Dentists

1 Sep

I fuckin hate the dentists and have had a humungous phobia about going to one in Japan because when I first got to Japan (18 or so years ago) it felt like every little kid I saw had black teeth and rarely did I see an adult with a beautiful smile. Thus why I put off going for more than SIX months and now I am in absolute agony and have an appointment at 11:30 tomorrow with some local anesthetic and what I imagine will be a drill the size of a tunnel excavator.

I had a filling in one of my back molars. A big filling, probably from about 20 years ago. A chunk of it came out and I knew exactly when this happened but because it didn’t hurt, and because I hate the dentists, I just let it be. Ya know, hoping that by some miracle of the lord jesus it would just fill itself right back in.

Until Sunday, when we were out having lunch before a viewing of the Jungle Book. All was grand until a fuckin pepper corn worked its way into the tunnel, hit the nerve and I bloody swear, the sharp pain was akin to ten seconds of pushing a big head out the saloon doors. I put my hand over my mouth and quietly excused myself from the table so I could do a fast walk, in my three inch bright green wedges (which were on their virgin outing after purchasing them 8 months ago – why or why Sunday of all days) , out to the car, swear profoundly as my hands shake with pain as I get some pain killers down the hatch.

The pain subsided enough for me to endure watching Mowgli fight Shere Kahn. I also managed a latte at Starbucks so I stupidly ‘thought’ the drugs I had brought at the local store were enough.

And then I went to the dentist yesterday – with Marina, who was getting her FIFTH bloody tooth pulled. She has braces now and a small jaw and big teeth – equalling not enough room to get them all nicely in line. I figured if she was enduring another round of gum injections and such that I could adult up and finally get my tooth looked at.

The dentist firstly told me off as was obvious had left for far too long. He then drilled the rest of the old filling out and filled it in with a temporary filling until he had more time to drill the fucker with the tunnel excavator – tomorrow.

Yay. TGIF.

Not.

Hopefully the anesthetic has worn off by the time I have to teach at 4pm. A dibbling mess does not a good English teacher make.

 

Oh, and on the hubby front – he’s being fine. There were a couple of ‘lost in translation’ moments this week – ones that I penned a post for in my mind but then got sidetracked by summer vacation bollocks, bento making and general procrastination-ness. Really should try and keep up the posting πŸ™‚

 

SDGH&QL

 

12 Responses to “Dentists”

  1. littlebelgianwriter September 1, 2016 at 12:55 pm #

    I have a dentist appointment tomorrow …

  2. Grace Palmer September 1, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

    Please do keep up with the blogging – have missed you over the summer πŸ™‚

  3. stellastarstruck September 1, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

    Just like everywhere…there are good dentists and bad ones! My first dentist here was my husband’s and he was crap. I had so many tooth problems at the time.

    I finally got a different dentist, a woman, and she’s great. I don’t think she’s ever caused me any real pain. She regularly goes to the US and takes courses so she keeps up with new techniques.

    DH has finally admitted to me that his old dentist wasn’t very good after he went to a different dentist!

    Good luck tomorrow.

    • gaijinwife September 2, 2016 at 1:08 am #

      I ‘think’ this dentist is quite good from what I have seen of him with Marina – all her teeth pulling experiences were better than the sardistic dental nurse who held her down and yanked a tooth out back in NZ. Fingers crossed anyway. Leaving in an hour.

  4. Jo September 1, 2016 at 9:53 pm #

    I have had two root canals here after waiting till I couldn’t sleep due to the pain. In the end the actual procedure was far less painful than not having it done at all. Good luck…

  5. Mr sekimachihato September 2, 2016 at 12:00 am #

    You’re brave! Good on you! And good on you for getting Marina’s teeth done too, I imagine so many parents wouldn’t bother!
    I’ve got the same procedure as you next week. Got the smelly plastic one put in and getting the real one done. Getting old and all our old fillings falling out… Argh.

    • gaijinwife September 2, 2016 at 1:10 am #

      oh good, so its meant to be smelly!! First time and I was freaking out a bit that perhaps it was slowly melting and I was ingesting some kind of shit that was going to give me cancer or similar! I’ll let you know how it goes so you’ve got something to look forward to next week πŸ™‚

  6. Tracy Robinson September 2, 2016 at 5:44 am #

    To be honest I have not been to the dentist for 20 odd years, I absolutely detest and fear it. Even the scraping and poking is enough to send me off, let alone actually doing any drillings or filling (of which I know I need at least one). Every now and then I decide to do it but something else always needs the money more. Good on you for getting on with and getting it done.

    • gaijinwife September 2, 2016 at 6:13 am #

      It is right at the top of my procrastination list too. Bloody hate it. Fortunately all of Marina’s work lately and I couldn’t really avoid it any longer! It also costs a fraction of what it would in NZ – for normal visits. Not sure about this one! Didn’t get finished today and have to go back next Friday. Only cost $7 today though!

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

