Raging Rabid Mode

1 Feb

Bloody hell, it’s the first of February already!

It is my goal this month to try and turn our morning routine into one of a bit more serenity and calmness, as opposed to the raging-rabid-mum routine we seen to have at the moment.

We generally all get out of bed just after 6am – as in hub’s alarm goes off at 6:05, he jumps out of bed, turns on the hall light to help wake the kids up and heads off down stairs to, more days than not, start cooking the grilled fish and rice nutritional Japanese breakfast he seems to think the children need in the morning.

I usually then starfish the bed for a few minutes and wait for a storm trooper to come in for cuddles, which sounds absolutely ludicrous but also very plausible given the storm trooper PJs the boys got for Christmas. Marina usually just stomps off down stairs and on the rare occasion that she does come in for a morning snuggle she can’t seem to just find a good snuggle position and lay still. She needs to get her hair right, her nightie right yaddah yaddah. A very frustrating experience for us both. Sometimes I try and just wrap her up in cuddles but she won’t have a bar of it.

We are usually all down stairs by 6:20. Hub has inevitably made Ryu grilled fish and rice as well – an act that, while out of love, is again fruitless as Ryu refuses to eat Japanese-style for breakfast. I don’t blame him. I’d much rather have vegemite on toast as well. At least twice a week hub will spaz out that Ryu hasn’t finished his rice and refuse to make it for him ever again, ever ever. I wish he’d bloody follow through then and just not make it! I actually don’t think the other two need it either – or rather, I think that kids at this age should be making their own toast or pouring their own cereal. They get a hot meal for lunch at school.

So anyhoo, whilst they are eating I sort through the pile of clean washing on the couch and find three sets of clothes – the exact same set they wore two days prior. I swear the teachers at school must think they all only have two sets of clothes. But hey, it means I then technically only have to put mine and hub’s washing away every day. Winning right there. The boys generally don’t give a shit what they wear but Marina will sometimes have a complete meltdown at a seemingly invisible wardrobe malfunction.

So where does the raging rabid mummy come in?

As the kids eat and then change the ragging rabidness is not visible. In fact I don’t even know it’s about to explode. And then one of the kids, it could be any kid on any given day, ignores one thing too many and I switch into pre-explosion mode – which is a sharp yell on a bad day, or a clap of my hands on a very very good day, and I say (gestures included)

“that’s it! Mummy is ‘this’ close to losing her shit, now listen or there is no way in hell we will be making it out the door at 7:15. See the clock – all of you – it is now 7:07. Shou, socks, hair, teeth, pencil case. Marina, for the love of good hurry up and do your hair (this takes at least 6 minutes alone). Ryu – plate and cup, you can finish that lego later, hair, teeth and kinder uniform”

So at this stage I am one fifth montesorri mama and four fifths teetering on the edge of raging rabid mama.

This morning – the thing that tipped the scales was a comment in passing made by Shou as I took a hurried gulp of my stone-cold coffee on my way to put smelly boy undies in the washing machine….

“Why are you getting all pissy when you clearly have time to drink your coffee”

Fuck, I lost my nut and it is high praise to myself that I didn’t stuff his pee and fart smelling undies into his mouth.

When the kids were younger I didn’t expect them to be able to do it all by themselves, but now I do and having to constantly remind them about shit from the moment they get up till the second we get into the car, and sometimes even onwards, causing me to have to do a oncer of the rice paddies and turn around, come back home, screech to a halt and count slowly to ten as whichever child it is runs back inside to collect the fuckin compass, or skipping rope or whatever item of school paraphernalia their teacher has insisted they bring and which they have only informed me of after we leave the house.

OK, so I usually don’t calmly count to ten, I’m usually in full raging rabid mode by then.

So this month, my mission, is to try and change our morning routines a bit. Obviously with today being the 1st, I didn’t get off to the best of starts but surely things can only get better?

SDGH&QL

 

10 Responses to “Raging Rabid Mode”

  1. colorbynumbers February 1, 2016 at 1:45 am #

    Sounds so hard- I’m like that as well with my two, but at least self sufficiency gets enforced at school. Knowing J culture I can imagine there is this invisible wall of pressure that part of being a mum is having to do it all for them..grrrr….

    • gaijinwife February 1, 2016 at 3:02 am #

      Definitely and school here just seems to require so. much. fuckin. stuff!! So many notices that need sending back, skipping chart with hanko and comments – which are completely made up as trying to enforce 10 minutes of skipping at home each day on top of everything else, soccer, english teaching, ensuring all three of them are fed yaddah yaddah would be impossible!! Ganbarou xxx

  2. Ruth February 1, 2016 at 9:15 am #

    Good for you! My New Year’s resolution is to try and be a calmer, less evil Disney stepmother type person. I had a total meltdown while cleaning the house two weeks ago because I am the only one who cleans while everyone sits around in the filth! But I did manage to hold it together in the supermarket as they wrestled on the ground but we were buying wine at the time so that could have been my incentive.

    If people would just listen and do the thing when I asked and not 10 or 15 minutes later we could all live a much quieter, happy life with less wine!!

  3. Ni February 1, 2016 at 11:32 am #

    I am in the world Most disorganized Groupon so use to try to lay thing out or layer get them to prepare in the evening when time was not so right
    Didnt always Japรณn but when it did things went smoother in the morning

    • gaijinwife February 1, 2016 at 9:55 pm #

      Yes, getting things more organized the night before would definitely help ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Heather February 1, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

    Yes! The clean pile of washing on the sofa that I am picking through every morning! And all the while patting myself on the back that I won’t have to fold that bit and put it away!!! I am not alone!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‚

    • gaijinwife February 2, 2016 at 12:27 am #

      Big pats on back right there. Sometimes, if the washing is hanging up inside to get dry by the fire after yet another day of cold weather in which washing might actually be getting wetter rather than dryer outside, I just take their clothes straight off the hangers – thus saving valuable time in taking it to the couch. Surely it’s just proof of what efficient housewives we are!!!

  5. Mr Sekimachihato February 2, 2016 at 9:21 am #

    Nice to see that you have your blogging mojo back.
    And, amazing that you are up at 6am and out the door by 7:15!
    We’re up at 6am too but don’t get out the door until 8, and even then it’s a struggle to get teeth cleaned, socks, hats, gloves on and out the door. How in the heck does it take us 2 hrs I have no idea…

    • gaijinwife February 2, 2016 at 12:32 pm #

      If we had two hours it would still take us two hours!! Just more pain – or perhaps two cold coffees ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

