More Hospitals

8 May

Just a very quick update as Granny K wants us to leave in half an hour and I still need to put on some mascara and order two pairs of indoor soccer shoes off rakuten.

We are off to the big hospital in the city again today. She has had ongoing issues with her knees and so after we realised she wasn’t dying last week she decided to get her knees sorted once and for all. I spent the entire day last Monday dossing round the city, drinking lattes, buying shit for my new English office in town and getting sore feet from all the walking around aforementioned latte shops and stores that sell things. I even went and had sushi – on. my. own. I had to sit in the carpark for a few minutes getting up the courage to go and place my large gajin self smack bang in the middle of a row of middle-aged to old Japanese men slurping back sushi.

Did you even know it was possible to slurp sushi?

It would appear that it is.

Anyhoo, Granny K rang finally at about 2pm after an entire day of poking, prodding, and all the same tests she did at the other hospital the previous week. We are going again today to get the results and talk about operation schedule.

The doctor requested that a family member accompany her. I don’t think I’m the ideal choice as because well um, hellllllllooooooooooo, medical documents, Japanese, illegible doctor’s writing etc etc, the list is quite long – I mean what if I tick the wrong box for “do you want your family member to be resuscitated if everything starts going to shit?”

It makes most sense for hub to go as we have to physically take her there anyway but he can’t take today off. The eldest son would be the next choice as he lives half an hour away from the hospital and I could just drop Granny K off and doss round some more drinking more lattes and buying more things – but he can’t take the day off. The next best choice, in my opinion, would be the eldest son’s wife. She doesn’t drive but Japanese has this amazing service known as ‘the world’s best public transport’. Seeing as I have to drive Granny K anyway I could pick her up from the station and take her to the hospital (they live in the other direction) – but there was no mention of this and whilst I did have wine and get all ‘woe is me, this shit is so unfair, come on actual children and Japanese daughter in laws, time to step up to the plate’ and then rang my sister in law to state my case – fortunately she didn’t answer and I had resigned self to fact have to do myself so ignored her call the following morning.

It’s funny, the older I get the less mature I find myself behaving.

Eldest son and wife did come here yesterday – to say hello and bring Granny K some flowers or something for mother’s day. A token gesture from where I stand but Granny K lives for this shit so whatever. The kids had soccer all day which meant that if I wanted to go and cheer them on I had to have the house in an ‘eldest son is visiting’ clean state before I left. I was not impressed Granny K told us at the last minute.

Yes, yes my sister in law brought more fuckin bread with her but as I had forgotten to tell her I just wanted the cheesey stuff, there were more walnuts and a foot long one with a sausage in it – which I took out and fed to the dog while I ate the bread bit -which may have actually been sitting next to some cheesey goodness in the oven. Very vague hints.

Right, wish me luck for getting through all the medical shite today. And driving an hour and a half each way in the pissing rain 😦 I really just wanted to sort more English stuff out today! Had 6 new students start last week and two more high school girls starting from June. Things to do!!

SDGH&QL

8 Responses to “More Hospitals”

  1. japanmama May 9, 2016 at 12:50 am #

    Wow! EIGHT new students already?! It took me like 6 months to get that XD. Don’t envy your busy day though. All the best for the hospital and not ticking the wrong box!

    • Anonymous May 9, 2016 at 8:48 am #

      5 kids I know from soccer and the other in the ‘new’ class – I have been teaching his little sister for 2 years already. The others are high school students, one of whom is daughter of the couple who own the one and only conbini-type-store we have in town – which I go to nearly every morning to get coffee. Technically I haven’t started from scratch trying to recruit any of them!!

      • gaijinwife May 9, 2016 at 8:49 am #

        That was obviously me!

  2. jennifer arthur May 9, 2016 at 1:35 am #

    Prayers for Granny K and the foreign daughter in law who has to sort everything! And, how have I missed the new office bit? Congrats!

    >

    • gaijinwife May 9, 2016 at 8:51 am #

      Thank you! All went well, minus the fog and spending an extra hour in traffic! New office pics to follow soon πŸ™‚ I think I mentioned it briefly a couple of posts back but other than that nada πŸ™‚

  3. bri65 May 9, 2016 at 2:01 am #

    “I even went and had sushi – on. my. own.” Good for you! And brave of you!

    • gaijinwife May 9, 2016 at 8:50 am #

      Have been to other eateries by self before but never the counter at sushi! Guess I can tick that off my non existent bucket list πŸ™‚

  4. Natasha May 11, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Sniggering at the Japanese version of a sausage in bread… hehehe. Yay on the new student front! Good luck Granny K πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

