OUCH! my nuts!

10 Aug

The amount of English being used at home is rapidly increasing and the boys even have moments of completely forgetting a Japanese word for something – which I love. There is intertwining of both languages in sentences, using grammar and/or words of which ever language comes to mind first.

  1. Mum, I did not おいかける Ryu.
  2. めっちゃyummy-かった (Ryu talking about roast spuds)
  3. Oh man! どこ行った?Holy crap, get away sucker…
  4. OUCH!!! My balls hurt! (Shou)
  5. immediately followed by OUCH!!! My nuts hurt! (Ryu)

OK, so 4 and 5 were completely in English and my chest swelled with pride I tell ya. I also laughed so hard my pelvic floor just about turned into a trap door. Awwwww, my boys are doing so good!

Obviously they don’t understand everything though and when we went to see Ant-Man on the big screen both of them kept asking what such and such was in Japanese – in really really loud  non inside voices. Had to keep reminding them there were 100 other people sitting beside them. It was a good movie though, especially when the action parts were on.

Shou had a friend come over to play last week and it was just gold watching them hang out and talk and play and understand entirely in English. He was meant to have a separate friend over today but both of them have been off school sick with a a barking cough, so play date rescheduled for this weekend. He CRIED this morning that was how much he wanted to go to school – bless him. I don’t think he’s ever cried about not vein able to go to school in Japan before! Ryu has a friend coming over tomorrow – and he has been counting down the days like Christmas.

All in all, the boys are doing great and I am loving watching their language growth and confidence and overall kiwi-ness coming out.

They still tell everybody to take their shoes off at the door but thats OK, I think thats a good idea anyway!

SDGH&QL

 

4 Responses to “OUCH! my nuts!”

  1. Natasha August 10, 2015 at 11:03 pm #

    That’s so awesome, play dates and sore nuts and all! And PS shoes off is the rule in our house too, so you’re not being Japanese OCD on that one ;o)

  2. Susan (Eastendmom) August 11, 2015 at 1:04 am #

    My kids friends actually trained them to take shoes off – every family but ours must have had that rule, so over the years my kids have automatically started doing it, too. Much better for the carpets. I absolutely love that of course the English that sticks first is bollocks related – such typical boys. Glad they are loving school & you are enjoying your time at home. How is Marina doing back in Japan with here dad?

    • gaijinwife August 11, 2015 at 1:22 am #

      Thanks Susan. From what I can gather she’s absolutely fine! Hub has been super busy I think but all in all everything working out 🙂

  3. Debra August 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm #

    What smart kids, that’s great that they are picking up the language, context, slang and all!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

