One Month In

23 Aug

So here I am, just over one month in to our New Zealand stay.

I should be at the gym doing some bastard spinning classing my trainer says he ‘would like me’ to do twice a week. Instead I’ve made a coffee and am waiting for the woman who owns the house to come and take the satelite TV box away for replacing. Well, that’s what I thought I was doing. The agreed time was nine. I was out for approximately 7 minutes to take the kids to school and, after a quick glance at the empty shelf under the TV, it would seem she stealthed her way in here then! Now I have hot coffee. So the spinning class can wait.

The gym has a room with a huge projector and you go in, punch whatever yoga, spinning, boxing etc. class you want to do into the wall panel and away you go! I did my first ever spin class for 16 minutes last Friday – with my trainer in my ear going ‘come on, you got this’. Was a complete bitch which killed my thighs and butt so much I very nearly completely assed over trying to get my feet out of the special pedals. I guess I can always go for a run on the treadmill. I ran for the first time in YEARS on Monday and then on Tuesday I went in to do cardio and ran SEVEN km. Bloody hell. I did have trouble with simple shit, like walking, for all of Tuesday afternoon but Hey! I can run again! Felt good, despite the pain – which we all know is just ‘fear leaving your body’.

This whole ‘get into shape’ thing is hard man. After my first month of three trainer sessions a week (and me going in most other days to do cardio) I lost zero weight. I knew of course because I have scales at the house but I was you know, hoping the scales at the gym were magic. That aside, I did lose 10cm from various parts of the body and I am heaps fitter and have more energy – well, I shouldn’t really have shitloads of energy and if I was following the diet plan he gave me I’d be a shell of my former self, but also quite possibly in the fetal position behind the sofa dreaming of kebabs and cheese on toast.

I followed the detox week pretty much down to the letter and even had green smoothies and shit – although I didn’t have a proper smoothy maker, just a blender, and damn. May as well just put your hand in the bag of spinach and eat the leaves whole. I have since bought the cheapest smoothy maker I could find. It does the job. There are no longer whole leaves and chunks of green apple in my glass.

I had a hair follicle test too – they cut some hair off the back near the scalp and send it away to get tested for food intolerances. Turns out I shouldn’t really be having bananas, beef, dairy, alcohol or caffeine. I feel like a should be having a steak, a bottle of wine and some banana ice-cream in retaliation. Instead I have cut out beef and bananas.

I’ll work on the rest. A girl must have her vices. And my intolerances aren’t that high. On a scale of 1-10 beef and bananas were 5 and the other things 2 or 3. The recommended intake for a 2 or 3 intolerance was once every two days at the most.

In other news, the boys are enjoying school. They are going to swimming classes every week, have the school cross country next week, are playing in the school soccer (friendly) competition, and are both in the production of Willy Wonker at the end of September – for which I put my hand up to make a candy cart. I have to pimp up the school’s lost property cart. Put a canopy on it and make some oversized lollies. I also asked to add cupcakes because I’ve watched a few too many episodes of ‘Cupcake Wars’ and well, you know, a paper mache balloon cupcake with brown weeding mat (that’s what it said on the label) material and a white scarf from the two dollar shop as frosting… ……

If it all turns out how I have envisioned it in my mind I’ll post a pic.

 

Right, the coffee is gone. Must spin.

SDGH&QL

 

2 Responses to “One Month In”

  1. Susan (Eastendmom) August 25, 2017 at 9:14 pm #

    How long are you back in NZ? Glad the boys are doing so well there & sounds like you’re feeling pretty good too. Thankful alcohol intolerance low number on the list – no need to get crazy with dietary changes. Keep posting, I always enjoy reading 🙂

  2. littlebelgianwriter September 9, 2017 at 9:08 pm #

    How come Marina is not with you?

Leave a Reply

Mrs D Is Going Without

Too much wine in rural Japan

