Another Start

8 May

I’ve started another health kick. It’s only day two so let’s not all hold our breath. The main concern was obviously the too much wine and other select beverages, and not enough movement. I guess walking the dog twice a day and jumping around singing English songs with 3 year olds was enough to keep the weight from increasing to whale proportions but, with an impending very thorough Japanese health check looming in July it is time to take the spare tyre/s by the horn and get rid of them.

After more sleep than I thought possible after no alcohol (as in I think I got a solid 6 hours – whereas if I’d had a drink or two and gone to bed at eleven I would have slept through to half six) I woke up and decided to take the dog for a walk. He was very excited, and someone surprised, to see me so early. Got home, got the kids out of bed and said they had to be clothed and had breakfast by the time mum finished her SHRED meeting with Jillian – which is like 27 minutes or something. It is nice that the kids are finally old enough to do everything on their own. Most days it takes a lot of encouragement and sometimes me losing my shit and going complete hyena. But today, it was OK – probably because I WASN’T in their face every second!

Finished Shredding,  had my breakfast, washed the dishes, put the laundry on, filled in a few forms for school and got the kids in the car by 7:15. Very accomplished early morning.

Am about to head off to teach at school in next town over before teaching my own group of 3-year olds, then 11-year olds and then 12-year olds from 6pm.

Right, back to being healthy everyone.

 

SDGH&QL

 

4 Responses to “Another Start”

  1. Anita May 9, 2017 at 12:25 am #

    You go girl, you’re a bloody machine getting all that done before 7:15am. Awesome that the kids are more self sufficient, that’s because they have a super mum! xx

    • gaijinwife May 11, 2017 at 12:07 pm #

      Thanks Anita. I’m sure it looks like that from the outside. I just lost my complete shit at Shou. I often find myself saying things to them and simultaneously thinking ‘damn, I do that myself all the damn time’ – like answering back, or always having to have the last word. Falling apple and tree come to mind 🙂

  2. Susan (Eastendmom) May 12, 2017 at 1:59 am #

    I know, I know, the things that drive me the most nuts in my kids are the not so flattering traits they got from me. Good luck to you on health/productive kick. I am barely functioning at 7:15 – I get up at 7:00, make husband’s lunch, eat breakfast, and then get ready for work. I can’t imagine getting in exercise, dog walking, (my dog would think he’d died & gone to doggie heaven), corralling kids for school etc etc first thing in the morning. Not a morning person, for sure. But I admire those who are. My daughter was always the one who had to have the last word, and I just wanted to strangle her. Now when she acts like that (yeah, at 32 she occasionally does!) I just call her Bratty McBratkins & am thankful she lives with her husband, not with me!

  3. Anonymous May 14, 2017 at 9:27 am #

    Good luck with the health kick. Just reading about your day exhausts me and makes me realise what a slack arse I am. Don’t know how you do it on top of all the little frustrations and quirks of living in Japan. I’m heading over there in July for a holiday after 5 years of being back in NZ. Can’t wait to get Japanized again, even if it’s only for a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

