Still Capless!

23 Sep

Another dentist appointment today. I really can’t be bothered going into it in detail except to say that the mold they took of my tooth to make the root canal cap wasn’t 100% fitting my tooth. So they took ANOTHER mold and I have to go back again on Wednesday. Seeing my blatant disappointment that this shitting dental saga wasn’t going to be finally over the dentist asked if he could do the other two fillings in my upper teeth. Not wanting to have wasted a trip to the dentist for nothing I said yes – at which point he tells me that one will need an anesthetic as is bigger than previously first thought.

So an hour later, three injections of anesthetic, two beautiful white fillings and a whopping $18 less in my wallet I leave the clinic. I wasn’t expecting to have an anesthetic so was thinking I would make up for my lack of breakfast by having an early lunch as soon as I left. The nurse told me not to eat until it had completely worn off so I left, ignored her and chewed the fuck out of some sweet and sour pork from the supermarket – on my right side.

In other news I have all the contents of our emergency evacuation bags out in the spare room after a frantic, and futile, search for a condom last night. I was ‘this’ sure I had one in the emergency medical kit – just waiting for that time when hub and I felt like a shag in the community center after we evacuate a 10m tsunami or whatever. Jeeze. God knows why I thought there was one in there. I must admit though that I was pleasantly excited about being reacquainted with the awesomeness that is the seven-way spade. I know I was suffering severe PTSD by association at the time I bought 30-year shelf life NASA food and the solar panel suitcase, but damn, that seven-way spade was a great investment.

Talking of condoms, hub and I had an awesome conversation about then a couple of days ago… I was brushing my teeth and he was in the other room watching TV

  • Hub: mumble mumble need to get some more mumble mumble
  • Me: Yeah, well we’re going to that mall tomorrow to watch ‘The Secret Life of Pets’ so why don’t we go a bit early and you can get some then.
  • Hub: We could always get them from the chemist on the way.
  • Me: We can’t get them from a bloody chemist. You should really try them on first.
  • Hub: What?
  • Me: Let’s go early and you can spend ten minutes trying some on before the movies so you get some that actually fit. There is GAP at the mall.
  • Hub: a GAP?
  • Me: Yeah, it’s an American store. Usually expensive but they are having a sale.
  • Hub: Do you think American ones are better?
  • Me: Well the quality is better than some of the other shops around here.
  • Hub: …… um ……
  • Me:  But don’t you have enough pairs of jeans anyway?
  • Hub: Jeans?
  • Me: …….??
  • Hub: I said ‘condoms’. We need some more ‘condoms’
  • Hub: Oh shit… hahahahahahahaha…. well that was awesome.

Needless to say we forgot to get some over the weekend, which led to me rifling through the seven-way spade, spare change of clothes, billy, candles and canned fish that expired in 2015 to try and find the medical kit – which I might add is very comprehensive. Quite proud of myself.

Despite the lack of emergency condoms!!

 

SDGH&QL you lot.

 

13 Responses to “Still Capless!”

  1. Grace September 23, 2016 at 11:01 am #

    Well, that brought a smile to my face – only you would pack emergency condoms in the earthquake/tsunami grab bag 😃
    Reminds me of a time hub and I were supermarket shopping (some 3 months after we were married)and stood in front of the various packages deciding which ones to buy, when I said ‘we could always get folic acid instead’ quizzical look from hub who then grinned when he realised what I meant…. Time to make actual babies!!

    • gaijinwife September 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm #

      LOL. Really though? I had tampons in the kit, obviously, but I really thought I had a condom in there. I mean, I was so invested in the cause that I took both emergency bags out and went through then both, at fuckin midnight!!

    • gaijinwife September 23, 2016 at 12:47 pm #

      edit – and I would clap at any hub who knew what folic acid was first time round 🙂

      • Grace September 23, 2016 at 9:59 pm #

        Yeah, it worked well… 3 months later we were successful and now 21 years later son has graduated from Uni and is training to be a teacher of Mathematics….

  2. stellastarstruck September 23, 2016 at 2:30 pm #

    I laughed so hard at your conversation with your hub, that my hub thought I needed some help of the professional kind!

    Sorry about the dental work on-going. It does seem to take forever here, but if your dentist is good, it is probably worth it.

    • gaijinwife September 23, 2016 at 10:51 pm #

      Thank you. It was quite entertaining when we realised what we were actually talking about! I would mind the dental saga a lot more if I was working full time and had to take time off work every time. At least I can fit appointments in and around translating and teaching 🙂

  3. SD September 26, 2016 at 2:47 am #

    I had to read your conversation with your hub a few times. Was thinking more along the lines of.. What? Are you really going into GAP’s changing rooms for a quick romp to try out the newly bought condoms to see if they fit?? Goodness, my mind. Hahaha

    • gaijinwife September 26, 2016 at 7:50 am #

      haha, oh dear. Not quite that keen 🙂

  4. bri65 September 26, 2016 at 7:16 am #

    $18 for two fillings? Unbelievable, almost. Tooth care in the United States is for the rich or for those working for big companies that might provide dental insurance. Sure, you can get emergency care sometimes, but if you have little money and a need for a root canal, you will not get it. You will get the tooth pulled.

    • gaijinwife September 26, 2016 at 7:48 am #

      Yes, dental care here is shitloads cheaper than NZ as well. Up until intermediate (Junior High) it is free and when I was little there used to be dental nurses at every school. Very expensive to have dental insurance too. I guess everyone in Japan being over insured has led to a good thing!

  5. Ruth September 26, 2016 at 7:59 am #

    That is hilarious! I mean what else would you be doing in the emergency shelter? You’d have to pass the time somehow! I also had mascara in my emergency kit for when the TV crews came to interview displaced people 🙂

    • gaijinwife September 26, 2016 at 12:32 pm #

      haha, I imagine Kirsten has mascara in her kit too!! For sure.

  6. Murphy October 20, 2016 at 11:07 pm #

    Do the words condom and pants sound alike in Japanese?

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

