Flu Wrath

26 Feb

Every year we get to February and everybody starts declaring that we must have escaped the second round of the flu this year. This year we didn’t even get the first round. You meet people at the store and add a ‘know anybody with the flu?’ to the usual ‘aren’t the rice fields beautiful in the whispy frosts of winter’ greeting.

Being on the end of a peninsular we see the flu approaching from both sides. Seriously, we spend far too much time discussing exactly how many kilometers away the flu is and who knows someone in said town that they might be visiting, playing sports with, or generally being coughed and sneezed on before bringing it back and being our town’s patient zero.

Our whole family gets the annual flu jab – although last year I actually said the kids could choose… who the fuck does that? It’s not like I’d let them choose not to have any other vaccination. I think I must have been at the end of my flu jab tether – those fuckers hurt like a bitch and trying to get three small children to cooperate is something I should really start putting on my resume, or not. Obviously I failed miserably last year and Marina opted not to have it! Fortunately last year’s dose was lite.

So, we got the jabs at the start of December, a lot later than some other people, who get them at the start of November – which basically means by the time you get to the round of flu that inevitably comes at the exact time when you think you’ve hit a lucky no-flu year, the early flu jabbers get hit harder because it has pretty much worn off.

A lot of us locals were quietly smug that we would avoid it this year, but then BAM, High Tiger Boy’s entire family come down with it in one day. Obviously he is in Shou’s year and him and Shou spend the day practically joined at the hip, in the same classroom as the year below, Marina’s year. So that’s two out of three kids probably coming down with it. Then the younger sister’s desk is next to Ryu’s at kinder so well, what the fuck can you do?

There was a kid just before the younger sister at kinder who was away the day before. He’s from the next town over so technically he brought the flu into our town. Poor wee kid, that’s a lot of back flack but you just know the mothers talk – as I do.

“Well, what can you do? So and so brought it in from the town next door rabid with flu goers who send their kids to kinder and school coughing and spluttering…”

So that was Monday this week. Can I just say I teach 5 out of the 6 kids in this class at kinder. Their last class was Thursday last week, where patient zero kid looked a bit off color. Not his usual genki self at all. I questioned his mask-wearing mom when she came to pick him up and she said he was just grand.

Fast forward to Wednesday night and Ryu starts coughing. Usually a cough is not worthy of anything UNLESS it happens around flu time. He wakes up yesterday morning with a bit of a temperature – again not really noteworthy or requiring of drugs but enough to keep him home, twiddle my thumbs, and wait for the sucker to inevitably rise. Marina woke up complaining of an achy body so I kept her home too as hub convinced me the main symptoms of this year fluB was achy joints. She got a slight temp during the day, coughed a couple of times and that was about it. Ryu’s temperature rose enough to be considered worthy of a trip to the doctors, so off we went.

Turns out the doctors we go to is closed on Thursday afternoon. Granny K got quite pissed off with me for not knowing. I had spent the day with two genki kids but not being able to go anywhere as potentially flu carriers, so was beyond producing the right Japanese words for her so I just slammed the doctor’s card on the bench and kind of grunted at the big fuckin circle WE ARE OPEN beside Thursday afternoon. She then tried to tell me that Ryu needed at least three vests on despite his big jumper and sitting two inches away from a roaring fire.

I drugged the boy up and put him to bed.

He woke up this morning practically on fire so I gave him some more meddy and then hurriedly took Shou off to the meeting place to walk to school, and then actually drove to the school myself to hand in Marina’s homework and her recorder for third grade. We ordered and got a free name engraved on the side. Any name thanks. They fucked up one of the characters. I rushed home, poked my head in the front door Β and said I was just taking the dog for a pee and poo and would be back in approximately 6 minutes and 43 seconds. (Granny K was home)

I get back from walking the dog, walk into the lounge and Ryu is tucked up on the couch with the cake tin on his tummy. A nice gesture but he is tucked in so tight I doubt he could have maneuvered himself enough to actually spew in the thing. Marina is washing the dishes.

WTF? Where did Marina Nightingale suddenly come from?

She explains that while they were still in bed Ryu had a coughing fit and spewed up in the bed. She wiped it up, brought Ryu downstairs, tucked him in and searched for the first spew-bowl looking thing she could find, the cake tin.

I ran up stairs, stripped the bed, put the washing machine on for the second time in 50 minutes, got the kids changed and took them to the clinic, where we waited in our car for a nurse to come out and stick plastic sticks up their noses.

Ryu – influenza type A.

Marina – nada (so technically she’s just had two days off from school with a sore middle finger)

I had to cancel English classes yesterday and today and Ryu and I had to bow out from the soccer fun day tomorrow to farewell the sixth grader.

Fingers crossed the flu stops at Ryu but I’m really not holding my breath.

Right, time to try and tidy up – Again – seriously, being stuck at home all day with kids is like being on a hamster wheel in terms of getting things washed and tidied up!

Especially if you just HAVE to have a nap with your sick child because the nurse told you not to take your eyes off them because the flu meds could make them do silly stuff like try and fly down the stairs.

 

SDGH&QL

 

13 Responses to “Flu Wrath”

  1. Tracy Robinson February 26, 2016 at 6:13 am #

    Oh No, hopefully the rest of your family don’t get it. I am impressed with Marina though, how cute looking after her brother :-), very cute.

    • gaijinwife February 26, 2016 at 7:59 am #

      I was just about crying on the inside with my swelling heart. Am so glad one of them has some bloody compassion!!

  2. littlebelgianwriter February 26, 2016 at 7:56 am #

    After reading this, I cannot help but picturing Marina tucking Ryu in. Really cute indeed. Get well soon Ryu! And I sincerely hope Marina and Shou are spared the flu experience this year!

    • gaijinwife February 26, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      She had 3 layers, a towel a rug and a duvet. He was lying there like a tin soldier – albeit I think quite happy at having her fuss over him πŸ™‚ Am crossing fingers the other two don’t get it too!! Or worse yet, that hub gets it – gah. I don’t mind if I get it, at least I’ll lose a few kilos :p

  3. Ruth February 26, 2016 at 9:23 am #

    Go Marina! If it were Aoife, Oisin would probably leave her for dead; or come downstairs with, “I think Aoife’s been sick?”. She nearly deserves a day off for her good deed πŸ˜‰

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2016 at 1:03 pm #

      Go Marina indeed. I am sure that some boys have the nurture instinct but damn, if Oisin came downstairs and at least told you that’s better than ignoring and just continuing to play a DDS or PSP – which I’m pretty sure is what Shou would do!!

  4. Malin February 27, 2016 at 4:23 pm #

    Marina Nightingale, I had to lol πŸ˜‚ so sweet though ❀

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2016 at 1:01 pm #

      It was very sweet. I just wish her Nightingale-ness would emerge a bit more every other day of the week!

  5. Ann February 27, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    Marina is so sweet, such a big sister πŸ˜€
    I use to take care of my younger brother when we were kids, and I was very serious in my role of big responsible sister.Ha ha,I was probably more responsible then, now, 20 years after πŸ˜€

  6. Anonymous February 28, 2016 at 11:13 am #

    Uh, I’ve just re-read my comment, and saw a few words are missing in my last sentence πŸ˜€ I wanted to say that I probably was more responsible as a child, than I am now. Mental note to self, don’t write commemts when tired πŸ˜‰

    • gaijinwife February 28, 2016 at 1:00 pm #

      I read the initial comment as if you’d had those words in anyway πŸ™‚ I am also pretty sure I was a more responsible child than an adult. Man I make some shit decisions!

  7. Mr Sekimachihato March 1, 2016 at 10:08 am #

    Isn’t that if one person in the family gets influenza then the whole family have to stay at home for like 5 days or something?! Yes, hope hub doesn’t get it otherwise the your whole world will come tumbling down. (I know, I’m a man).

    • gaijinwife March 1, 2016 at 11:36 pm #

      hub = 38.5 temp this morning. He took his poor sorry self off to the hospital because I have to be at PTA at kinder and then school all day. Gawd I hope it goes through him fast.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

