Changes

12 May

April brought changes in Hub being transferred back to the local town office – as in it is like 3km away and he can leave home at 8am if he wants. This is opposed to the last SEVEN years of being at the head city office, which still, is only half an hour away but still – means he misses the morning mayhem and the evening bollocksy chaos.

I remember all three kids being like little and single mothering pretty much all day every day. I probably had a child at kinder but still, the evenings when we were all home was just me – and so when he went to pachinko silver ball heaven instead of coming home I went off my fuckin nut.

But this post isn’t about that.

He is now closer to home.

Which is good because I have just opened my English Office (said in posh voice) in town.

13124609_10153425701616805_675198473395171518_n

13178894_10153425701596805_7567369071448914124_n

Obviously before and after photos. I am pretty confident I could sleep here if hub was being a complete wanker. Go me. Cause I’m paying jack shit for the rent. And by Jack Shit I mean ‘A THIRD’ of what it is meant to be rented out as!! Yay.

So, Wednesdays and Thursdays are completely crazy. I have three back to back classes on Wednesday and on Thursday I have Faaarck, volunteer reading at the local school, two hours of paid teaching at the school in the next town over, and then two hours of back to back English lessons – during which someone needs to pick children up, feed them, get them in their soccer attire, and take them to said Soccer.

So hub has to step up to the plate or else the kids will all arrive at soccer half an hour late – which I don’t actually care about as is two hour practice and extra time will let them finish their fricken homework!!

SO today was the first time we did the whole ‘mum actually works and you guys realized it’ experience. Ryu had English from 4 to 5. Hub picked him up at 5:15 on the way to pick the other two up. He then took them home and they supposedly read my cute letter (with artwork and cute pictures) about heating up dinner and getting changed into their soccer gear.

When I got home at 6:20 hub was on his second beer and complaining about how much the children complain…

He then went into MINUTE fuckin detail about their fights during the 47 minutes he was in charge. DO I even need to comment further on this shit?

Fuckin man up. I deal with this shit every bloody day, you soft cunt.

Which I didn’t say.

So after soccer I consoled Marina about the fact Dad called her a lier – over and over again – when in fact she had ‘forgotten’ something – I know the difference. Hub just goes full force on the ‘you lied and you will never make any friends’ route. I want to slap the fucker – and Granny K. She did after all raise him to think any incompetence a women makes is a lie and thus unworthy.

Slap, slap, slap, slap, slap.

I then go on to spend an hour helping the kids with homework – while hub drinks beer in front of the TV. I know the outcomes of various scenarios so the kids doing their homework in with me in  the other room is preferable. Thankfully Shou’s math homework doesn’t need explanation – cause the Japanese do Math exceedingly well and completely different to how we do it New Zealand.

Now —- the kids are all asleep and hub has had a ‘strong’ chuhai – which could well be the end of him. Is there a ‘drank a strong chuhai when I shouldn’t have’ insurance???

Must get hub some.

SDGH&QL

 

6 Responses to “Changes”

  1. Natasha May 13, 2016 at 12:02 am #

    Oh I hope he gets better with practice! But as an aside, maths is done completely differently here too now – compared to when we were kids. I can’t help my kids with maths either!!!

    • gaijinwife May 13, 2016 at 1:51 am #

      I hope so too, as it will be a weekly thing. He ended up telling Shou to just quit soccer if he hated practice so much and told him to tell coach last night, which of course Shou doesn’t do as he actually likes it but some days the thought of two hours practice at night when he has the amount of homework he was can be daunting. He is learning long division and the first time I looked at how they are made to do it I was baffled I was. He explained it to me but damn!!

  2. bri65 May 13, 2016 at 12:20 am #

    Hey, lovely office! Congratulations!!

    Also, just have to say, I love the way you said this: “SO today was the first time we did the whole ‘mum actually works and you guys realized it’ experience.” And of course your Hub was so tuckered out afterwards that all he could do was complain and then check out. That’s the way it works, apparently. But take heart. One step at a time.You’re doing great!

    Bri

    • gaijinwife May 13, 2016 at 1:52 am #

      Thanks Bri 🙂 It’s like the salary hub makes is ‘work’ and the money mum makes just magically appears in my wallet!! If only.

  3. Murphy May 14, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

    I laugh so many times when I read your blog, I love it. I’ve now started referring to old people as Vestlings. It’s nicer than ‘Q-tip” which is what my 8th grade history teacher called them and it stuck with me. Until now. So thanks.
    Murph in Connecticut, USA

    • gaijinwife May 14, 2016 at 11:00 pm #

      LOL – I just googled ‘elderly q-tip’ because it is definitely not a term we use in NZ, and the top search result came up with

      “little johnny swabbed his asshole with a Q-tip and presented it to his mother”

      Oh dear. I don’t think I’ve had enough coffee to start the morning with this. The third explanation down was the ‘elderly’ Q-tip definition.

      Thanks for reading Murph.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

