou is the only kid in his grade which will actually be fabulous for study purposes but will suck monkey nuts in 6th grade when he IS the only kid in a classroom – with a teacher all to himself ๐Ÿ™‚ Fuck, you’d hope they got along. It also means that Ryu will start school with only one other kid (who is nearly a whole year younger than him and may or may not be a bit socially retarded) and not also with HTB’s younger sister, who, by comparison, is a good kid.

I can’t really believe she would uproot the kids, especially HTB who is ummm, quite an acquired taste, and I can’t imagine dumping him in a big city school with like 25 other kids in the same class is going to do his delicate, and often rather annoying, demeanor any favors.

Ah well, guess we’ll see how it pans out. I just find it ironic that the father was a complete twat to us when I took the kids home and now the tables are turned – although it is obviously a job transfer and not much he can do about it – whereas my motives were purely selfish (add sarcasm).

Watch this space ๐Ÿ™‚

Right off to drop Ryu’s little friend back, pick up the other two kids and come back for English and a few more pages of translation.

SDGH&QL

3 Responses to “Birthdays and would you fuckin believe its…”

  1. Anonymous June 26, 2015 at 7:25 am #

    Happy Birthday Katy! Can’t believe your eldest is now 9! Wow! Time sure does fly!

    • gaijinwife June 26, 2015 at 10:23 am #

      Thank you! and I know, bloody 9 already. Where does the time go.

  2. Susan (Eastendmom) June 26, 2015 at 4:52 pm #

    Happy Belated Birthday to you & hope you have a stellar year ahead. ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, at least I hope the coming year is uneventful. My sister always says that things are boring, that’s a good thing since it means nothing bad is happening either! It’s still Friday here so I’ll lift a glass in your honor this weekend. Thanks for giving me a reason to hit the sav blanc this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

